We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blue moon on draft!”
Review of Capitol Oyster Bar

Capitol Oyster Bar
Ranked #14 of 459 Restaurants in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Prattville, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Blue moon on draft!”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Food was okay, drinks were okay, atmosphere was casual. The restaurant itself looks very mediocre (not super duper clean or tidy).

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Christie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    46
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sick for a WEEK”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

After eating raw oysters over a week ago my husband is still sick. Called owner, we were never offered an apology even after talking to him two times. We are waiting on blood work to determine exactly what he has. Found out also that the health rating is a whole "87". WOW! So after being sick and missing work for a week needless to say we will NEVER be back! Thanks Louis for being so concerned for your customers.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jenibaum27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaGrange, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Local hideaway”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

The setting on the river lends a fish camp air to this "dive". Plenty of fried seafood options, although I went with a dozen oysters. The cocktail sauce packs some heat even without the horseradish! The waitstaff was friendly, attentive and efficient. Based upon the local turnout, this place is plenty popular. I went on a night without live music, but there was an abundance of evidence of great acts to hear to add to the ambiance.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Teresa Rolfe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great little place hidden away”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

One of the few places in Montgomery where you can sit outside. The food is not spectacular, but pretty good. It´s the whole package that makes this place special. Once you spend a balmy evening enjoying live music, the view, some drinks and good food you´ll understand.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Burgermeister2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prattville, Alabama
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food is not freshly prepared, and most of it is fried.”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I have always enjoyed going to the Marina, though the decor could use some jazzing up. I will deal with the food to sit out on the deck overlooking the river.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank santat36067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capitol Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Capitol Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing