We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
Ranked #8 of 72 Hotels in Montgomery
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The hotel was recently remodeled, it is very modern and very clean. The ice machine on my floor was out of order and I would use the stairs. The door to my room weighed a lot and I would have to use my whole body weight just to open it. They told me over the phone they took a tax exemption, but then didn't take it when I checked out. Other than that, the service was good and the staff were all very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2014

Thank you for taking time to write this review. I will share your kind words with our team. I apologize for the confusion regarding the tax exemption. We do accept tax exemption forms but only from the federal government. I have also gotten with our maintenance department about the ice machine. Thank you again for your valuable comments. We hope o see you back here soon!

Sincerely,

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (709)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

612 - 618 of 709 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Very helpful staff - elevator mats with a different greeting for each day of the week made me smile. Food was above average and feel of the lobby was modern yet private and comfortable. Only negative was taxi availability...don't hold your breath and expect at least a 30 minute wait - not acceptable for a downtown location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank T8620RXrichardw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2014

Thank you for taking time to write this positive review. I will share your comments with our entire team. I do apologize about the taxi experience. We have since changed companies. Again, thank you for the feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

In close proximity to Convention Center & Local eats. Free parking and clean environment. Walking distance to most downtown attractions. Good size room and comfortable bed. Lobby was nice, business center leave something to be desired though...very slow internet and computers need updating. Overall very pleased with my stay and would book again next time my travels take me to Montgomery.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2014

Thank you so much for your kinds words. I have shared them with our entire staff. I do apologize that our business center was not up to par, we have updated the computers and internet since reading this review. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Grad families, stay here! Excellent experience, not over crowded like other places in the area. They even upgraded us to a suite when they saw my husband in his uniform, without extra costs or being asked to. Very clean, friendly staff, and amazingly comfortable beds. I especially loved the inside, it felt safe and spacious. One note: parking down below after a rainstorm did cause the cars to flood, I didn't experience that but heard a couple dealt with it, but the manager got the cars out in the end. Always love doubletree!

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Carolyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2014

Thank you for your kind words and we truly appreciate you staying with us. I have shared your comments with our team. Your feedback is very valuable to us and we are always working towards providing the best experience possible.

Sincerely,

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

OK place...about standard for a Double Tree. Getting in and out of parking was a hassle. Room cleanliness a little under average. Nice fitness room but way too hot and no portable fans. Nice, friendly staff. Overall, OK.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2014

We are very sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. I have personally addressed our team in regards to your comments to ensure that the necessary actions are taken. I can assure you that we will resolve these issues immediately. Again, we apologize and we certainly hope to have another chance to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The room was spacious, clean, I loved the shower, and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was absolutely wonderful, very helpful and friendly. I would definately recommend this hotel to friends and business associates.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2014

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! I will be sure to share your kind comments with our entire team. We are so pleased to hear you will recommended us to others. We look forward to seeing you back!

Sincerely,

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

the experience I had was totally unacceptable for any hotel/motel. the room I had was dirty and one mattress had pubic hair on it and another had what appeared to be rat droppings on it and when the maid came to clean the mattresses all she did was brush the stuff on to the floor. the dining area had a breakfast bar that appeared to be a free continental breakfast ended up costing me roughly 13.00 per person for nasty box tasting food and there was no sign that you had to pay for the breakfast. I don't think that anyone should go through what my friends and I went through.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. We’re sorry you encountered housekeeping problems. Dirty rooms are not typical at our hotel, and we appreciate that you brought this to our attention. We have discussed this with our staff and will make every effort to be sure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards. Please give us a second chance if you visit our area in the future.

Sincerely,

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel & Montgomery Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eastchase Montgomery
5.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Montgomery
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-East Chase
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown

Address: 120 Madison Ave, Montgomery, AL 36104-3624 (Formerly Madison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Montgomery
Price Range: £81 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree Montgomery Downtown hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the Convention Center and in close proximity to area businesses and government offices. Upon check-in, you are welcomed with a warm Doubletree chocolate chip cookie. Enjoy an onsite fitness center, state-of-the-art business center, full-service restaurant and gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Montgomery
Best Western Montgomery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing