We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow..This Hotel in Montgomery??”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2009

If you haven't been to Montgomery in a few years there is a really nice place to stay...the Renaissance in downtown is an outstanding hotel. Although relatively new it still has some charm to it. It is clean, reasonably well run (the front staff could use some customer relations training and supervision), the in-house restaurant is absolutely great, and it is close to the government complex. Downtown Montgomery may be one of the most depressing cities I have been in for years and years. Essentially everything is shuttered and what isn't closes at 5pm. The hotel has to be a destination stop because there isn't anything else around. One restaurant worth a short walk is the Olive Room. You have to look carefully as the door blends into the surroundings. It is a 5 minute walk and well worth it...really unique and nice place. Two doors down is the neighborhood bar...the only one: Nobels. Great place to see the locals and have a beer.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Traveler1Denver_Co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

608 - 614 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2009

Only stayed one night, but this will be our Montgomery hotel from now on. We've stayed at most of the downtown hotels, and this is by far the best. Everything was perfect, from check-in to check-out. The common areas of the hotel are beautiful and our room was clean and comfortable. The only negative was the hard as a brick pillows, but we were only there one night, so we just used them. Didn't get to see or use the spa, but maybe next time. We were on the city side of the hotel, so didn't encounter the band music that others have commented on.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank C5LS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2008

On our way to Destin over Memorial Day Weekend, we decided to break the trip from Nashville up by stopping at this hotel. It was a wonderful decision and one that will make us repeat guests of this hotel. We got to the hotel around 8:00 PM. It was clear that there was a large group there but we were not treated as anyone was to busy with the group to not pay attention to us. The service from check in to check out was great. Our room was very clean and fresh.

We decided to eat in the bar which has a beautiful outdoor area. The food was great, as was the service.

Since that first stay we have stayed over the 4th of July and are planning to return later in the year.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janet0446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2008

Everything was absolutely perfect! The best hotel in Montgomery!!!! I was stationed at Maxwell AFB for ASBC and my husband and I stayed here for our one year anniversary. Free chocolate dipped strawberries, truffles, and they got the champagne we had on our wedding night- for free!! WOW!

Spa: Spa services were great and the staff can't be beat- they'll do anything to make sure you're comfortable and taken care of. Got a couples massage and a facial. Never had a facial before and it was quite enjoyable. EXTREMELY expensive, but we didn't care, we just wanted to enjoy ourselves that weekend. The staff even let me use their hair styling products and equipment after my facial so I could go out on the town with the hubby after an afternoon at the spa.

Live Entertainment: WOW! The local blues/jazz bands that play on the huge outdoor patio were amazing. We'd sit there all night just soaking in the sounds and the heat of Montgomery.

The Pool: WOW! The pool chairs were so comfy and there's always an abundance of towels available. It is a bit of a walk to get to it because it's on the top floor of the parking ramp, which is attached to the hotel via a skyway- but who cares. The pool/pool bar/gym/running track/spa area is so perfect that having to walk a little ways to get there didn't bug me at all.

Restaurant: Absolutely divine!! Their executive chef is very imaginative and thoughtful in his food selections. Sunday brunch! Oh, my, goodness! The food spread was glorious. Made to order omelettes, waffles, smoked salmon, strawberries, the list goes on and on... Oh, and the high society of Montgomery (yes- it exists) comes dressed to the nines with beautiful hats and ornate outfits (we just went in t-shirt and jeans though). How fun!

Restaurant/Bar Service: Eh. They had great staff, very knowledgeable, but there's just not enough of them. Whenever we needed something we'd have to wait 5-10 minutes to see our waiter/waitress again and in the restaurant business that'll kill ya every time. Hopefully that's changed since we stayed there in July.

Overall: This hotel showcases southern hospitality at its best. Every staff member actually seemed like they genuinely cared about us and wanted to make our stay wonderful. We HATED Montgomery until we stayed here. It really showed us that amongst so much crime and heat there is a place of rest and calm and opulence in Montgomery. Bravo Renaissance- can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MiamiOfOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2008

I stayed here for a convention and was very pleased. I have stayed in many hotels all over and this was one of the nicer ones. Check-in was a breeze and the extras they through in for being a Marriott Rewards member was nice. The room was very nice. Especially the bathroom where there was a nice walk-in shower and separate tub. The beds were comfortable and the High Def. television was great. The only thing I didn't like was they charge for high speed internet. Come on guys! It's 2008! Wireless high speed internet should be free at all hotels. Other than that, I really liked this place.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank travelboy2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2008

The hotel had a wonderful outdoor patio with a pleasant band on the night of our arrival. Unfortunatly, our 9th floor room was directly above the band and we could not ignore the music which played until after 11:00 pm. After being awake for 30 hours, sleep was necessary but nearly impossible. Thanks to tropical storm Fay, the band was rained out the following night. The room was very comfortable with a wonderful bed and large bathroom with a seperate large shower. Due to the noise (music and trains), I would advise foregoing the river view, and request a room in the back side of the hotel. Breakfast at the hotel was poor quality. For $33, we recieved two meals consisting of 2 eggs (not hot), choice of meat (not hot), potatoes (greasy, not hot) coffee and 1 piece of toast. When we recieved our plates, the waiter informed us we will need to wait for the toast to be toasted. We did not recieve the toast until the rest of the meal had been finished. We were not initally aware of the buffet as it was hidden behind a partition wall, but we assumed our meal was pulled off of the buffet. A convenient alternative for meals was not available, there are no restaurants near the hotel. As for cleanliness, the hotel shined - until housekeeping forgot to tidy our room on day two. I would stay at this hotel again due to it's location. We were visiting Maxwell AFB, and the hotel was only a few minutes drive. However, I will be certain to arrange for a room on the back side of the hotel and avoid eating in the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tcooper9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2008

This hotel is a welcomed addition to Montgomery. Almost everything about the hotel is outstanding. My family and I were very impressed with the pool area. The restaurants are a work in progress, the management is trying but the wait staffs don't quite understand the level of service expected by the guests. Also, listen to the warnings about the band--it is loud and will keep you up if you are on the front of the hotel. If the band just turned down the volume everything would be fine.

Great hotel overall, just needs time to work out the kinks.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank YorktownBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel & Montgomery Conference Center
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eastchase Montgomery
9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-East Chase
4.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center

Address: 201 Tallapoosa St, Montgomery, AL 36104-2662
Region: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Montgomery
Price Range: £99 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for Montgomery, Alabama luxury hotels choose Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center. Our Montgomery, Alabama hotel's stunning architecture highlighted by modern amenities and a rooftop pool makes us a top choice for discerning guests. We are an Alabama capitol hotel situated downtown, near Maxwell Air Force Base, and we are a stylish hotel that features more than 103,000 square feet of meeting space, an 1,800-seat performing arts center, a 73,000-square-foot exhibit hall, and a 9,000-square-foot European spa. Comfort reigns supreme in each of our guest rooms featuring high-tech amenities, such as HD LCD TVs, wireless and touch screen phones, Wi-Fi, and a connectivity panel for all electronic devices. Enjoy delectable cuisine at The House restaurant in our hotel and mingle at The Exchange, our bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel And Spa At The Montgomery
Montgomery Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing