We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown
Ranked #6 of 72 Hotels in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel and Service”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I did not expect the level of service, decor and amenities I received when I checked into this Hampton Inn. It was by far one of the nicest experiences I have ever had from a hotel. The location of the hotel to downtown Montgomery is very good. I walked everywhere I wanted to go.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    182
    67
    41
    23
See reviews for
157
184
33
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
AL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We just returned from what was supposed to be a romantic overnight in Montgomery. What a disappointment! We had requested a room on an upper floor (when we made reservation) and were given the 3rd floor of a 12 story hotel (okay, I could live with this). We walked into the room & were surprised that all the blinds were drawn (since it was early aftenoon) but soon found out why. The room (307) faces a rooftop and a brick wall, the airconditioning system for the building, pipes, etc (see the photos). We immediately called the front desk & asked to be moved but were told the hotel was sold out. Okay, but it was early afternoon & everyone wasn't checked in yet so why coudn't we be moved a nicer view & they could give our rooom to someone checking in later? We were told they couldn't do that & the front desk clerk wasn't real nice about it either. I asked for a manager but apparently the manager doen't work on Saturdays....Unbelievable... when the hotel is sold out and there is absolutely no one to escalate a problem to. We decided to get out, walk around, have dinner,etc. That night when we returned to check what time they served the hot brkfst & what types of items they had....we were told it was served until 10 & they served omlets, sausage, waffles, cereal, etc. So....the next morning we went down for breakfast @ 9:20 (it wasn' crowded) & we were able to set our stuff down @ a table right away & make our coffee & get juice. My husband then went to make a waffle & I went to get an omlet. The 2 hot chafing dishes were empty (one said omlets & one said sausage). Since no one was there checking the food I went to the front desk & was told by Vera that it's too late to make more since it was almost 9:30 at this point & the breakfast ends @ 10 & the omlets a frozen & take about 20-30 minutes to make. So, the hot breakfast has the only 2 hot chafig dishes empty. Maybe if someone stayed by the food & kept checkin they would know when to put more in. Again I asked for a manager & was told she doesn't work on Sunday (guess she gets the whole weekend off) and no one is in charge. A good number of people coming in to breakfast after us were also complaining to no avail. So basically, I paid for a hotel stay which was supposed to include a hot breaksfast & had to leave the hotel & go eat. In March we stayed up in the Montgery area (just around the corner) at the Renaisannce & had a fantastic time & beautiful view of the water. I would highly recommend take your business to the Renaissance.

Room Tip: Avoid all inside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jersey717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Good Morning,

I appreciate your review of your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize that we were unable to accommodate you in the room change you requested when you first arrived to our hotel. I assure you that we do everything we can to provide our guests with the room location they request however; at times we do not have the availability due to room types already being occupied. That particular day our property was experiencing high occupancy with guest staying multiple nights that had checked in a day prior for a convention. In addition, I sincerely apologize if we fell short or your expectations during breakfast. I sincerely apologize if this may have caused you any inconveniences and assure you that I have spoken to our staff to that this does not occur in the future.

Once again, I apologize for the inconvenience and do hope that the next time you travel to the area you will consider staying with us again. If you have any further concerns please feel free to contact me directly at 334-265-1010.

Sincerely,

Brian L. Hass
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlee, Montana
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

This was one of the best in-town hotels I've stayed in recently as far as comfort, cleanliness, and service. The rooms, while not spacious, are updated and attractive. Beds great as always in Hilton properties. Bathroom clean and updated also. The lobby is large and comfortable, breakfast service good quality and easy to access. The service was impeccable - friendly, prompt, and helpful (except don't ask them how to rent a car. They don't know.)

The hotel's location is also ideal. It's a block from the riverfront and a couple of blocks from the start of historic sites along Dexter avenue, including the Montgomery Bus Boycott/Rosa Parks sites, Dexter Ave Baptist Church and the Alabama State Capitol. There are many restaurants and bars all around the hotel.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaBaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2013

couldn't be happier. Location good, restaurants, music close by. We had a really neat room laid out great... had a good Friday night rate too. Front desk wonderfully helpful. Valet parking a benefit, only thing was the $10 charge, but what the ....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank CharlieAndy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driftwood, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This Hampton Inn is located in the heart of downtown Montgomery in an historic building. The rooms are in outstanding shape and met the standard we have come to expect from Hampton Inn. We had a large group (15 rooms) for a wedding. The staff was extremely patient with the multitude of requests and were polite at every turn. There was a maintenance issue that was resolved quickly in spite of the issue happening on the fourth of July holiday. The hotel is located in an area adjacent to the Riverfront Park and the Montgomery Biscuits baseball stadium. There are numerous restaurants and bars within one block of the hotel so driving isn't required unless you want to go to one of the sites away from downtown. This is a hotel that I would happily book again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Burnett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This is a great location for most anything you could want to do in downtown Montgomery. I went to college in Montgomery and always stay at the downtown Hampton when I am back for events! The service is always up to par, and the price is pretty well managed for it being one of few hotels in the downtown area. Parking can be tough, so have an idea of where parking is around the property, because on the weekends it will be a struggle.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Alexander T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Excellent staff, clean hotel, lacl of hot water was resoved after one day and a refund of daily rate was awarded. Excellent breakfast frree of charge. Greta downtown location. Could use better parking

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Theotis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel & Montgomery Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Montgomery
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-East Chase
9.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eastchase Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown
Address: 100 Commerce St, Montgomery, AL 36104-2524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Montgomery
#10 Family Hotel in Montgomery
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of downtown Montgomery, this hotel is located in the fascinating historic district. Explore Montgomery's interesting history or treat yourself to an afternoon of shopping. Visit the Civil Rights Memorial & Center, admire the Confederate War Memorial, or walk the historic Selma to Montgomery National Historic Trail. This hotel in Montgomery also puts you within walking distance of the Hank Williams Museum, and just minutes from the Alabama Shakespeare Festival grounds. Play a game at Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail or stroll through Fort Toulouse/Jackson Park. Each room comes with an always clean and fresh Hampton bed(R) and complimentary WiFi to help you stay connected. Enjoy our free hot breakfast each morning, stay active in our fitness room, or stay productive at our 24 hour business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown Hotel Montgomery
Hampton Inn And Suites Montgomery-Downtown
Hampton Inn Montgomery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing