We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fleas in room” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
Ranked #9 of 71 Hotels in Montgomery
Livermore, United States
1 review
“Fleas in room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

I am alergic to fleas and received numerous bites on my ankles. I telephoned the hotel after leaving the lobby to report the room number (so as not to create a scene) and speak with a manager. I spoke with the reception person who said I would receive a call from a manager...that was 2 days ago, still no call.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We apologize for the very unfortunate experience that you had at our hotel. Our guests’ health and safety is extremely important to us and we work closely with a professional pest control company to address and correct any pest situation that might occur. We have shared your comments with our staff and promise the situation has been successfully addressed. We will be in contact with you shortly to help make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    160
    100
    45
    21
See reviews for
165
78
32
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

The hotel was clean and in a very convenient area of Montgomery. Rooms were comfortable. Staff was friendly. Would recommend it to anyone looking for fresh rooms and nice staff in an area of Montgomery close to all the historical attractions.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words. Your feedback is very valuable to us. We truly hope next time you are in Montgomery you will join us again!

Sincerely,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

No garbage cans inside or out, very surprising for a Hilton product, room service was non existent, no towels in room until after 6 pm. Should be rated 2 to 2 and half stars at most. Had to call the front for toilet paper

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank shell4Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We’re very sorry that your experience at our property wasn’t up to our usual high standards and we apologize for all the inconvenience you experienced. I am not quite sure why the garbage cans were missing, we do have these located at all five main level and basement level entrances and exits. In addition, I assure you that I have personally addressed your comments with our our entire Guest Services team and we want to thank you for providing us with your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

The hotel employees were all very friendly and went out of their way to make my stay comfortable and enjoyable. The rooms are very clean and the complimentary breakfast was terriffic. The location of the hotel is within walking distance of the Riverwalk.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
I want to thank you for your kind words and feedback. We continually strive to ensure we are providing the best possible product and service to every guest. I have personally shared your feedback with our entire staff and we truly hope you will visit our property again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Rooms are newly renovated and very clean, as is the entire hotel. The staff is amazing. Walking distance to everything cool to do in Montgomery. My primary concern was AC, I need cold and the room...AC was outstanding! Great stay!

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
I want to thank you for your kind words and feedback. We continually strive to ensure we are providing the best possible product and service to every guest. I have personally shared your feedback with our entire staff and we truly hope you will visit our property again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is pretty new I think and very neat and clean. It was right downtown and convenient to all the historic sites and restaurants downtown. The staff were all friendly and responsive to our needs. I was happy to find this hotel had a suite with two bedrooms and a full kitchen! The Doubletree cookies were delicious as usual! Only drawback: no pool.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 879cynthiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
I want to thank you for your kind words and feedback. We continually strive to ensure we are providing the best possible product and service to every guest. I have personally shared your feedback with our entire staff and we truly hope you will visit our property again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Traveling to Montgomery on business. Location of Doubletree is excellent for downtown business/state government business. Stayed in room 104 and it was terrible! Literally sounded like I was underneath a roller-coaster. Could hear something like it was coming over a ramp. Three or four minutes later, here it comes again! This went on until about 11:00 pm. Started back up at 6:00 am the next morning.

Left door tag hanger for breakfast order at 9 pm for delivery at 8:00 am. at 8:10 looked outside; sure enough, no one had picked it up. the breakfast order still hanging on the door. Ordered breakfast by phone. It came promptly but guess what? No silverware.

Finally, when I went to drop off my room keycard and check out, I was prepared to loudly complained about what a lousy stay I had when the desk clerk asked how was my stay. Wll, guess what? She never asked! She said thank you for the cards and said a copy of my bill would be emailed. Then I was just sorta dismissed.

I won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony3459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We’re very sorry that your experience at our property wasn’t up to our usual high standards and we apologize for all the inconvenience you experienced. I have personally addressed your comments with our F&B team as well as our Guest Services team. In addition, we are aware of the noise issues encountered during your stay with our parking deck and I wanted to personally assure you that our owner and engineering team are working diligently day and night to resolve this immediately. We truly hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.

Sincererly,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel & Montgomery Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Montgomery
8.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eastchase Montgomery
5.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
Address: 120 Madison Avenue, Montgomery, AL 36104-3624 (Formerly Madison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree Montgomery Downtown hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the Convention Center and in close proximity to area businesses and government offices. Upon check-in, you are welcomed with a warm Doubletree chocolate chip cookie. Enjoy an onsite fitness center, state-of-the-art business center, full-service restaurant and gorgeous views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Montgomery
Best Western Montgomery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing