We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay on a snowy night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
Ranked #9 of 72 Hotels in Montgomery
Montgomery, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay on a snowy night”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a snowed in night, and everything was great!! The beds were awesome!! Woke up in the same position I fell asleep in. The room was nice and clean. The restaurant was busy due to nobody being able to leave but everything was good. Service was great and the food was awesome as well. I would recommend this hotel to anybody that needs a place to stay in Montgomery. A lot nicer than the others I've stayed at!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tikmutat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words and we truly appreciate you staying with us. I have shared your comments with our team. Your feedback is very valuable to us and we are always working towards providing the best experience possible.

Sincerely,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    176
    111
    51
    24
See reviews for
182
84
34
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Good hotel for business travel. Nice Rooms, good service and good internet connection. Very comfortable bed and pillows. Easy walk to the bars and restaurants at the Alley. Fitness center is lacking but there is a decent YMCA a 3 minute drive away. Probably not an ideal place for family vacations – no pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Sean Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words and we truly appreciate you staying with us. I have shared your comments with our team. Your feedback is very valuable to us and we are always working towards providing the best experience possible.

Sincerely,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moody, Alabama, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Had a great couple of days. No major issues. They could have had more help in the bar area. The bar tender had to double as a waitress in the restaurant. Also, the coffee in the lobby ran out several times. No a good thing on cold mornings.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words and we truly appreciate you staying with us. I have shared your comments with our team. Your feedback is very valuable to us and we are always working towards providing the best experience possible.

Sincerely,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boca raton, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Terrible noise and no working printers. I was very disappointed in the noise level coming from the room next to me. The walls were paper thin. The fact that there was no paper in the printers and then i was told that both printers were out of order was very disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review. I understand that there were some issues that inconvenienced you particularly the noises coming the guest next to your room.

It is through feedback as yours that we evaluate ourselves and identify the areas where we can improve. I can assure you that your feedback has been taken into consideration and that we are actively looking at different options of better soundproofing our property.

Again, I thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel and I do hope that if you are ever in town, you consider staying with us.

Sincerely,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nauvoo, Alabama, United States
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed on a Friday night at this DoubleTree in downtown Montgomery and was not disappointed. While modern, the hotel is clean, well lit and comfortable. I traveled on business and only stayed one night but it was a very pleasant stay. I was greeted by a very friendly, professional staff at check-in and had no problems even though a professaionl group was paying for my stay. I was even provided with a warm chocolate chip & pecan cookie - she must have known I needed a sugar pick up, lol! After attempting to open my room with the waving of the card key, I had to get it programmed again and then again. Third time was the charm and I came into a warm, inviting room. Clean and neat, the room served it's purpose! The bathroom was a bit tight, the door almost hit the toilet, but overall it was nice and clean. The entire facility was nice and updated.

I checked out early and didn't take advantage of the complimentary breakfast.

I would recommended to replace/repair the card key programming machine to prevent future issues, but that didn't detract from my stay. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback! I will be sure to share your kind comments with our entire team. In addition, we are so happy to hear you are returning to the hotel, thank you so much for your loyalty. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Sincerely,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulf Shores, United States
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This hotel is wonderful. I have never been disappointed in a Hilton property and this one, the DoubleTree was no different. Check in was super easy and they give out warm cookies. My room was very comfortable and clean. Lots of space and very comfy furnishings. The complimentary showergel and lotion were even worth taking home with me---they smelled very nice. I loved the bed. It was so comfortable...I hit my snooze button twice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Shemika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback! I will be sure to share your kind comments with our entire team. Something we take pride in is our famous warm chocolate chip cookie. We look forward to seeing you back soon and I guarantee there will be a warm cookie awaiting your arrival!

Sincerely,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I just finished a great stay at the DoubleTree in Montgomery. I've stayed at two other hotels in the past, and now I don't have to look anywhere else. The staff earned my future business! The room was comfortable, quite, and clean. The staff was extremely nice. And, the breakfast omelets were fantastic. Job well done! See you next year!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Thank you for your kind words and we truly appreciate you staying with us. I have shared your comments with our staff. Your feedback is very valuable to us and we are always working towards providing the best experience possible. Hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel & Montgomery Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Montgomery
9.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eastchase Montgomery
5.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
Address: 120 Madison Avenue, Montgomery, AL 36104-3624 (Formerly Madison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree Montgomery Downtown hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the Convention Center and in close proximity to area businesses and government offices. Upon check-in, you are welcomed with a warm Doubletree chocolate chip cookie. Enjoy an onsite fitness center, state-of-the-art business center, full-service restaurant and gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Montgomery
Best Western Montgomery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing