We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not book here on high capacity weekends!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Catalina Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Northport
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Do not book here on high capacity weekends!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Made reservations for two rooms five month's in advance for son's graduation from the University of Alabama. This is one of the most important night stays my wife and I will ever have in Tuscaloosa. When we called to see if we could get a portable bed added to one of the rooms because we had another person coming we were told that we had cancelled the rooms just last week which we had not. The hotel staff all but called us a liar when we said we had not. I guess the prices of the rooms have gone up substantially since we booked before Christmas and someone else was willing to pay more. After having this problem I saw another review where someone was billed twice. We were left scrambling to find another room just two weeks before graduation. Of course now there are not any available. Had to book a room 45 miles away. If the night is an important night to you like a ball game weekend or a weekend where there will be lots of people at the university then book somewhere else. Unfortunately I will never know if there rooms are nice or not so I cannot comment on that.

Room Tip: Book your room with another hotel since holding the reservations is a problem here on high capacity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricky768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catalinainn, Manager at Best Western Catalina Inn, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
It is the goal of the Best Western Catalina Inn to treat every guest with the highest regard, and each reservation with the utmost importance. It is NOT the policy of the hotel to cancel a guest's reservation and give it to "someone else willing to pay more," as has been assumed by this guest. While the situation is unfortunate, management does not feel that the hotel is at fault in this case. We understand the importance of a weekend like graduation, and we are pleased the guest was able to find accommodations elsewhere on such short notice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    51
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
69
23
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
memphis,tn, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

i will stay at this Best Western every time i go to Northport, AL.. If you stay at this Best Western, you can feel safe. Everyone was great. I will tell all my friends and anyone that asks where to stay in Northport, AL.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. louis, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

hotel is very nice, rooms are new and clean. staff was all very friendly. only problem i had was getting in and out of property because of the way the city has the road divided you cant make left turns just anywhere so depending on where i was coming from i would have to find a place to make a uturn and then another to get to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I travel throughout the state for my state job and this has become my favorite place to stay whenever I have to do business in the Tuscaloosa/Newport Area. The breakfast is not great, but the rooms are wonderful and the staff very friendly and helpful. There are several places to dine nearby and access to Highway 82, couldn't be easier.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 482curtish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Hotel was very clean. Staff was helpful but not overly e welcoming. Staff seemed to be a husband/wife team. They were not familiar with University of Alabama community which is 10 minutes from hotel. Room was small, but extremely clean. No fitness room is unfortunate. Stayed during Olympics and TV did not have NBC main chain, but did have CNBC in their channel line-up. Room was inexpensive so good value for the dollar. Purpose of our trip was to see UofA.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rush City, Minnesota, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

this is an older motel with drive-in rooms arranged around the parking lot. Access in and out of the motel is difficult as you have to drive behind the motel on a service road several blocks past the motel, then go back out onto the main road in front and drive down to the motel. The managers keep it up pretty well and it is clean, but it is a simple "only the basics" motel...good for a night or two on a business trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Good location at McFarland Blvd, easy to find, getting to the city was easy and fast. Excellent value for money, only excluding the breakfast ;) Very friendly staff. Clean rooms. Comfy bed :) Free WiFi Big room with everything needed (still) in good shape (except a heating system in the bathroom, maybe) Lots of free parking Numerous shopping and (quick) dining opportunities nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catalinainn, Manager at Best Western Catalina Inn, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northport
4.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University
2.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tuscaloosa Downtown University Boulevard
1.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Tuscaloosa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa
3.2 mi away
Hotel Capstone
Hotel Capstone
#5 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
306 reviews
5.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Tuscaloosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Catalina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Catalina Inn

Property: Best Western Catalina Inn
Address: 2015 McFarland Blvd, Northport, AL 35476-2920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Northport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Northport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Catalina Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Catalina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing