We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay, even if your not a golfer.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Opelika
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay, even if your not a golfer.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

Overall, great stay. Can never go wrong with a Marriott. Friendly and helpful staff. Plenty to do on site, although I could make a few more recommendations. The resort is out in the middle of nowhere, as most of them are...such as Point Clear. Not too far from shopping and restaurants. This is a great place and I hope to return again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stclair0932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    68
    32
    10
    8
See reviews for
72
56
8
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

During our many stays at this first class hotel we have always enjoyed the friendly, efficient and caring service provided by the staff. This hotel exemplifies the high standards of a Marriott property which we have come to enjoy. We look forward to many more visits to this beautiful, serene location.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AelRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

I stay at the hotel often and love it. The staff is great, the rooms are always clean and the price is always very competitive. I travel a lot and when I stay at this property I feel like I am in a nature preserve. I would rather stay at a peaceful hotel any day over one that is in a noisy downtown area or on the side of the interstate where you hear truck driving by all night. Its not a big deal at all to drive 10 minutes to get to the chain restaurants in Opelika.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

I stayed here for work for 2 nights when I was in the area and I can't say it was a terrible place, but I won't be staying again. First off, it is at least 15 minutes away from anything...restaurants, downtown, a CVS. Just nothing around it. The rooms were big and cozy if you have a big group with you but they were all dark lit, old carpet. The hotel hallways were all dark and looked like it hadn't been renovated for a while. The back pool area looked beautiful but it was to cold to try it out. I was given vouchers for free breakfast in the morning but there was never anybody in there. The vent in the bathroom had dust and I saw some small bugs walking around. Nothing was horrendous but I won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RIfratboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Beautiful property situated deep in a wooded area. The grounds were meticulously manicured. The lobby was very lodge like and welcoming. The area near the elevators on our floor lacked furniture and was very barren. Rooms are very nice and spacious but really lack character - the walls are mostly bare. Beds were comfortable - the way you'd expect since it is a Marriott property. Staff was very courteous and friendly. The golf course is the big draw here but not my reason for staying. They recently renovated and upgraded the outdoor space which is gorgeous. Great pool area!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

We were at the Grand National for our annual church marriage retreat and really enjoyed our stay. Everyone working there was very friendly - even the ladies cleaning the rooms were exceptionally friendly and made us feel very welcome.
The location was a good blend between being tucked away in the country, yet close enough to both Auburn and Opelika amenities that we had the best of both worlds.
The room was great and I loved the tub that had the built in back rest, etc.
The only issue we had was that we were in a connecting room and the folks next to us were a little loud - though we could also hear noise from the hallway, so a little more soundproofing might be in order for the rooms there, but otherwise it was a great stay overall!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisagv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Coffee was empty in lobby and nobody seemed to care. I needed two spoons for the cereal I purchased in gift shop, but no spoons. Gal seemed helpless to solve it. So I went to resteraunt downstairs. Place was a disaster. Understaffed or just slow help. Waited for ten minutes and nobody would help me. I finally just left frustrated. Nice place facility wise, one star service at best. Seems that management is absent or clueless. Not sure if I will come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pruedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opelika
6.6 mi away
The Hotel at Auburn University
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Opelika
10.1 mi away
Courtyard Auburn
Courtyard Auburn
#3 of 17 in Auburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn
4.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Auburn Opelika
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National

Property: Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National
Address: 3700 Robert Trent Jones Trl, Opelika, AL 36801-1118
Region: United States > Alabama > Opelika
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Opelika
#3 Romantic Hotel in Opelika
#4 Family Hotel in Opelika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the award-winning Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail, Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National is on par with the nation's most distinctive facilities and accommodations. Nestled on 2,000 acres of lakefront countryside, we are an exceptional golf and business retreat located in the quaint, historic town of Opelika. Our property is situated on the shores of Lake Saugahatchee, offering a peaceful and serene atmosphere and featuring access to 54 holes of championship golf. Escape from ordinary Auburn, Alabama, hotels and indulge in our spacious guest rooms with complimentary high-speed Internet access and stunning views from your own private balcony. Guests love the swimming pools, fitness center and on-site dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Auburn Opelika At Grand National Hotel Opelika
Marriott Opelika
Opelika Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing