We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent downtown location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown
Ranked #6 of 71 Hotels in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
Hoek van Holland, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
190 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent downtown location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed in this Hampton Inn in May for one night. At check in we felt very welcome.
The room was beautiful, spacious, clean and quiet. The bed was wonderful. We had a good night's sleep.
The bathroom was spacious and clean and had all the amenities you need.
Breakfast is free and it's a good breakfast. The breakfast area was clean and quiet.

Downtown attractions are within a walkable distance. Some streets get a bit steep, but that's a good exercise.

We enjoyed our stay very much. It was a pity it was only for one night. Next time we will defenitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    170
    59
    37
    20
See reviews for
147
165
30
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012 via mobile

The management of this hotel could be better.
We had to wait on getting a room when we checked-in and the breakfast area was not clear when we went down.
Our room window looked straight into some air-condition plant - there was no view.
The managers knowledge of what tourist attractions were available in the town was a little disappointing too.
Apart from that the room and hotel was OK.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brycephillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

The hotel is an older hotel that has been nicely updated. Rooms are smaller than new hotels but the walls are nice and thick, which made for quiet. Breakfast was included; let's face it, free hotel breakfasts usually aren't that good, but this was decent and had lots of fresh and healthy options. The morning we checked out, they even made us a "breakfast to-go" bag to take with us. WiFi was also free, a nice surprise. Staff was courteous, helpful and very polite. From our hotel, we could walk to all the historic destinations in Montgomery. A bit more of a walk to the Oakwood Cemetery and the Fitgzgerald Museum, but a nice walk indeed. The riverfront park on the Alabama River (about four blocks away) and seeing a Biscuits game at the stadium were also a treat.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmichaelss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us while you experienced downtown Montgomery. Sounds like you hit all the "must do" spots. Thank you so much for including us in your travels and allowing us to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

It is not often these days that a sub- $100 a night hotel manages to wow me. This one did it. I was recently in Montgomery for a fitness cometition with my wife. We stayed at this hotel as the event was held at the Riverwalk, just 2 blocks away. I got the room because it was close to the venue and because it was $98 a night. I was thoroughly impressed. As previous reviewers have stated it is inside a historic building downtown. The lobby has tons of character and reminded me of hotels I have visited in Manhattan. The staff, albeit young, were very attentive, knowledgable, and kind. The room we stayed in (just your average king-sized bed) was clean, comfortable, well decorated, and "felt" nice. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was well laid out with a monstrous shower that was reminiscent of resorts I have stayed at in the past. However, the shining achievement for the hotel, in my opinion, is the $5 a day valet service. Parking in downtown Montgomery is difficult whenever there is an event going on. For $5 a day the staff will take your vehicle at the front door of the hotel, park it on an off-site secure lot, and bring it back to you at the lobby as many times as you wish. Find a better deal than that, I dare you. We actually enjoyed the hotel so much we decided to stay an extra night just to enjoy ourselves as it is right beside The Alley, a neat little entertainment district with several restaurants and bars. I don't know how you could find a better deal in downtown Montgomery than this Hampton Inn. I would stay here again and again given the opportunity. Be sure to tip the valet guys. They operated in the rain all weekend for us an never once complained.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate both good and bad, and use all of our guests' feedback as we continually strive to improve our services and amenities; but, of course, the good ones feel great knowing we have satisfied a guest.

We thoroughly enjoyed your group that stayed with us during the fitness competition. You all were awesome guests. That always makes serving you easy.

Again, we are grateful to you for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Our expectations were definitely exceeded in this hotel. The hotel is housed in an old refurbished downtown building which has a lot of character. The standards within the hotel, bedroom, front desk, breakfast could not be faulted. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful . I have no hesitation at all in posting this 5 star view.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkmusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Your 5 star review and the opportunity to serve you are both greatly appreciated. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. You are always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelona
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

This plave is great. In downtown Montgomery, the Hampton Inn used to be an old hotel, and the building has retained its beauty. The staff are really nice, the rooms are spacious and very clean, the breakfast has many options, and there is free coffee 24-hrs a day!! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catalan_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
We really enjoyed taking care of you during your journey; and appreciate you allowing us to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, NSW
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

This is a clean, comfortable hotel in a good location for exploring Montgomery and its history. The staff was friendly and efficient and the service was excellent. Our only issue was that at breakfast and in the room, all of the cups, plates and cutlery were disposable! There wasn't a proper glass or cup to be found anywhere. Apart from the discomfort of dining from such items, the rubbish output of the hotel must be enormous. We were quite disappointed by this lack of concern for the environment.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JWDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to share your concerns with us. I understand your frustrations about our garbage output. Hampton has researched many options to help us be environmentally responsible. All of our utensils, plates, cups and paper goods are biodegradable. We are required to use recycled materials and equipment that reduces water usage, among other environmentally friendly pratices.

As a company, we continually look for pratices and products to help us take care of our enviroment; and appreciate your concern as we take care of each other as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel & Montgomery Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Montgomery
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-East Chase
9.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eastchase Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown
Address: 100 Commerce Street, Montgomery, AL 36104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Montgomery
#10 Family Hotel in Montgomery
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of downtown Montgomery, this hotel is located in the fascinating historic district. Explore Montgomery's interesting history or treat yourself to an afternoon of shopping. Visit the Civil Rights Memorial & Center, admire the Confederate War Memorial, or walk the historic Selma to Montgomery National Historic Trail. This hotel in Montgomery also puts you within walking distance of the Hank Williams Museum, and just minutes from the Alabama Shakespeare Festival grounds. Play a game at Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail or stroll through Fort Toulouse/Jackson Park. Each room comes with an always clean and fresh Hampton bed(R) and complimentary WiFi to help you stay connected. Enjoy our free hot breakfast each morning, stay active in our fitness room, or stay productive at our 24 hour business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown Hotel Montgomery
Hampton Inn And Suites Montgomery-Downtown
Hampton Inn Montgomery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing