We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Hade Been Smoked In”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnolia Inn and Suites
Ranked #49 of 72 Hotels in Montgomery
A TripAdvisor Member
“Room Hade Been Smoked In”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

As an La Quinta rewards member; the hotel is not up to the La Quinta standards I have come to expect. It was completely surrounded by old parking pavement with the pool located across a large old parking area from the hotel.

The room had a heavy smell of cleaners trying to cover the fact it had been heavily smoked in. If we had not been so tired and exhausted we would have found another hotel.

Never again will I trust La Quinta; it is now at the bottom of my hotel list.

Bill & Mary


  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    67
    64
    47
    54
See reviews for
104
59
30
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Travelling with a dog is not easy. la Quinta went out of its way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The rooms are amazingly well kept. The service staff were delightful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling with their best friend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank JPQNORTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Spent 2 nights at this location on a family trip. We paid 60 a night over the weekend, which is substantially less than hotels downtown, so expectations must be somewhat tempered. Arriving at the hotel leaves you somewhat nervous. It is directly off the interstate and the parking lot looks like it has been bombed, definitely needs to be repaved. The exterior and landscaping look pretty rough. There is a Taco Bell in the parking lot as well as a asian restaurant that looks like it may be out of business. Waffle house is also directly across the street. Front desk staff was very friendly, but it seemed as though there was never anyone at the front desk, you usually had to wait a minute or two for someone to show up. Lobby is small and adjoins to brekafast area. Hotel appears to be an older property that has been remodeled. Check-In was quick and given room 209, second floor facing adjacent hotel property. Room was adequately sized with king bed, micro/fridge and single sink. Furniture seemed to be in decent shape. Overall I would say the room was very clean. Even the airfilters, vents and ledges all seemed to have been cleaned recently with very little signs of dust. Only exceptions were a small amount of standing water in the tub and some marks on the bed linens. Called for new linens and they were at room within 2 minutes of request. Biggest complaint for the room is the noise. The walls are very thin and you can hear converstaions from other rooms as well as other activities. This in addition to the interstate car noise made for a noisy stay. Big picture the room is just fine for the price. Included breakfast was just ok, standard for this level of hotel. Standard waffle maker, cereal, toast and muffins. There were also some hard boiled eggs and a small amount of fruit available. Took a short dip to the pool. Water seemed clean, but patio area is quite small and looking run down, needs some TLC. Wifi worked as advertised, decent speed and easy to connect. Overall clean rooms, friendly service, not a bad stay. Best for cost conscious traveler looking to give up some of the niceties to keep price down.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluetravellerTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We used a $49 discount coupon from one of those magazines you see at rest stops but the rooms they use for these deals seem to be on the top floor facing the nearby Interstate and another main road. Lots of traffic noise. There were interior rooms that should have been a lot more quiet.

Didn't seem like our room had been renovated recently. It had carpet stains and some paint damage that could have easily been repaired.

Breakfast was just fair. Prepackaged rolls, limited cereals but fresh fruit.

Reception/breakfast area was nice.

Receptionists were very courteous.

AAA rates this as a 2-star and that is about right.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Was pleasantly suprised- very good impression when I walked into the room. Had no problems, room clean, no problems and was a very good price. I will stay there again! In fact, have booked at this location for future business before I checked out!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northport, Alabama
Level Contributor
136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I had 3 different rooms at the hotel, and still didn't get the best one. The first room smelled of smoke covered over by cleaning supplies, but the front desk clerk upgraded me and moved me to another room. I never got into the second room because the keys didn't work. The third room (executive king) has great space, but when I turned back the covers I found two things that bothered me. First, I saw a cigarette burn on the duvet. Second, I saw multiple hairs on the duvet. I believe the hairs were dog hairs, which was quite disturbing. I didn't notice the dog hairs until just before bedtime, and informed the front desk clerk when I checked out who comped the room without any questions.

I would have serious concerns about staying at this location again. I expect more from an "inn and suites" locale, and this location definitely let me down.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Montgomery - Carmichael Rd.
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#57 of 72 in Montgomery
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Montgomery Near AUM
Days Inn Montgomery Near AUM
#40 of 72 in Montgomery
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Montgomery Inn & Suites
Montgomery Inn & Suites
#32 of 72 in Montgomery
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn - Montgomery / Carmichael Rd.
3.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Montgomery Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Inn and Suites

Property: Magnolia Inn and Suites
Address: 5225 Carmichael Rd, Montgomery, AL 36106-2904 (Formerly La Quinta Inn & Suites Montgomery Carmichael Road)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 72 Hotels in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnolia Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Magnolia Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Montgomery Carmichael Road Hotel Montgomery
La Quinta Montgomery
Montgomery La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing