We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alabama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Alabama Hotel
Ranked #39 of 71 Hotels in Montgomery
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

My stay Was very nice enjoyed staff very clean and nice...will return and stay again Angelina was very nice and helpful she made stay very nice when u visit ask for her..she greets with smile and was very hands on housekeeping was ok also could be better but the staff made up for it..in all my stay was nice

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlabamaHotel, Public Relations Manager at The Alabama Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest, We are Glad that your stay was Nice but We would like to see it Great next time! Please give us another opportunity and we would request you to give us a call ahead to hold a Spacious Suite for you next Stay at Alabama Hotel.

We strive to make your Experience as memorable as possible, At Alabama Hotel we are Committed to Provide you the Best Southern Hospitality !

We want to thank you from Entire Team of Alabama Hotel for taking time out to write your Experience , We will be looking forward to See you back at Alabama Hotel ~ The Beautiful
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    26
    20
    11
    28
See reviews for
32
26
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We drove around for an hour looking for a room after getting one room at another hotel that reeked so terribly of cannabis, I had to leave because of an allergic reaction.

We finally got to The Alabama Hotel, and thankfully they had a room. The clerk at the front desk was the nicest person I've ever dealt with when getting a hotel room. When we got in the room he told us prior that there was no towels and he'd get us some, which he did within the time he said (5 minutes), and also that there was a mildew smell in the room. He kept asking if it's okay and apologized in the hotels behalf and asked if it's going to bother my allergies and if so he offered to give us another room. I said it was fine cause it was not that bad.

We went to bed, and the next morning they called reminding us check out is at 11, we took a shower and saw where there was some mold underneath the sink. Looks like maybe there was a leak or something and caused it, in room 103. Was not a serious issue to us, just hope someone sees this so they can fix it. It was a really nice hotel with very professional staffing. I would recommend this hotel to someone else, as well as stay there again if passing through town again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LPM98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Every-time I come here I have a wonderful experience. My room was clean smelled great and very spacious. Beautiful artwork on the wall and the lobby (oh my) can you say beautiful. Such a relaxing home feeling that you get. And plus they had a pool

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Shauntrel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel was close to Alabama Shakespeare Festival. The staff who checked us in the first night were polite and kind. The first room we got looked great however in the first twenty min i saw two cockroaches and the AC wouldnt start they moved us to a second room which was decent.
Despite the signs stating parties were not allowed and it you was a non smoking hotel the second floor smelled like Marijuana.
The water in the shower didn't get very hot and the water pressure was low.
The ice machine would be turned off at least twice a day.
Breakfast was weak coffee with apple or orange juice miniature danishes mini muffins biscuits and bread all frozen the cereal had frozen milk as well they ran a sink of hot water to thaw the milk.

Several staff were less than friendly one lady even raised her voice at me and scolded me about having a dog my dog weighs fifteen pounds and the first thing i said when calling to book the room was "do you allow pets I have a small dog"

Housekeeping was done by three people a couple who were very polite and pleasant and another woman who gave me a difficult time and wrote my room number down when I asked for shampoo! Sorry I have long hair!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazamalinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel entrance was beautiful, you get a very peaceful fill from it. The staff and customer service is excellent. The rooms were very clean, house keeping comes every day and is very accommodating. They were very helpful and went out of there way to make sure we were comfortable. I will stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

I guess it was OK for the price but it wasn't exactly what I was expecting. I wouldn't stay there again. There are a couple more hotels that i have been to that aren't much more expensive for jacuzzi suits in Montgomery but are much more nice!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The first room they put us in had a disassembled, non-functioning smoke alarm. The bathroom had a wall full of mold. We asked for a new room. Although this one was better it smelled of stale smoke even though it was a non-smoking room. The toilet in the bathroom was not bolted to the floor and almost tipped over. The bed was more like a hammock than a king sized bed as it sagged so much in the middle. It appeared to be freshly painted but you could see in the bathroom that they painted over mold. There was so much paint splatter in all rooms that it looked like they let a bunch of five-year-olds loose with paintbrushes and rollers. The TV was new, but the cable to it was run from across the room and up over the bathroom door, all exposed. The water in the outdoor pool outside the window was pea green. You could see daylight around the entry door to the room. It was very noisy with the open atrium.

The price of the room was cheap, but the hotel is a train wreck. Run Away!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Montgomery Near AUM
Days Inn Montgomery Near AUM
#37 of 71 in Montgomery
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
3.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Montgomery
3.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Montgomery South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Montgomery Midtown
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Montgomery - Carmichael Rd.
3.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eastchase Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alabama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alabama Hotel

Property: The Alabama Hotel
Address: 5924 Monticello Dr., East Montgomery (Exit 6 on I-85), Montgomery, AL 36117-1939
Region: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 71 Hotels in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Alabama Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alabama Hotel ~ The Beautiful is situated very close to Montgomery Alabama DownTown, Faulkner University, Auburn University - Montgomery AUM campus, Alabama State university and Fortis College & Virginia College ! Alabama Hotel is a All Suite Hotel which provides Free High Speed Internet, Continental Breakfast and Safe Environment whether you are travelling on Business and leisure. A Southern Hospitality HeadQuarter - Alabama Hotel~ The Beautiful! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Alabama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Montgomery
Montgomery Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing