We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, affordable and friendly”
Review of The Alabama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Alabama Hotel
Ranked #38 of 72 Hotels in Montgomery
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Convenient, affordable and friendly”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Right off the 85, it is a dream to come to this place after a long drive. Vin was amazingly friendly and very welcoming.. Room is big and you feel like you have space to put things and move around. A sitting area, a desk as well as the bed, very roomy for 2 people, I even thing the sofa is a sofa bed. I recommend this place for travellers :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sabrina1176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    27
    21
    12
    28
See reviews for
34
27
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

as a traveling contractor I have stayed at numerous hotels some good and some not so good. but I have never experienced such service and large rooms as I have at the Alabama Hotel Montgomery. the staff has accommodated me and every request that I have made helping me keep my business flowing by making copies of documents and fax is anything that I have asked I would recommend this hotel to anyone and I will be staying at this hotel everytime I'm in the Montgomery area

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank didyac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The hotel staff is extremely courteous and very professional. The rooms are large and clean. When you walk in you immediately feel like you're at home. The large suites give you room to move. I've stayed at other hotels in the area and none can compare to The Alabama Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cadesdad44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honolulu
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

First I was double charged for the room, then the rep realized that he over charged me then gave me the double charged amount back in cash, he then tried to sell me the upgraded suite in a used car salesman manner. I was then called on the phone to tell me that they accidentally realized that they meant to keep the amount they gave me because they were t sure they charged me the right amount. Oh no it doesn't stop there, at 11 at night they banged on my door for a good 15 mins waking me out of my sleep to collect the amount they over charged me! Oh ya lets not forget the clogged tub I tried to take a shower in, the maintenance guy came with a dirty plunger and attempted to clear the tub (he didn't ) he left a large amount of residue(fecal matter) in the tub! 2 days later I checked my bank statements and yes in fact I was double charged for the room and still trying to resolve as we speak!!!! Never again!!!! SMH

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eatgrits101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opp, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Old buildings can be attractive if well maintained. The entrance to this hotel has a nice garden with a fountain and the appearance of a once well kept business. Upon entering the room, it had a "smell" that was not pleasant, the lighting was very poor, the coffee pot did not work, there was no clock, ironing board but no iron and the wi-fi was no good. Being a suite made it tolerable but definitely needs an upgrade! The continental breakfast was ok but the tables and the floor was dirty all the way to the front desk. It wasn't like they were over crowded..just a don't care attitude. The staff was nice and it was quiet and they even sent us a thank you note for staying there. It was bascially a place to spend the night ..no frills and reasonably priced. I just prefer a little more "class" than the basic motel 6 or 8.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bertha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

It is a nice cozy hotel at an awesome price. The staff was cheerful and gave me a free upgrade for my second night . I was really pleased with my stay over there and really recommend this hotel to people who want to spend a nice quiet time..

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mbhussar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The rooms were fair. Staff was very helpful. Management was the worst. Very rude & disrespectful.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hotelsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Montgomery Near AUM
Days Inn Montgomery Near AUM
#43 of 72 in Montgomery
144 reviews
3.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Montgomery Midtown
3.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Montgomery - Carmichael Rd.
3.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Montgomery South
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Montgomery
Comfort Suites Montgomery
#42 of 72 in Montgomery
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alabama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alabama Hotel

Property: The Alabama Hotel
Address: 5924 Monticello Dr, East Montgomery (Exit 6 on I-85), Montgomery, AL 36117-1939
Region: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 72 Hotels in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Alabama Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alabama Hotel ~ The Beautiful is situated very close to Montgomery Alabama DownTown, East Chase & Chantilly Parkway, Faulkner University,Auburn University - Montgomery AUM campus, Alabama State University and fortis College & Virginia College ! Alabama Hotel is "All Suite Hotel" which provides Free High Speed Internet, Continental Breakfast and Safe Environment whether you are travelling on Business and leisure. A Southern Hospitality HeadQuarter - Alabama Hotel~ The Beautiful! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Alabama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Montgomery
Montgomery Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing