We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Opelika
Arlington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay and staff”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I had a wonderful stay at this location. I was there on business from 1/19/14 thru 1/22/14 and everyone on your staff was very friendly and helpful. I would like to say that Darby was the young lady that checked us in and she was so helpful and very sweet. She was very helpful in giving us tips on places to eat as well. The breakfast was really good and the hotel was spotless. Great job to the crew in Opelika, AL.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hello Jeannie L,

This is the second site I have read a review from you not including the email you also sent me. Thank you again for taking the time to let everyone know how much you enjoyed your stay. I can't begin to tell you how much we appreciate your visit. I know how precious time can be, so you taking the time to send multiple reviews does and will not go unrecognized. Thank you again. We hope to see you again soon.

Ellis Sanders
General Manager
334-749-5250
Ellis@mhgrp.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    36
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
53
14
9
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Wow~ as my teens like to remind me, I don't impress easily. Yet this HIExpress exceeded my expectations!!
I live nearby but needed a 1 night local stay. Usually we have a local 'preference' chain but I decided to venture out on Priceline. When I had difficulty completing the transaction online, I called the hotel directly and they were FANTASTIC. The rate was $8 higher than P.line but who cared after the customer service I received?!
This HIE is immaculately clean, contemporary updates and a very welcoming fireplace in lobby. There was even a managers reception for an hour with complimentary drinks/appetizers.
Once I used my keycard, I noticed that the actual room was small but well apptd and über clean. The beds were cozy and the pillows are FULL size (not a 1/2 size skimper)- Hooray!! Our room boasted a micro & fridge & the bathroom was spotless. Obviously these points count to our specific family. The location is RIDIC easy directly off exit 58 on I-85.
Trust me...the other 'preferred choice' of ours has now become the 2nd choice for quick stays in Auburn, Al area.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khmergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Hello Khmergirl,

I hope no one else takes offense to what I am about to write but I have to admit that your review is the best review I have ever read! Every positive review we receive shows that the hard work we put forth is showing, just as every negative review lets us know what we need to work on. The pillows you slept on are new to the brand and we are currently in the process of having all rooms converted to the pillows you enjoyed so much. We are also working on having Microwaves and mini Fridges placed in all guest room because important guest just like yourself deserve the best experience we can provide. Thank you so much for taking the time to give such a remarkable review! We hope to see you again soon and hope to be able to exceed your expectation every time! Please be sure to say hello on your next visit so that I my thank you in person. Thanks again and Happy New Year!

Ellis Sanders
General Manager
334-749-5250
Ellis@mhgrp.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed at the Opelika Holiday Inn Express across from Tiger Town on two different occasions within a week in December. We were completely satisfied with the hotel, the location, the personnel, and the breakfast. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Reception was very efficient and helpful, the facilities were clean and neat, and the location is very convenient to all of the restaurants, shopping, and everything else at Tiger Town. It's also fairly near Auburn.
The women that work the breakfast buffet were very personable, and the buffet itself was great. The scrambled eggs were perfect, and it was nice to have biscuits and grits (although instant). Waffles, sausage, cereal, bagels, toast, juice, and very good coffee too. We stall return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hwy1SouthNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellis S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Hello Hwy1SouthNC,

With the 2013 coming to an end I am extremely grateful to end this year knowing you had a great stay. It means a great deal to my team members and myself that every guest receives the best possible accommodations we can provide. We all strive to go above and beyond so its always a plus to know that great guest like yourself enjoyed their stay. I hope you will visit us again soon. Please ask for me when you do so that I may thank you in person. I hope you and your family have a wonderful New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Would like to thank Brittany who took our reservations & knowing she would not be available once we arrived on a date which was extremely busy(Auburn Iron Bowl) made certain whomever was at the front desk knew our situation & while in route I called on day of our arrival did not have to even explain things over again. In fact didn't even have to give my name I was simply asked once I asked for Brittany is this Mrs. Nicholson & once I replies yes she assured me she would do all she could to get us checked in early because I was traveling with 2 handicap people & that she could possibly get us in a room by 12:30 or 1:00 pm. We arrived at 10:30 am & I believe once she (Lauren)saw the challenges I was faced with & not wanting to leave my mom or husband in lobby because I was going to the game (who both are handicap) she went above & beyond to make things happen for us & I was able to leave by 12:00 pm feeling much better knowing I was able to see for myself that they were both comfortable & securely in our room. Even though Brittany assured me she would leave instructions & they would have enough help on that day for someone to assist them to the room should I have to leave before the room was ready there is nothing like taking care of your own yourself!!! Also everything I requested for our room was right on!!! Thank you so much Brittany & Lauren for making our stay stress free & comfy!! May God continue to bless you both!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley6616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My husband and I stayed for a wonderful Thanksgiving and game day weekend with our daughter who attends Auburn University. The room and bathroom were very clean, the bed extremely comfortable, the heat worked very well on a night when the temperature fell into the teens, and the WiFi connection super fast! The coffee was wonderful and breakfast as well as the breakfast staff better than average. The location is very convenient, just a few minutes from restaurants, shopping and campus. Very professional staff, always courteous and helpful, many thanks and kudos to Lauren, Ben, Justin, and Katy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed here a few nights to spend with my AU family for the Georgia game. Overall, the staff was helpful and the rooms were fine. It is located close to a shopping mall and the Interstate which makes it good for traveling to Auburn just up the road. Unfortunately, the hotel is located next to an active construction site of some type and the breakfast selection was somewhat lackluster. At the end of the day, it is a good value... just don't expect too much from it.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyW1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear RoyW1987,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

The bed was way too hard and the pillows were 4 - 1/2 sized pillows. Breakfast was typical of what you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express. The rooms were clean. The shower was nice. It was a corner unit without a bathtub, so there was no need for a shower curtain.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamar Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opelika
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Opelika
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Auburn Opelika
4.7 mi away
The Hotel at Auburn University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Auburn/Opelika Inn
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika
5.2 mi away
Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn
Address: 1801 Capps Lndg, Opelika, AL 36804-7509
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Opelika
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Opelika
#5 Business Hotel in Opelika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to Opelika Auburn, is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika-Auburn, Alabama! We are conveniently located on I-85 at exit 58, just a short drive to downtown Auburn and Opelika. With our world class service and many Opelika-Auburn businesses, restaurants and attractions within minutes from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Opelika-Auburn! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in-room amenities such as free wireless high-speed Internet access and 32 flat panel LCD TVs. We offer a variety of room types and suites to suit all travelers. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our indoor whirlpool, outdoor pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas and fitness center. Take advantage of some of our convenience amenities such as our guest laundry and complimentary Smart Start breakfast bar. Points of interest: Companies: Benteler, Donaldson, Briggs and Stratton, Gambro, Mando Hospitals: East Alabama Medical Center Universities: Auburn University AU Local attractions: Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail, Auburn Softball Complex, Chewacla State Park, Jordan Hare Stadium Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Opelika-Auburn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Opelika Auburn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing