We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service, great breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown
Ranked #6 of 71 Hotels in Montgomery
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great location, great service, great breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We moved from another hotel to be closer to our son's location at the Air Force bases. This hotel was right in the line of travel between Maxwell and Gunter and very easy to drive either way. We also moved because there was no breakfast at the original hotel we booked, although that was my mistake. I didn't really think about what we wanted when booking, and breakfast would be a major help (not to have to travel to get it and not to have to spend more money for it.)
The breakfast varied from day to day in the type of eggs/omlet and bacon/sausage/ham that were offered, which was very nice. There was also a plentiful supply of other items to choose from (all kinds of cereal, yogurt, oatmeal, toast, English muffins, pastries,drinks, and the coffee was wonderful to boot! (Not all coffee is the same, even at nice hotels.) So we were very satisfied with the breakfasts and the service by the staff. The front desk staff was also very kind and helpful, as we requested towels changed every day (though not the bed).
It was also at a convenient location in downtown Montgomery, with several nice restaurants (SaZa's, Jalapeno’s in the Alley, and Wintzel's to name three) within 100 yards of the hotel.
We stayed on the 9th floor with a side view, not great but not bad, considering you're in a hotel, and if the view is what you came for, stay home. Still, it was comfortable in the room and there were the usual amenities plus an unexpected one. A large mirror was overlaid on the door of the small closet, which could be pulled to reflect into the bathroom mirrors for a full check of one's outfit before leaving.
All in all we were very satisfied with the hotel and the staff and wouldn't hesitate to come here again if we were in the area. Oh, did I mention the price? At least, during June, the price was very reasonable (90-100 per night for the week, plus tax of course). A great value because it included a wonderful breakfast.
One last thing, as you walk in the lobby, they have two pitchers of water with lemons in one and limes in the other, and glasses available to make yourself a refreshing drink if you so desire. A nice touch! Oh, and the beds (we had two queens) were very comfortable! They also had a restaurant in house but we never used it due to our schedule with family.

Room Tip: High rooms are probably quieter (they have 10 floors); they are in the downtown area after all and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    173
    60
    39
    21
See reviews for
147
170
33
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valley, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great location, poor condition of facility and food for price! Check in parking terrible. Service of employees were wonderful and they attempted to resolve the problems we had. Unfortunate there is no pool, but that is expected with location. Loudness and activity at night also expected with the location near bars and ballpark. But we heard fights and sirens all night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank sbmowery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianna, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great location to downtown Montgomery. Hotel renovations were very nice and the room was nice and clean. Continental breakfast was good. I wish check-in would be sooner than 3pm, but would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Brooke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Garden, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel is within walking distance of many attractions and restaurants in downtown Montgomery. The inside is clean and beautiful. Parking was slightly difficult, but once parked we had no need to visit the vehicle until time to leave. Staff was friendly and breakfast was good. Would stay there again if visiting the area again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was a stop over half way through our trip and we just picked this place based on reviews. Facility was very nice and the staff went above and beyond to provide excellent service. We plan to stay there again in our travels.


  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Cliff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Excellent historical hotel with modern convenience. Main lobby was beautiful. The service at the front desk and valet parking was wonderful. Enjoyed the delicious complimentary breakfast. Excellent location to downtown activities. We enjoyed our stay and will stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mulga, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel! The breakfast was awesome and I also enjoyed the fact that the location was just steps away from the event I was attending and the price of the hotel was very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tunya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montgomery hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Montgomery Downtown
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Montgomery Hotel & Spa at the Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel & Montgomery Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Montgomery
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-East Chase
9.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Eastchase Montgomery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown
Address: 100 Commerce Street, Montgomery, AL 36104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Montgomery
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Montgomery
#10 Family Hotel in Montgomery
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of downtown Montgomery, this hotel is located in the fascinating historic district. Explore Montgomery's interesting history or treat yourself to an afternoon of shopping. Visit the Civil Rights Memorial & Center, admire the Confederate War Memorial, or walk the historic Selma to Montgomery National Historic Trail. This hotel in Montgomery also puts you within walking distance of the Hank Williams Museum, and just minutes from the Alabama Shakespeare Festival grounds. Play a game at Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail or stroll through Fort Toulouse/Jackson Park. Each room comes with an always clean and fresh Hampton bed(R) and complimentary WiFi to help you stay connected. Enjoy our free hot breakfast each morning, stay active in our fitness room, or stay productive at our 24 hour business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Montgomery-Downtown Hotel Montgomery
Hampton Inn And Suites Montgomery-Downtown
Hampton Inn Montgomery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing