We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“take the tour!”

Montgomery Visitors Center
Ranked #20 of 67 things to do in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Offers information on things to do in Montgomery.
Dover DE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“take the tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Highly recommend the trolley tour of downtown Montgomery. Very nice job of packaging all of the sites and making it all accessible. Our trolley driver and guide, Ray-Ray, was extraordinary. He was very knowledgeable and approachable. Well worth the time and nominal fee.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    18
    7
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
444 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Lots of Information and Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

The Visitors Center was the first place we stopped in Montgomery. The staff who helped us was very friendly,helpful, and most importantly, actually knew Montgomery in detail. She gave us maps, marked them up, helped with her ideas on restaurants, told us what attractions were open on Saturday and Sunday, and just really made us feel welcome. And then what she told us turned out to be very true. Great place to start !

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank IverJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
206 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great Trolley tour available !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

We have been living in Montgomery for the past 2 years but didn't know that you can get a Trolley Tour of the downtown. I had a friend visiting from Texas so we decided it will be a prefect time to take the tour. Cost was $3 per person. We had our 15 month old son and were able to put the stroller in front of the trolley. I was pleasantly surprised with the tour. Even though I did not really like our guide (she was not very informative) but loved the history and the beauty of the downtown. I saw landmarks in the city which I did not know existed after living here for 2 years. The tour is every hour on the hour and takes about 45 minutes. Will definitely recommend to any one visiting Montgomery.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JujuFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
247 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“The Trolly Tour is the best deal in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stopped in at the Montgomery tourist center at the old Union Station to reserve a spot on their $2 historical trolly tour of the city of Montgomery. What a deal! Our trolly first drove past the Rosa Parks Museum before passing the Court Square Fountain at the end of  Dexter Ave. If you stand facing the Capitol Building at the imposing Greek statue and fountain, on the left you can see the area where slaves were traded (a building now occupies this site.) Across the street from the former slave trading site is the Winter House where the telegram was sent that issued the order to fire on Fort Sumpter, beginning the Civil War.  From the Court Street Statue you can look up the short distance of Dexter Ave to the Capitol Building. During the Civil War and the Civil Rights Movement that short street must have seemed a very long way to the seat of government that imposed its rules on so many who felt the unwelcome weight of its iron hand.
This tour was informative and a great way to pull the history of this city together from the First White House of the Confederacy to Dexter Avenue where the Civil Rights Marches were held.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelleygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good info attractively displayed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

The visitor's center is in the old train station which has lots of history and charm. The folks working there are very helpful and there are lots of great kiosks that give good information about the history of Montgomery. The tour buses that carry visitors around the city and drop them off at historical sites leave and return to this location.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank clintk18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Montgomery Visitors Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing