We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Old/New South Experience”
Review of The Lattice Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lattice Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Montgomery B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taos, NM
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Perfect Old/New South Experience”
Reviewed 15 September 2010

The Lattice Inn B&B is by far the best way to enjoy The Heart of Dixie, for so many reasons:

1. The house is beautiful and tastefully decorated, and immediately gave me a feeling of being "home" in Montgomery. I had the good fortune of staying here for 5 nights, so I got to sleep in both rooms, like Goldilocks, and both were "just right" -- spacious, just the right temperature for a hot and humid August, and surprisingly quiet and comfy. The bathrooms have everything a person could ask for, and the bath towels were to DIE for!

2. A huge screened-in front porch with a porch swing and chairs that allows the lazy visitor to admire all the pretty flowers and shrubs in the front yard -- and this is the prettiest part of Montgomery, anyway, bar none.

3. The back deck, and gardens, and pool, and it's all so private and lush!!!

4. Within easy walking distance to the Best of Montgomery -- the best restaurants, the most interesting shopping (Apropos for gifts, Derk's Filet and Vine for wine and treats), and the most charming homes and gardens.

5. Actually less expensive than a top-notch hotel in this city, and none of those hotels could hold a candle to the accommodations and service I enjoyed.

6. Jim is the Crown Jewel of The Lattice Inn -- 5 or 10 minutes after meeting him, I felt we were old friends. I was offered a glass of wine upon my arrival, he gave me the tour, and we chatted and chatted during my stay, but always allowed me to have my own time, too. I never felt like I was a stranger in a strange house -- always felt welcome and at home, although no one makes me breakfast at home! The best coffee, too, and fresh tomatoes and basil from the garden for breakfast. I also snuck a muffin from the refrigerator for a midnight snack a few nights, and all I got when I confessed was a chuckle from Jim. A couple from England stayed for 2 nights, and I enjoyed seeing Jim make them feel at home, too. He truly has the best disposition and style to be a host. Charming, easygoing, not overbearing in the least, and a smart sense of humor. Tolerant, too. I'll definitely be back, and have recommended The Lattice Inn to all of my friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wearytravelerTaos_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    18
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
185
30
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

I'm obsessed with B&Bs - refusing to stay in chain motels as much as possible so I do know my B&Bs! Lattice Inn is really wonderful - Jim [host] makes you as comfortable as a host possibly could - he will cater to whatever you need & feels more like a friend than the owner.. He also gives wonderful restaurant recommendations which is my other passion [dining out!]. The Inn is located on the edge of the historic Garden District that once had its heyday....Lattice is tucked back & appears almost modest on the outside....inside it reminds me of a charming European B&B. It is elegant, beautifully decorated, very homey and more compfortable than home. Breakfast is listed as "Continental" but it was way more than that....once again, Jim outdoes himself offering fresh tomatoes, hot coffee, bagels, toast, hard boiled eggs.....and all sorts of cereals and other beverages so you can fill up fast. All I can say is i felt utterly at home & would consider making the 800 mile drive to Montgomery JUST to stay at the Lattice....now that says something!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elisamorrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Sometimes when reviews are a glowing as th ones for Lattice Inn you wonder if it's too good to be true - let me assure you dear traveller this is not only a charming place to 'sit awhile' but has a host, Jim, whose love of people and their well being, revealing a heart th size of the Missisippi! Look no further - this
place will stay with you as a restorative haven

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenLytham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2010

This B & B is above the rest. It is elegant and extravagant. The intimate touches that are in place to make sure that you are home away from home is just beyond words. My husband and I were looking for an intimate wedding anniversary trip and we found it here at The Lattice Inn. The breakfast is great with variety. No heavy foods, just good food for nutrition and energy. Just what we needed. We felt welcome as soon as we arrived. Just wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPebbles2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashtabula, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2010

. . . and i'd add only that i travel extensively, not only in the usa but around the world, and, again, i stress that the lattice inn is the best of all the bed and breakfasts i have ever stayed in, by unarguable margins.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faure7j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leander, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2010

From the moment we arrived the attractive landscaping ( even in Feb.), had my eyes wandering, searching for the proverbial apple pie cooling in the window, or an older fellow whittling on the porch. With the honest hospitality that Southerners are known for, owner Jim Yeaman greets us at the doorstep, offering refreshments, assistance, and "anything we might need". Inside we found a wonderful mix of the old southern charm mingled with a bit of modern flair. Evening was the hardest part of the stay!! It's not easy deciding whether to lounge on the plush furniture in the common area, or to enjoy quiet time outside. I could go on about the great rooms with large soft beds, the HD TV W DVD, stereo with MP3, incredible showers, and other things common to a stay. But the most important thing is, when Jim says "feel at home", he means it.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makehimwatch77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Stayed two wonderful nights at the Lattice Inn and enjoyed every moment. The place is very charming and oh so comfortable and the hosts are willing to grant your every desire. The pool and hot tub are a plus, and the grounds and overall setting of the property create an extremely peaceful place. The magnificent oak tree is a powerful guardian over the entire property and one that any Celtic priest would worship. The garden offered me the most rewarding moments of deep meditation, esp. by the melodic pond with colorful fish swimming before my eyes. I didn't want to leave!!!
Ray

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stingra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown
1.4 mi away
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eastchase Montgomery
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Montgomery - East I-85
3.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lattice Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lattice Inn

Property: The Lattice Inn
Address: 1414 S Hull St, Montgomery, AL 36104-5522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lattice Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lattice Inn is an award-winning and unique bed and breakfast nestled in the heart of Montgomery's historic Garden District, near the Governor's Mansion, and the intersection of I-65 and I-85, Since 1993, The Lattice Inn has provided an exceptional lodging experience in a tastefully updated 1906-era cottage. Guest suites feature free Wi-Fi, HDTV with AppleTV, fridge, microwave, DVD/CD player, MP3/iPod docking clock radio, hair dryer, and king-size bed. Other amenities include a business center, Koi pond, intimate garden areas, and a salt water pool (May- September). Guests seldom want to leave once they've been pampered by our thoughtful amenities and attention to detail throughout The Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lattice Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing