We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good food, lousy service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jalapenos Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jalapenos Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #221 of 454 Restaurants in Montgomery
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
newville, al
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, good food, lousy service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying that I used to work in the restaraunt business so my tolerance of bad service is pretty high. However, the surly attitutude of the hostess and wait staff was a little much. I would normally have complained but we were enjoying the time with friends and it actually became comical how bad they were. With that being said, the food was good. We all had fajitas and they were all great. A friend had the frozen margarita which was very good. Everything is very reasonably priced and you get a lot of it.
The atmosphere made up for the service. We sat in the back,outside. This is actually the alley where a lot of restaurants and bars call home. The restaraunt is right next to the Alley Bar which is a must go to place when in Montgomery. And after the service you get at Jalapeños, you'll need a drink at the Alley bar. ;-)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rkandsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conway, AR
Level Contributor
111 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice place for a laid back dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

I ate here on a business trip on a Monday night. It's in downtown Montgomery and was just walking distance from our hotel. Nice place to sit, they had outdoor seating and we people watched. Good food, had some different type entree's than typical Mexican places.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rachellynn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mexican goodness for an exellent price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

My family has been eating here for years. They maintain great food at the best price. This is our main Mex destination in Montgomery. Good, fast, friendly, tasty!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RDWblacksmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good "cheap" Mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Good food, inexpensive, cold beer. The Margaritas are not authentic--syrupy-too sweet.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank mhope3244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We've been a fan for many years!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

As a Air Force guy we've been stationed in Montgomery several times and Jalapenos has always been a favorite. Great food at a great price and the service is always fast and friendly. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jalapenos Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jalapenos Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing