We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dexter Parsonage Museum - Dr. Martin Luther King home
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.00*
and up
Mystery Tour in Montgomery AL
More Info
US$70.00*
and up
Full Day Black History Day Trip to Alabama Sites
Ranked #1 of 67 things to do in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Martin Luther King's residence from September 1954 to February 1960.
Torquay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very moving”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I visited the Dexter Parsonage Museum & Dexter Avenue King Memorial Baptist Church, and had the honour of Ms. Cherry as host guide for my visit to Dr. King's residence during his years in Montgomery. The house, within the compact downtown area of Montgomery, is furnished as it was in the 50's, and it is fascinating to walk through - more so because of Shirley's eloquent descriptions of MLK's life and self-doubts during this turbulent period. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussie_Ostrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    25
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Moving Experience - Don't Miss!”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We were fortunate enough to catch the last tour of the day on a Saturday, and it was an incredible experience. The docent was actually a member of one of Coretta Scott King's activist groups during the civil rights movement. The home is set up exactly as it was when the King family lived there, and during the tour we were able to really see and explore the home - all of the furniture was actually used by the King family. Hearing this woman's perspective on the events of the time period and seeing where many pivotal moments of the Civil Rights Movement occurred was an experience that shouldn't be missed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Trompetista89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very historic place”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We arrived too early to tour but enjoyed having the opportunity to see the home of MLKJr. It is located in downtown.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellinTexans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely AMAZING”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

You must do this before Shirley Cherry moves on. She is one of the most inspiring people I have ever met. Her stories send chills up your spine. Her ability to communicate the time period, the events, and the amazing man that Dr King was will keep you on the edge of your seat. I can not say enough about this amazing Docent.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deatsville, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"You are unlocking the door"”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

"You are unlocking the same door that Dr. Martin Luther King Jr opened every day." That is what the guide said to us as we unlocked the door to the house. It gave me chills. I have lived in this area for 25 years and I never took the time to stop by this museum until last month. While visiting other civil rights museums around the country, I was drawn to the portrayals of Dr. King sitting at his kitchen table in this Montgomery home, talking to God. If there hadn't been a tour or any other information at this museum, it would have still been a moving experience to stand in that kitchen on South Jackson Street. Fortunately, we got the additional perk of having our tour led by Ms. Cherry, a retired school teacher and just incredible person. I could spend hours listening to her stories. It's a small place but absolutely worth the visit. Tours start on the hour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank displaced88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dexter Parsonage Museum - Dr. Martin Luther King home also viewed

 

Been to Dexter Parsonage Museum - Dr. Martin Luther King home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing