We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good and restful night's sleep.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Catalina Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Northport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Was on a family related trip to Tuscaloosa, and needed a nice and quiet place to stay for one night before embarking on a cross country road trip. My expectations were more than met by the Catalina Inn. The staff was pleasant and helpful, and the facilities were very well maintained.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Albert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Made reservations for two rooms five month's in advance for son's graduation from the University of Alabama. This is one of the most important night stays my wife and I will ever have in Tuscaloosa. When we called to see if we could get a portable bed added to one of the rooms because we had another person coming we were told that we had cancelled the rooms just last week which we had not. The hotel staff all but called us a liar when we said we had not. I guess the prices of the rooms have gone up substantially since we booked before Christmas and someone else was willing to pay more. After having this problem I saw another review where someone was billed twice. We were left scrambling to find another room just two weeks before graduation. Of course now there are not any available. Had to book a room 45 miles away. If the night is an important night to you like a ball game weekend or a weekend where there will be lots of people at the university then book somewhere else. Unfortunately I will never know if there rooms are nice or not so I cannot comment on that.

Room Tip: Book your room with another hotel since holding the reservations is a problem here on high capacity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Ricky768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catalinainn, Manager at Best Western Catalina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

It is the goal of the Best Western Catalina Inn to treat every guest with the highest regard, and each reservation with the utmost importance. It is NOT the policy of the hotel to cancel a guest's reservation and give it to "someone else willing to pay more," as has been assumed by this guest. While the situation is unfortunate, management does not feel that the hotel is at fault in this case. We understand the importance of a weekend like graduation, and we are pleased the guest was able to find accommodations elsewhere on such short notice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

i will stay at this Best Western every time i go to Northport, AL.. If you stay at this Best Western, you can feel safe. Everyone was great. I will tell all my friends and anyone that asks where to stay in Northport, AL.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

hotel is very nice, rooms are new and clean. staff was all very friendly. only problem i had was getting in and out of property because of the way the city has the road divided you cant make left turns just anywhere so depending on where i was coming from i would have to find a place to make a uturn and then another to get to the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I travel throughout the state for my state job and this has become my favorite place to stay whenever I have to do business in the Tuscaloosa/Newport Area. The breakfast is not great, but the rooms are wonderful and the staff very friendly and helpful. There are several places to dine nearby and access to Highway 82, couldn't be easier.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 482curtish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Hotel was very clean. Staff was helpful but not overly e welcoming. Staff seemed to be a husband/wife team. They were not familiar with University of Alabama community which is 10 minutes from hotel. Room was small, but extremely clean. No fitness room is unfortunate. Stayed during Olympics and TV did not have NBC main chain, but did have CNBC in their channel line-up. Room was inexpensive so good value for the dollar. Purpose of our trip was to see UofA.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

this is an older motel with drive-in rooms arranged around the parking lot. Access in and out of the motel is difficult as you have to drive behind the motel on a service road several blocks past the motel, then go back out onto the main road in front and drive down to the motel. The managers keep it up pretty well and it is clean, but it is a simple "only the basics" motel...good for a night or two on a business trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northport
4.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-University
2.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tuscaloosa Downtown University Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Capstone
Hotel Capstone
#5 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
321 reviews
19.1 mi away
Greystone Inn & Suites
5.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#20 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Catalina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Catalina Inn

Address: 2015 McFarland Blvd, Northport, AL 35476-2920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Northport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Northport
Price Range: £67 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Catalina Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Catalina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing