We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in the middle of the entertainment district”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for a high school reunion. The hotel was very comfortable and the service was very good, We had a corner room with a good view of the entertainment district called " The Alley". The Alley is a very active place that stays going until well after midnight. Bands were playing and people were everywhere. We ate in 2 of the restaurants in the Alley and also the hotel dining room called "The House" Food was well prepared. If the noise from bands on the weekend tend to bother you, ask for a room on the west side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the west side of the hotel on the weekends to avoid the noise of "The Alley&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jthomas1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig H, General Manager at Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you so much for staying at the Renaissance Montgomery Hotel and Spa! We are glad you enjoyed your visit and we appreciate your kind comments regarding the hotel and service.

We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Montgomery.

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights before Easter weekend. The room was very nice. The bed was great. Staff was wonderful, particularly any housekeeping staff we passed in the hall, the valet parking guys, and the wait staff in the restaurant where we had breakfast one morning. The hotel was very quiet, which I attributed to the coming holiday. My husband loved that, and found it very relaxing. We enjoyed the proximity to the Alley area. I wish we had the opportunity to stay longer. We were in Montgomery bc my husband's son had just completed training at Maxwell Air Force base. I hope we get a chance to return for another visit when he returns for more training, and that can we can see more of the area. We will certainly stay here again if we get the chance!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank karla79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig H, General Manager at Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us in Montgomery! We appreciate your compliments regarding our Ambassadors and will certainly share your observations. In addition, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Montgomery Hotel and Spa when visiting Montgomery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Thought this was a very nice hotel in a great location. It is within walking distance to attractions and lots of restaurants. The outdoor bar area was an added surprise and the entertainment was spectacular. The bar menu was limited. Nice small gym and outdoor pool. Can't go wrong.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Gigi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig H, General Manager at Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for staying at the Renaissance Montgomery Hotel and Spa. We are glad you enjoyed visiting our hotel and experienced the various amenities that we have to offer. Hope you will stay with us again when visiting Montgomery.

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a spa weekend. It was perfect. Rooms are beautifully decorated; staff was incredibly friendly. The spa has all the usual amenities plus a sauna, large whirpool tub and an outdoor pool. You can order lunch from 1 of the hotel restaurants (there are 3 restaurants on site) and have it brought up to you. The hotel is across the street from The Alley, which has several bars and restaurants, and it is about a block from the river. So we never needed to move our car the entire weekend. Parking in the garage is $12/day but it was worth it to be close to everything. (You can go in/out without charge but we never needed to.) I would definitely recommend this location to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig H, General Manager at Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

First of all, thank you so much for staying at the Renaissance Montgomery Hotel and Spa. We appreciate you sharing your experience regarding our hotel and guest services. Our goal is simple: to provide you with an excellent hotel and spa experience. Your comments help reinforce our mission. We hope to see you again when visiting Montgomery.

Again, many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Our family of 4 just spent the weekend at this hotel in order to explore our state capitol. My kids are 10 & 12. I expected the room to be a little nicer. The bed was hard and the pillows were lumpy. And there are train tracks very near by which woke me up probably 5 times during the first night. I know that is not the hotel's fault but something to consider. The breakfast buffet was good though. Would of liked an indoor pool, it was too cool to use the outdoor one.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poisonivy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donita G, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for staying at the Renaissance Montgomery Hotel and Spa. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience that you experienced. Unfortunately we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

We do hope you enjoyed visiting our state capitol.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This hotel is in need of a renovation. The rooms are dated and the bathroom tiles are in need of grout, and new caulking. While sitting in the hot tub on the pool deck, I was hit by a large chunk of grout that had come free! The pool area itself is very nice, it is on the roof of the parking garage and is attached to the spa and gym. My wife encountered a couple of working ladies in the bar, and staff called security. Quite the experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarisonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin W, Manager at Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Harrison R

Thank you for staying at the Renaissance Montgomery and thank you for your feedback. I have reviewed your comments with our Management Team and we will work to make improvements based on your feedback. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

If you need to be downtown, this is convenient and you don't leave the place to go to the convention center. However, there was mold in the shower and the trash had not been emptied from my room (for which I had waited two hours to check-in) in one trash can. Heating and cooling system did not work well.....room stayed cold.....and, I noticed in the elevators that the certificate for the elevators had expired by more than a month. Frankly, I'd try another one of the downtown hotel properties if I were to return to Montgomery.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank bandman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin W, Manager at Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for staying at the Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center and sharing your experience.

Our elevators are on a regular schedule and have been inspected to standard through a third party elevator firm. The appropriate paperwork was submitted to the State of Alabama but however we are waiting on the return of the appropriate documents.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.

We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel & Montgomery Conference Center
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eastchase Montgomery
9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-East Chase
4.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center

Address: 201 Tallapoosa St, Montgomery, AL 36104-2662
Region: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Montgomery
Price Range: £99 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for Montgomery, Alabama luxury hotels choose Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center. Our Montgomery, Alabama hotel's stunning architecture highlighted by modern amenities and a rooftop pool makes us a top choice for discerning guests. We are an Alabama capitol hotel situated downtown, near Maxwell Air Force Base, and we are a stylish hotel that features more than 103,000 square feet of meeting space, an 1,800-seat performing arts center, a 73,000-square-foot exhibit hall, and a 9,000-square-foot European spa. Comfort reigns supreme in each of our guest rooms featuring high-tech amenities, such as HD LCD TVs, wireless and touch screen phones, Wi-Fi, and a connectivity panel for all electronic devices. Enjoy delectable cuisine at The House restaurant in our hotel and mingle at The Exchange, our bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel And Spa At The Montgomery
Montgomery Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing