We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely home and host”
Review of Red Bluff Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Bluff Cottage
Ranked #2 of 4 Montgomery B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My sister and I were taking a road trip from New Orleans to North Carolina and decided to stop in Montgomery to break up the trip. We seached the internet for the best option and were thrilled to find the Red Blluff Cottage. The house is just lovely and the location excellent. Our hostess was on a trip herself, so we were treated to some very special atttention from our host, Barry, who also is from New Orleans. We had a wonderful time talking about his old stomping grounds and know he also enjoyed reminiscing about his native town. Barry is most engaging and quite a good chef. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful, and the coffee kept coming. As another reviewer commented upon, the verandah is simply gorgoeous and so very inviting. As per our request on the previous night, Barry left us two wine glasses and a corkscrew for us to enjoy wine on the verandah after our dinner. We ultimately did not have wine upon our return, but look forward to sharing a glass with both Barry and Bonnie next time were are in their "next of the woods."

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Great rooms that were beautiful and clean. The owners were wonderful as well. The food was wonderful every morning. This was an absolutely beautiful home to stay in and I would recommend it to anyone passing through or vacationing in Montgomery, AL.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our party of four stayed here two nights mid-May. The accomodation really is lovely. Every room themed and decorated with care and thoughtfulness. We had the Gatsby Suite, complete with lots of Scott & Zelda Fitzgerald memorabilia - we had to be careful we only packed our own things when leaving!! The bed was huge and exceptionally comfortable. A lovely healthy breakfast was served at a fixed time and all guests ate together - a wonderful way to meet and talk to others about their travels. By coincidence another family also from Northern Ireland were staying here at the same time. Coffee and snacks were available on tap at any time. The verandah was a lovely spot to relax on, complete with rocking chairs and swing seat. Downtown Montgomery is a short walk away. Barry and Bonnie were excellent hosts and left us with a wonderful memory of our stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank sicarius1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I were driving from Atlanta to Nola and decided to split up the trip. Glad we did, and glad we stayed here. The room was beautiful and the proprietor was gracious and most attentive. We hadn't visited Montgomery before, but if we do again will definitely go back

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank wanderingguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stopped in Montgomery on the way from NOLA to Atlanta. This B and B was a gem. Super rooms, lovely breakfast and a welcoming host (2 actually). We particularly enjoyed the people we met over breakfast.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LadyMadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We chose this accommodation because we prefer staying in b & b's rather than chain hotels and it more than lived up to our expectations. Bonnie and Barry are lovely hosts and provide an excellent service. We stayed in "stitch in time" room and the bed was so comfortable I could have lay all day in it. The house has every amenity, coffee/tea making facilities, little jars of sweets and snacks and a lovely verandah to relax on. Breakfast is freshly prepared and very good. It's a 10 minute walk to town with plenty of restaurants. Thoroughly recommend the Rosa Parkes museum.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helenvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We booked this after seeing it was a similar price to the chain hotels in town and we are so glad we did! Bonnie very helpfully picked us up from the bus station and then Barry dropped us off, and we are very thankful for this!
We were in the Rose room, which was full of little trinkets and nice touches. The bed was so soft and you get the use of bathrobes. There is free coffee and tea anytime, as well as snacks and sodas, and the breakfast was great and homemade. Bonnie and Barry were friendly and couldn't do enough to help us.
There are several communal rooms and a porch that you can use anytime, which gave the place a lovely homely feel.
I would definately come back if I'm ever in Montgomery again...good old fashioned Southern hospitality!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Koffee741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
9.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eastchase Montgomery
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-East Chase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown
9.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Montgomery - EastChase
10.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Bluff Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Bluff Cottage

Address: 551 Clay St, Montgomery, AL 36104-3366
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery
Price Range: £92 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Bluff Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a getaway that is extraordinary and distinct - a warm experience that will linger as a pleasant memory for years to come? That is exactly what Red Bluff Cottage offers. Experience "Southern Hospitality - Alabama Style." From the first point of contact on the telephone or via email to when you actually meet the innkeepers face to face, Barry and Bonnie Ponstein look for ways to make you feel comfortable and at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Red Bluff Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing