We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum”
Review of Dreamland BBQ

Dreamland BBQ
Ranked #2 of 463 Restaurants in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Fort Payne, Alabama
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Love, love and love the sauce. Best sauce ever. Like a middle of the road between sweet and vinegar sauces. Fun atmosphere in the restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank adistlefink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    289
    108
    29
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
901 reviews
607 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service ok”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I went to dreamland while staying nearby, and on the recommendation of a colleague. I'm glad I went, since it was an enjoyable experience.

I was there at 6:30 on a Wednesday evening, and there was a wait for a table. I sat immediately at the bar, though.

The service at the bar was spotty. I had to wait for several minutes even for a menu. When I asked some questions about the beer on tap, the bartender was abrupt and not the least bit helpful...when I asked if there was anything "local" on tap, he pointed to a tap. Not very helpful at all.

After I finally ordered, and then after I waited for silverware, my experience greatly improved. I ordered a combo plate of ribs, pulled pork, baked beans, and potato salad. Everything was very good, and the BBQ sauces was excellent....peppery enough to add a little bit of a kick, and very flavorful. He meal was excellent, and I would certainly return on that premise alone. I don't think I'd sit at the bar, though......

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ and beer”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Dreamland BBQ serves great barbeque and banana pudding, along with a huge selection of beer. It is close to numerous points of interest in Montgomery and a great lunch-time retreat on a hot day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieTosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly and quick”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Being from Texas there is only one kind of BBQ - brisket. Couldnt find any on the menu here so settled for sausage and pulled chicken. They brag about their ribs but neither the greeter nor the waitress would recommend so....
Both chicken and sausage were served in sufficient portions with good - but not great - BBQ flavor. No char on either the chicken or the sausage. Both did, however, have good texture and neither were dry. Macaroni side was excellent and banana pudding while not slap your mama great was good with a great balance of pudding, bananas and wafers.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank VisitLouisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Oh yes!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We tried some Texas BBQ and now we have tried Alabama BBQ..and it was fantastic! There was a guy doing live blues and country music while we ate our slaw and ribs and it was the perfect atmosphere. Alex was our waiter and he was friendly and knew his stuff about how the meat was cooked and the difference between flavours between Texas and Alabama. The meat was tender and the sauce had a kick but not too much...my husband liked it so much he bought a jar. A great place and a must go restaurant in Montgomery.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Koffee741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dreamland BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Dreamland BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing