We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality at its best” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in Montgomery
montgomery, United States
1 review
“Quality at its best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

I am and will always stay at doubletree Hilton in Montgomery when I pass through on business. great location, access to highway, and the AFB-Maxwell where I do my business. Thank You for the awesome experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Morris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Good Evening,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! I will be sure to share your kind comments with our entire team. We look forward to seeing you back realy soon!

Sincerely,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    160
    100
    45
    21
See reviews for
165
78
32
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

My stay was so enjoyable that I have recommended to several clients as well as family. Perfect location and the suites are wonderful. When you walk into the hotel the lobby is amazing with the bar being center of attention and the spacious suites are great. I didn't know about the double suite until later but I will definitely reserve one for my next visit with its spacious living area and full kitchen.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Good Evening,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! I will be sure to share your kind comments with our entire team. We are so pleased to hear you have recommended us to others. Please be sure to let me know next time you are in Montgomery and I will be sure to upgrade you into one of our double suites you enjoyed so much. We look forward to seeing you back!

Sincerely,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Quiet, comfy, nice location. Excellent staff. I was tired and didn't feel like going anywhere for food. It was a little late, the restaurant had already closed but I was told I could go to the bar for service. Great staff at the bar. Very attentive. I had no idea what I was in the mood for, Rhianna took time to help me figure it out. She was just great and so patient with me. We even concocted a new drink. Black Cherry, Malibu and pineapple juice. It was very good. Rhianna was so attentive. She checked on me frequently. My room was perfect. I was thrilled to wake up to see the Christmas tree being assembled. That was fun. I love all the Christmas decorations in the lobby. I understand this building was in very sad condition prior to Hilton. Y'ALL DONE GOOD!!!

Room Tip: No bad rooms as best I can tell. It's all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjkennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Good Evening,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! I will be sure to share your kind comments with our entire team, especially Rhianna. As for the new drink...I will inform our bar manager, we might just have to add that to our specialty drinks! We look forward to seeing you back real soon!

Sincerely,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kernersville, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Have stayed in this hotel twice now and will stay again if ever in the area. Very nice hotel and very quiet. You think you are the only one in the hotel. Gentleman had the desk was very nice and went out of his way to make us feel welcomed, especially the extra cookies.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Good Evening,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! I will be sure to share your kind comments with our entire team, especially the front desk. So glad to hear you will be returning, we pride ourselves on loyalty and we think of every guest as a member of our family. We look forward to seeing you back soon, and we will be sure to have one of our warm chocolate chip cookies waiting on you!

Sincerely,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

The wife and I came into town for a concert and stayed here Halloween night. The hotel has a huge atrium with bar and restaurant in the middle. Check in was easy. We had a Junior Suite and it was big and nice/ clean. The hotel was in easy walking distance to all the bars and restaurants.

Only negative is there is no pool or jacuzzi. It would have been nice to stretch out and relax in a pool after driving in. No big deal though.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theja1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Good Evening,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! I will be sure to share your kind comments with our entire team. We look forward to seeing you back soon!

Sincerely,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

First time at the DoubleTree and met my expectations!

THE LOCATION
The hotel is located in a nice area in downtown. The the entrance to the hotel is quite narrow which makes it a bit weird. Not much eatery by the hotel, you will have to get down to the Alley area to find restaurants.

THE HOTEL
The appearance of the hotel looks fresh and modern. The inside of the lobby is nicely decorated. The set up of the rooms are those kind of hotels that has the exposed interior corridors that can see down to the lobby in the middle.

THE ROOM
I had a room in the corner of the second floor. I had a view of the parking lot and across the way a church. The suite room is huge and has a lot of wasted space. In face the lay out is a bit awkward. Lighting is poor in the poor and inconvenient to get to since the room is so huge. The toiletries are from Crabtree & Evelyn and they are fantastic smelling! The coffee bar set up is really cool, with Wolfgang Puck coffee pods.

THE WORKING STATION
If you follow some of my reviews, you will find that one of my pet peeves is where the outlets are for the working station. Fortunately, DoubleTree was start enough to put the plugs on the desk! A great plus to easily plug in items. A minus - only one outlet. Although it is free internet, the service is slow.

THE ENTERTAINMENT
The tv in the room only had a few channels of HD & most are regular channels. The regular channels were spotty and sometimes the HD channels had no signal. This is something that they need to improve on.

All and all, it was a comfortable stay at the DoubleTree.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Good Evening,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! I will be sure to share your kind comments and your feedback with our entire team. We are currently working on several technology upgrades that should be completed by year end. Internet speed will be increasing 3 times the current speed and the new HD channel upgrade we received increased the channel line up and has already corrected the problems we faced after opening. Next time you return, you should see a wide array of technological upgrades throughout the hotel. We look forward to seeing you back soon!

Sincerely,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Staying in town on business for a couple days, was immediately greeted by friendly staff and offered a warm cookie at check-in. Room was a little cramped, but well appointed and clean; bed was very comfortable. Had a strange odor but it disappeared after a while (or I got used to it). Had a rather expensive breakfast buffet, but not out of the ordinary from other hotels where breakfast wasn't included in the price of the room. Was on the ground floor and a little noisy there...could hear the clump clump of cars in the parking lot running over some kind of metal drainage covers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hydrogeo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Good Evening,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! I will be sure to share your kind comments with our entire team. In reference to the parking lot noise, this is something we have working on with our ownership to get corrected immediately. We hope to have corrected very soon and want to thank you for sharing this concern with our team.

Sincerely,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel & Montgomery Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Montgomery
8.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eastchase Montgomery
5.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
Address: 120 Madison Avenue, Montgomery, AL 36104-3624 (Formerly Madison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree Montgomery Downtown hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the Convention Center and in close proximity to area businesses and government offices. Upon check-in, you are welcomed with a warm Doubletree chocolate chip cookie. Enjoy an onsite fitness center, state-of-the-art business center, full-service restaurant and gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Montgomery
Best Western Montgomery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing