We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The wow factor is real”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
Ranked #9 of 72 Hotels in Montgomery
Deep South
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The wow factor is real”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Beautiful hotel in the heart of Downtown Montgomery. Really nice rooms -- as expected at a DoubleTree. Great lobby area with a spiffy bar right in the middle. If you're lucky Desmond will be at the front desk. He's got things under control.

Restaurant is OK, but for breakfast or lunch, walk two blocks to the Farmers Market Restaurant in Old Alabama Town.

Hotel parking is a bit sketchy with some spaces beneath the hotel. Hard to get to if you don't know the trick. And for some strange reason, finding a garbage can on the lobby floor and outside is impossible. Don't understand that. But it's no reason not to stay there.

It's a great place. I've stayed there on three occasions and will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tupelodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    176
    111
    51
    24
See reviews for
182
84
34
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This hotel is in a lovely quiet location, right in the downtown area. The check in experience was great, Hilton Honors status recognition was great, and the upgrade was appreciated. There were a few little things that concerned me, the room locks were terrible, they made the room feel very unsecure. It took quite some effort to make sure the door was shut properly and locked. Also, I don't quite understand the point of a full kitchen in a suite, with absolutely no utensils at all! Not even a glass for a drink or cutlery! It really is beyond belief! After travelling for two weeks solid, we were looking forward to putting a small meal together and booked this room especially for the kitchen space. Be very wary of this!
Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterrey, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our sty in this hotel, which is conveniently located just three blocks from downtown attractions. It's environment is clean and easy, that Meeks you feel really relax. The staff was very kind and nice.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LeopoldoBarran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blountsville
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The stay was in a two suites. The suites were beautiful, very clean, beds comfortable, amenities very good. Each suite room had a bathroom, TV, and a TV in the common area. The kitchen was nice and had functional amenities. Improvements would be that Internet services should be included in room price. Add-on fees should be made known before booking rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Cannot say enough good things about the hotel's front desk, and the comfort of the room (a little noisy, but I expect some noise in a hotel). Unfortunately, I can't say any good things about the hotel's breakfast "restaurant". Toss up between food and service on which was worse.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank GolfGuy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Grande, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Excellent hotel only 3 blocks from the concert. Plenty of good restaurants within walking distance. First class room! Outstanding atrium in the center of the hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Safe, fenced in parking lot so your vehicle stays secure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Travel frequently, this property is from a scale of 1 - 10, a 7 all day long. Nothing really fancy here. Short drive to base and right downtown. I would have liked a refigerator in my room, that would have been nice. The breakfast served, if I had to pay 15 dollars for whats offered, I would have found somewhere else to eat. I ordered the Prime Rib for dinner one night. Obvious left over. Food prices way to high. Overall, nice place to lay your head.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank saintrjrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel & Montgomery Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Montgomery
9.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eastchase Montgomery
5.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
Address: 120 Madison Avenue, Montgomery, AL 36104-3624 (Formerly Madison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree Montgomery Downtown hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the Convention Center and in close proximity to area businesses and government offices. Upon check-in, you are welcomed with a warm Doubletree chocolate chip cookie. Enjoy an onsite fitness center, state-of-the-art business center, full-service restaurant and gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Montgomery
Best Western Montgomery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing