We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PERFECT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Bluff Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Bluff Cottage
Ranked #2 of 3 Montgomery B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“PERFECT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The owner of this B&B was so considerate and kind to the number of allergies we had in our party. She made the most DELICIOUS gluten-free vegan chocolate chip pancakes known to man. This is an allergen friendly place with really kind keepers. They were also extremely helpful in telling us what there was to do in the city, restaurants nearby, and advice on our other southern travel destinations. Definitely give this place a shot. Great southern hospitality. I would definitely stay there again, also their location is honestly minutes away from downtown Montgomery. Beds were very comfortable!

Room Tip: The riverboat room was so cute!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    34
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
58
217
30
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was our first stay at a B & B and I have to say I don't think any other B&B could top this one. We were treated like family by Bonnie & Barry while we were there. The cottage and the rooms were absolutely beautiful. The breakfast was phenomenal.We met & made great friends while we were there. If anyone is in the Montgomery area I highly recommend the Red Bluff Cottage B&B. You won't be disappointed. Thank you Bonnie & Barry for the best birthday weekend I have ever had. We will be back and looking forward to seeing both of you again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful comfortable and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kajunlady66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornelius, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

A recent stay at the Red Bluff Cottage was our first experience with a bed and breakfast, but most certainly will not be our last. We selected this B&B because of its proximity to Maxwell Air Force Base and because of its wonderful reviews. A sign on the property states that you will "arrive as guests but depart as friends" and we found this to be true. Ours was the only room occupied the night of our stay, and we had the pleasure of conversing with Bonnie and Barry while enjoying the wonderful breakfast Barry had prepared. We are thankful to have stayed at the Red Bluff Cottage, and will most certainly look into staying at B&B's during future travels - not only for the wonderful hospitality, but also to avoid those sometimes awful continental breakfasts served at most hotels/motels.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allenoi812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

My wife and I were treated like royalty by Bonnie (from LA-lower Alabama) and Barry (originally form NO-New Orleans). The location is convenient to the interstate and near several restaurants. A wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyc
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

My first visit to Montgomery, coming from NYC, was great thanks to Bonnie and her B&B. This was a highlight for me in an otherwise long and routine work trip through the South. It is now my default choice for accommodations there.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rtnyc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pride, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Our stay was a wonderful break from extremely busy family events. We needed true relaxation and were able to find it with great thanks to Bonnie and Barry. It was more comfortable than home because every room had something to help us think only of enjoying ourselves. Breakfast each morning with the other guests was truly delightful. Bonnie can prepare just about anything even for guests' dietary restrictions or requests. The home is well laid out with guest convenience obviously kept in mind as it was designed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptpeairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

My sister and I were taking a road trip from New Orleans to North Carolina and decided to stop in Montgomery to break up the trip. We seached the internet for the best option and were thrilled to find the Red Blluff Cottage. The house is just lovely and the location excellent. Our hostess was on a trip herself, so we were treated to some very special atttention from our host, Barry, who also is from New Orleans. We had a wonderful time talking about his old stomping grounds and know he also enjoyed reminiscing about his native town. Barry is most engaging and quite a good chef. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful, and the coffee kept coming. As another reviewer commented upon, the verandah is simply gorgoeous and so very inviting. As per our request on the previous night, Barry left us two wine glasses and a corkscrew for us to enjoy wine on the verandah after our dinner. We ultimately did not have wine upon our return, but look forward to sharing a glass with both Barry and Bonnie next time were are in their "next of the woods."

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel & Montgomery Conference Center
9.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eastchase Montgomery
4.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Bluff Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Bluff Cottage

Property: Red Bluff Cottage
Address: 551 Clay Street, Montgomery, AL 36104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Bluff Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a getaway that is extraordinary and distinct - a warm experience that will linger as a pleasant memory for years to come? That is exactly what Red Bluff Cottage offers. Experience "Southern Hospitality - Alabama Style." From the first point of contact on the telephone or via email to when you actually meet the innkeepers face to face, Barry and Bonnie Ponstein look for ways to make you feel comfortable and at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Red Bluff Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing