We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sweetest Home in Alabama”
Review of The Lattice Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lattice Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Montgomery B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Sweetest Home in Alabama”
Reviewed 26 April 2010

The Lattice Inn was definitely the Highlight among all our accomodations on 3-weeks-roadtrip through the Deep South. The hosts have created the most beautiful place imaginable, complete with a pool surrounded by blossoming flowers and an owner, Jim Yeaman, who makes you feel at home right away, including invitations to drinks on the georgious deck and complimentary movie tickets at a vintage theatre around the corner. Never before have I felt at home so quickly at any hotel or B&B. Certainly, there were more exciting cities between New Orleans and Charleston on our trip, but I can assure anyone that this place makes any detour worthwile!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outthereonmyjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    18
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
185
30
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Asheville NC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2010

Most commercial hotels add nothing to the enjoyment of a trip; they are simply places to sleep. In contrast the Lattice Inn added immeasurably to the enjoyment of our trip, and we will return whenever we go to Montgomery. In fact we will be returning there mid May, 2010. Somehow Jim manages to be most welcoming and attentive but never intrusive. The inn itself is warmly appointed without being "tarted up." Breakfast was delicious. It is a fantastic value, and I recommend it only with the reservation that doing so may result in its being booked when I want to stay there in the future.

Gary

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2010

My wife & I were lucky to find the Lattice Inn when planning a short trip through Montgomery. It is a delight. The house and rooms have been updated in very interesting and tasteful decor. "Comfortable elegance" best comes to mind. The photos on the web site do not do it justice. The B&B owner pays close attention to detail and strives to makes your stay an exceptional experience in a comfortable but unobtrusive way. Personal welcome, wine by the pool, cord for the laptop computer, etc., you get the idea. The leisurely, but healthy breakfast was much appreciated. Assistants, Phillip and Terrance, add to the ambiance. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pschndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

My partner and I had only one night on a getaway from Atlanta but everything was wonderful. We had stayed there many times in the past but this was the first time since reopening with a new owner. Jim and Brian were great hosts, making sure we had what we needed and offering wine when we arrived. The room had a king size very comfy bed with TV, a large bath with tub and shower. Breakfast and conversation with the hosts was a delight. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

We stayed there 2 nights in October for our wedding anniversary, en route to New Orleans. It was absolutely perfect and wonderful. The host was amazing, friendly, laid back, and a real pleasure to talk to. We felt instantly welcome and special. The room was gorgeous without being too frou-frou for my hubby. The breakfast was fantastic, laid out in a beautiful dining room (with no doilies, thankfully). The host surprised us with a dozen roses and a beautiful card on our anniversary!! We will always remember this special place and plan on going back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luluscorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2009

Each year we try to make a point of staying at the Lattice Inn on our way from Chicago to Florida. Both times we have been thrilled and delighted at the comfortable, large rooms, the lovely accommodations. Our hosts are always there to greet us. We sit by the fire and catch up on the news of Montgomery. We have taken a walk in the neighborhood to enjoy the lovely homes nearby. They have excellent restaurant suggestions. Breakfast is always something to look forward to. We feel lucky to feel we have found a place to make our trip to Florida more interesting.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagotraveler057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul MN
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2009

The room was lovely, the living room was cozy and welcoming (not like some BBs where you can't picture actually sitting on the furniture) and the office nook (phone & computer available at any time) was a Godsend as I am one of the 15 people left w/o a cell phone OR a laptop. Jim, the host, was so friendly & helpful - offering advice and even rides (yep, no car either). Local papers at breakfast and interesting mags in the living room.
It was hot in Montgomery wnen I was there, and the swimming pool in back was *divine." I picked up a bottle of wine from a nearby shop and would sit by the pool having wine and a sandwich for supper. Will definitely return - would love to go w/other folks and book the whole place.

Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Junemarie3537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown
1.4 mi away
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eastchase Montgomery
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Montgomery - East I-85
3.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lattice Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lattice Inn

Property: The Lattice Inn
Address: 1414 S Hull St, Montgomery, AL 36104-5522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lattice Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lattice Inn is an award-winning and unique bed and breakfast nestled in the heart of Montgomery's historic Garden District, near the Governor's Mansion, and the intersection of I-65 and I-85, Since 1993, The Lattice Inn has provided an exceptional lodging experience in a tastefully updated 1906-era cottage. Guest suites feature free Wi-Fi, HDTV with AppleTV, fridge, microwave, DVD/CD player, MP3/iPod docking clock radio, hair dryer, and king-size bed. Other amenities include a business center, Koi pond, intimate garden areas, and a salt water pool (May- September). Guests seldom want to leave once they've been pampered by our thoughtful amenities and attention to detail throughout The Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lattice Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing