We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average room for an overnight stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Opelika
Muldrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Average room for an overnight stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stopped here just to sleep and shower while traveling. Good service, friendly staff. The rooms are ok, clean but if you look you can find flaws. Bed ok, bathroom ok, breakfast is toast and cereal. Had a microwave and fridge in the room. I paid 50 for a king room, free wifi

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redlandfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    5
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
7
4
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

I usually stay near Auburn University or near Exit 58 on I85 during game-days but for the florida game I could not find rooms available in that area. So I checked with this for the first time.

During the reservation, I requested for a non smoking room but it was not available. So I was forced by myself to take the smoking room. When I checked in, the room was super clean and I felt like the room was never smoked before. Great beds, quiet place, free wi-fi and good free breakfast and I felt this room is really more than worth for the money I paid.

I really enjoyed my stay and this place is going to be my first choice for my future stays.

Room Tip: Inside corridor are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harideepan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alabama
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We have stayed here several times as Opelika is the next closest city to our Alma mater, Auburn Unversity. We spend over half as much money staying here, with a short drive to campus. Clean, wifi, continental breakfast. Owners are Aubur
Graduates!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happycat0965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

I was drawn by the Interstate billboards. $39/night?! Really? In 2011?

I was a little put off by appearances at first, but decided to pull in anyway. I am glad I did! The lady at the desk was extremely helpful. My room was nothing to brag about, but much more than I would expect for $39/night.

I don't know what the prior reviewer was talking about. For $39/night, you know you're not staying at the Sheraton. But this place was actually perfectly acceptable. If you're picky, you can choose to drive to drive through to Montgomery or Atlanta, but you're going to find yourself paying 3 to 4 times more for the exact same thing.

If I'm ever back in the area, I will make it a point to stop here again. What it loses in location, it more than makes up for in price!

There is a light breakfast served. A great opportunity to meet interesting people who appreciate a diamond in the rough like this Econo Lodge is!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

This was, by far, the WORST hotel I have ever stayed in. Disgusting. The second I walked in the room, the smoke was so bad that I ran to the side of the building and threw up. There was blood on the pillow and a cheeto under the comforter. We got up in the middle of the night because we could not stand the smell anymore and went and stayed somewhere else. We kept our door open while we were there because the smell was so bad. Dont dare turn on the sir, the smoke is in there also. The only good thing is the guy was nice and gave us a free rollaway bed, that we never used. Would NEVER recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allisondr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemson, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

Recommended: I stayed there during the football game of Auburn Vs. Clemson. The rooms were clean and neat. Even though i had reserved a smoking room due to non availability, the motel made sure my rooms was as good smelling as possible. They provided scented candles and air purifiers and it all worked. The frontdesk guy Rick was an Auburn fan but still was very helpful and jovial and made sure we were comfortable. Good place to be during games. Highly recommended,

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnyboy034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2009

Had to stop on my way to Florida for a conference and Econo Lodge @OPelika offered me the best price for the clean and spacious room with free continental break fast, internet service and it has good amount of TV channels too which suits all the age.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opelika
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Plus & Suites Opelika
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 16 in Opelika
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Opelika
Quality Inn Opelika
#7 of 16 in Opelika
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Opelika
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Auburn/Opelika Inn
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn Auburn University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1705 Columbus Pkwy, Opelika, AL 36804-5955
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Opelika
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Opelika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing