We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much potential…but that's all” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown
Ranked #6 of 71 Hotels in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
chicago,illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“So much potential…but that's all”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This place is in a great location in Montgomery and the rooms are great but that's where it all ends. Two nights in a row there has been no hot water and I have had to call downstairs for maintenance and wait 45 minutes to take a bath. We had wanted to watch the Preakness but couldn't find the TV station so we called downstairs and were told that the main stations had not been available since a storm two weeks prior to our stay…TWO WEEKS and they had still not fixed the TVs. The room to room phone system wasn't working properly so we called the front desk to ask for a room to room connection. The front desk person picked up the phone without any greeting and proceeded to have a long personal conversation with someone before she ever said "hello". I don't expect 5 star service at a Hampton Inn but one would expect some sort of proper training and care when it comes to basics like hot water, TV, and courtesy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chowbeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakresha D, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I am sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay. Thank you for your feedback regarding our water issues, and malfunction of the TV. We have addressed this issues with our maintenance team, however I apologize that it wasn't resolved sooner. I'm also sorry that our front desk team did not deliver a high quality service to you. Exceptional guest service is the foundation and your feedback will help us improve. We hope you will give our property a second chance if you return to the area. We would really love to have you back so we can show you what our Hamptonality is all about. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    170
    58
    37
    20
See reviews for
147
165
30
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Great service, good hot breakfast included in the price which is affordable. Great location- right off the highway and right in the center I things to do. The only problem we had was lack of cold water...to drink and to wash hands. Room was comfy and clean!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pucci787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

nice clean facility with historic past, centrally located, quiet large well appointed room. friendly staff, great breakfast buffet. But experienced serious plumbing issues and inadequate parking for the size of the facility.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

some particulars:

the location of the hotel is ideal to take advantage of the downtown area.

the staff were generally pleasant and helpful when needed.

the hotel was very clean and the shower was excellent as in all of the recent hampton remodels. the hot breakfast was straight-up like most of the others as well.

the one drawback was that in this hotel, the "deluxe" rooms (which are slightly more expensive) are actually larger only because they include extra space behind the elevator shaft. which is fine if you can get over the humming and vibrations of the elevator every 3 minutes. on top of that, the view was sweet. I believe we could see both the famed air conditioning unit AND the historic brick wall next door.

in short, I'm not one to ask for a new room so I lost the lottery on this trip but i know better not to go with the deluxe room on any future stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 5252orange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I can't think of anything bad to say about this hotel. The rooms are very spacious and ours even had a fridge and microwave. Beds super comfy, amenities and ambience very good. The standouts were the staff and the breakfasts (included with the room). The staff was always cheery, helpful and the epitome of Southern hospitality. The breakfast buffets were a pleasant surprise....ample and varied. A large array of breakfast breads and roles, waffles, hot and cold cereals, fresh fruit and two hot dishes which varied from day to day biut included an egg offering as well as meats and potatoes. Lots of good bnoutique restaurants around within walking distanced as well as the baseball stadium for the AA league ":Biscuits". Montgomery is a jewell of a city and I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dodyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, United States
Level Contributor
186 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Hampton Inn is in an excellent location, but parking at the hotel is limited. However, the valet parking is reasonable and very responsive. A variety of good restaurants and the professional baseball stadium is within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Charm, excellent service, and friendly staff - what more could you ask for in a hotel! I used to pay more and stay at a nearby hotel, but I will be a regular now at this Hampton Inn. The hotel is in a beautiful historic building, and the staff was so warm and welcoming. Great location downtown.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel & Montgomery Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Montgomery
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-East Chase
9.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eastchase Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown
Address: 100 Commerce Street, Montgomery, AL 36104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Montgomery
#10 Family Hotel in Montgomery
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of downtown Montgomery, this hotel is located in the fascinating historic district. Explore Montgomery's interesting history or treat yourself to an afternoon of shopping. Visit the Civil Rights Memorial & Center, admire the Confederate War Memorial, or walk the historic Selma to Montgomery National Historic Trail. This hotel in Montgomery also puts you within walking distance of the Hank Williams Museum, and just minutes from the Alabama Shakespeare Festival grounds. Play a game at Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail or stroll through Fort Toulouse/Jackson Park. Each room comes with an always clean and fresh Hampton bed(R) and complimentary WiFi to help you stay connected. Enjoy our free hot breakfast each morning, stay active in our fitness room, or stay productive at our 24 hour business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown Hotel Montgomery
Hampton Inn And Suites Montgomery-Downtown
Hampton Inn Montgomery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing