We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised us!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Montgomery East
Ranked #48 of 72 Hotels in Montgomery
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This is our first time staying at this hotel. We were looking for a place that had free breakfast, which they did. It was pretty good. We did not go into the hotel because the pool was very hot. The room was very nice and the staff was very friendly. The rate was also good. We would definately go her again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRC1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheena G, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Montgomery East, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear LRC 1957,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit.
Guest comments are always appreciated. It is always rewarding to receive positive feedback.
You can be assured that your review will be shared with our staff; we are very pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast, rooms and especially your kind comments regarding our staff. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

this was a terrible experience. There was only one handicapped room with double beds. After getting my terminally ill father settled in bed, we discovered that the bathroom was in fested with ants. I attempted to look for a solution with the front desk, but he was no help, simply complaining that his manager was not available for his help. The hotel is dirty and the furnishings are old. The satellite TV was going out with no apparent weather issues in the area. Flat screen, but not HDTV. overall a horrible stay - ruined my first impression of this hotel chain. I would never recommend this place. They need a MAJOR remodel and new staff.

Room Tip: check the room for ants - especially in the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob G, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Montgomery East, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Dear Nichol; R.
Thank you for taking the time to complete the tripadvisor survey.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations. We would welcome the opportunity to further discuss your experience. Please feel free to give me a call.
Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We spent one night here while traveling and were satisfied with the room. The location seemed a little sketchy, but there were no problems. The desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. She made a excellent first impression for the hotel. The beds were fine and the TV was nice. The room had a mini-fridge and microwave. The pool area was ok and breakfast was free. The hotel seemed a little worn in places, but nothing that affected our stay. I would consider staying here again when traveling through Montgomery.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffg32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

Good Morning Geoffg32,
Thank you for taking the ttime to write a review on your recent visit.
Guest feedback is always welcomed and appreciated.
Your comments will be shared with the staff in our upcoming meeting. The associates will be happy to hear your comments.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This hotel was really hospititable. Coming in on a very hot June afternoon after being on bike for 3 hours on 105 degree day. They gave us access to their pool until our room was ready and offered us bottled water to help cool us down. Once in room they called to ensure our room was acceptable and later delivered slippers and bottled water to our door. Very pleased and will return again. Pool and hot tub clean

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IngramAcres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit. Guest comments are always appreciated.
We will share your comments with our associates so that every guest is just as happy with our hospitable and friendly service.
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I was looking for an inexpensive hotel and grabbed an Internet deal on this property. The room looked almost new, was spacious, and clean. King sized bed was good. Breakfast was crowded, but in addition to cereals, included fruit, eggs, sausage, and biscuits.

Room included a sofa bed, refrigerator and microwave. There is a Walmart two miles away, so it was easy to pick up a few things I had forgotten.

The GPS didn't get the location right, the hotel is kind of tucked behind another property, but does have a sign fronting Carmichael. A spotlight shining in the window was the only downside to the experience, and a little tweaking on the curtains solved most of that. Parking was adequate and (too) well lit.

The staff was busy but very pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eatyourwayhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Good Morning John A.,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent vist.
Guest comments are always appreciated. It is always rewarding to receive positive feedback.
You can be assured that your review will be shared with our staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I finally got through to the Country Inns & Suites -Montgomery East location - GM Bob Gutkowski....this took forever for him or anyone to speak with us. We needed 11 rooms for one night in April for Our Rhea County High School Theatre Group to stay and attend the Shakespeare Festival in Montgomery. I am a parent rep of the Theatre Grp responsible for getting reservations. We are a rural community with low funding and I asked Mr. Gutkowski if we could get a disc. rate for our students. After much to do he said he would give us the room for $75 per room from a usual $89 rate. He confirmed the room reservations in several emails and phone conversations. When the group got to the hotel on 4/21, it took over an hour to get checked in and the Manager made the group pay $85 per room instead of the agreed upon disc rate of $75. He was very rude and hard to deal saying he did not remember speaking with us and we will NEVER use this hotel again! Because of the additional costs some of the students had to borrow money to eat. This General Manager is very unprofessional and untrustworthy so beware when booking ahead, if you can even get him to answer the phone!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else where there is a General Manager who is friendly, professional and trustworthy NOT...
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Kimberly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob G, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Montgomery East, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Good Afternoon,
We are a bit confused with the comments attributed to the recent visit by the Rhea County H.S Theatre Group. The Group Rooms Agreement for 11 rooms that was signed & returned is a discounted rate and even lower than the rate you mentioned. I can only assume that the confusion involves the state, city and local taxes of 12.5% and $1.50 per occupied room. If you did not plan for the taxes, we can understand your reaction to feeling that you did not receive the correct rate.
You can be assured you that the 7 rooms that were actually used were charged the correct rate plus tax.
We would appreciate any additional information on the rude treatment you received at check in by a member of the hotel team or Manager.
The Country Inn & Suites, Montgomery provides our guests with comfortable, convenient & honest service. It is unfortunate that you believe otherwise.
I would be happy to follow up and discuss your concerns if you wish. Please feel free to call, send an email or leave a voicemail. A prompt response is guaranteed.
PS- The lost & found item left at the hotel was returned to a member of your group!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed here just overnight after a long day. 3 March-4 March, 2012.
Room was very comfortable and clean with minor blemishes that distinguished it from being really excellent - bed spread had a few scattered "bleached out" spots, the fan in the bathroom clearly had not had dust removed in a long time, and the safe was locked when came to the room.
Free coffee and hot water for hot chocolate in the lobby. A coffee maker with coffee and tea in the room, along with a small refrigerator that seemed to make more noise than it should, but worked OK to keep juice cool.
Workout room was small, but sufficient, along with adjancent indoor hot tub and a modest pool.
Had some trouble with the free wi-fi access (way better than Hilton's high internet fee charges) and the young gentleman at the desk was out of his limit to go beyond suggesting that the free web site access should come on - No information sheet in the room information packet.
Breakfast was self-serve and splendid for a chain, as well as being included in the room charge - another favorable difference compared to US Hilton hotels. Had scrambled eggs, some fruits, waffles, coffee, cereals.
Plenty of parking.
Not a scenic location by any means, but convenient for business or tourism. Many of of our rather large group visiting Civil Rights sites in the region also stayed here and were pleased with this lodging.
Please do advise if this review proves helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PublicHealthRxDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review from your recent visit.
Guest comments are always welcomed and appreciated.
Your comments will be shared with our staff so that we can continue to improve.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Montgomery at Chantilly Parkway
4.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Montgomery
4.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites East Chase
Sleep Inn & Suites East Chase
#38 of 72 in Montgomery
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Montgomery - East I-85
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Montgomery South
3.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Montgomery Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Montgomery East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Montgomery East

Address: 5155 Carmichael Rd, Montgomery, AL 36106-2905
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Montgomery
Price Range: £54 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Montgomery East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style & Convenience at out Montgomery East HotelLocated just off I-85 in the heart of Montgomery's fastest-growing area, the Country Inn & Suites Hotel Montgomery East offers comfortable hotel rooms, convenient services and the perfect location in Montgomery for business and leisure guests. Our hotel's outstanding guest rooms and suites put you within reach of Montgomery East’s growing retail and dining district. Visit popular local attractions including the First School of Flight and Civil Rights Memorial. Business guests can benefit from the close proximity to Montgomery Regional Airport. Take advantage of convenient amenities like free high-speed Internet access, a heated indoor pool and complimentary free breakfast. Stay in the heart of Dixie at the charming Country Inn & Suites hotel in Montgomery, Alabama (AL). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Montgomery East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Montgomery East Hotel Montgomery
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Montgomery East
Country Inn Montgomery East
Montgomery Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing