We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Opelika
Certificate of Excellence
Prattville, Alabama
Level Contributor
195 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“What a cool pool!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

We decided to take our kids and a friend each to this hotel just for the fun of the pool. We only live an hour away but the kids think it is a true vacation. The front desk staff was very warm and welcoming as was the pool and bar staff. Our room was very clean and typical of a Marriot. The only problem I had was the smell in our room at arrival. In an effort to be "green" and save energy, the air conditioning will not turn on until the room is occupied. Therefore, it had a musty smell. Since we spent all day at the pool, the air never came on and the musty smell remained. I think they should leave the air on in order to keep it fresh. Our kids thoroughly enjoyed the pool. At night, the pool is even better. I would highly recommend this hotel even with the musty smell. Just take febreeze. Just so you will know, this is a resort and outside food and drink as well as coolers are not allowed at the pool. They will provide ice water for free but the Auburn water tastes a little weird. Be prepared.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wtpoohb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, Manager at Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for the review. The pool has been a big hit and it's great to see you utilize our hotel as a "staycation" for your family. As you mentioned, the thermostats do wait to come on until someone is in the room. On your next visit, please let us know if you would like for us to override this for you and we will be glad to do so. The water taste issue has been resolved by the city and you should notice a big improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    69
    32
    10
    8
See reviews for
73
58
8
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
231 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

My wife and I stayed again in this hotel. The staff here are very helpful and friendly and are eager to please you. The rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable and the new water park is very nice. Breakfast buffet is plentiful and good. This is a great place to stay and it is our third time to do so. We will be back

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jthomas1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, Manager at Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelham, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

It was very enjoyable to stay here. I will do it again when I am visiting my family. The road that leads to the hotel is breath taking. It was extremely quiet for a good night sleep. The coffee in the main lobby was available 24/7. The dining had a pleasant atmosphere and the service was extremely good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlessokowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, Manager at Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are blessed with a beautiful location. I hope that you are able to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We were brought to the Grand National as part of a wedding weekend. The wedding reception was held at the hotel, so it was naturally where we stayed as out of town guests. There were many fine things about the hotel, and a few minor hiccups that we found odd. Mother Nature did not play nice during our weekend as it rained constantly, but there is little that anyone can control about that fact.

For starters, the staff was outstanding. Everyone was warm, friendly, and very helpful. We loved that they had free valet parking. The outside amenities were amazing; we understand they are quite new, and they are impressive. The restaurants on site were very good, and not ridiculously priced, which is nice considering you are a captive audience. The sit down restaurant serves breakfast and dinner, and the poolside restaurant serves lunch.

Some things we found odd, or surprising, during our stay:
- In order to play Pickleball (not sure how that name came about), you can sign out the paddles, but they make you buy the ball.
- In order to play in the billiards room, which has a pool table and a poker table, you have to pay $18 per hour. This was highway robbery as far as we were concerned, but when its raining all day and you're desperate for things to do with your 8 year old, we succumbed to paying for a half hour.
- Mattress in our room was definitely lumpy.
- This is nit-picky, but there are all kinds of necessary minor repairs within the hotel. Door handles come to mind. Nothing is so broken that it is unusable, but lots of small items are in need of basic maintenance. Given the stellar outside amenities this hotel offers, we were surprised to find these kinds of things on the inside.

We would return to this site, especially in good weather and with our golf clubs. We are told the courses are quite nice and we would look forward to exploring that side of this resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaretf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, Manager at Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback. I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. So sorry about the rain. Unlike many resorts, play on our tennis courts and pickleball courts are free! We also provide free racquets and paddles if you did not bring your own. We do charge for the balls though as they are yours to keep. Our billard room is also very popular. The rental price is set by comparing the price to other local billard rooms and that price is competitive. We will continue to work on those other maintenance items that you mentioned. I hope that you're able to come back and try the golf courses out. They are great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We spent one night at the hotel for a quick golf getaway. The location to the RTJ trail courses at Grand National is excellent. I agree with other reviewers that the rooms at this property are not what we have come to expect of a Marriott resort. They are in serious need of updating. By contrast the exterior pool, outdoor bar and brand new tennis courts are great. The inside and the building exterior just need to match what has been done on the outside. We ate dinner at the outside bar and it was very good. The breakfast buffet was typical of the other Marriott resorts we have stayed at. There are no other resort options in this area, so this is the only property of its type in the area.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JPR2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, Manager at Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for providing a review. We are very proud of all of the new outdoor amenities that we have added. Room upgrades are scheduled as well. Refrigerators were just added to each room and there will be more improvements coming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arab, Alabama
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

After experiencing the Marriott at Grand National with the new water features and tennis courts, I am having difficulties deciding whether or not to share the info with others because I am afraid things might get crowded if the secret gets out.
Upon arrival my family was greeted with the warmest welcome. Dante the Bellman made us feel like we were his most important guests from the moment we exited our vehicle. When we got to the reservation desk, the feeling continued (Gloria and all of the desk area staff were exceptional). EVERY employee that we experienced over our 4 days here went far beyond the normal treatment and exhibited Southern hospitality the way it is supposed to be.
Now for the lowdown on the recreation overhaul. The new water features were an absolute hit with my wife and daughter. The new tennis courts looked outstanding. The facility also has complimentary bikes with plenty of room to ride. The golf courses are outstanding with reasonable rates for the quality of the courses. Ok, here goes the secret that I found out while I was here (I am VERY reluctant to share this), the Marriott has a stocked pond on their property that they allow fishing for their guest (there is also a large lake intermingling the golf course that AL licensed fishers can fish in). When I found this out, I called a friend that was coming down the next day and got them to bring my tackle box and fishing poles. Yes, it was hot, but the fishing was good even in the middle of the day. So what does all of this mean? Mom and daughter were very happy playing in the water play area, Dad was thrilled with all of his options, especially fishing, and 16 year old son cannot wait to have the opportunity to go because he missed all of the fun while at an Auburn Camp.
The rooms were large and the bathroom included both shower and seperate tub. Although they may not be as up to date as I would like, the staff, amenities and the options MORE than compensated for the less than stellar rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher level floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lwalker1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, Manager at Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay. The fishing pond is a new feature that we haven't promoted very much, but I'm glad that you enjoyed it. Thnak you for the comments regarding our staff as well. We think we have the best staff anywhere! I look forward to having you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed in a room on 2nd floor. We were there for a golf weekend. They were at 23% occupancy so surprised they didn't move us up floors. Room was okay but had three broken light switches and the AC didn't work. The sheets elastic was so stretched they wouldn't stay on the bed. We asked to have them changed but had the same problem the next night. I am sure they would have moved us if we asked but we were tired and in bed at the end of each day when we were discovering the short comings.

Pool is great especially if you have kids. They have all the other amenities you would expect but not up to usual Marriott standards on the room.

If we went back I would check the room more carefully before I settled in.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Carrolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, Manager at Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
I apologize for the problems that experienced. There is no excuse for the maintenance problems that encountered in your room. We certainly would have been glad to move you to a different room, but I understand if you did not wish to. We will certainly work harder to make sure that this doesn't occur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opelika
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Opelika
6.6 mi away
The Hotel at Auburn University
10.1 mi away
Courtyard Auburn
Courtyard Auburn
#3 of 17 in Auburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika
4.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Auburn Opelika
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National

Property: Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National
Address: 3700 Robert Trent Jones Trl, Opelika, AL 36801-1118
Region: United States > Alabama > Opelika
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Opelika
#3 Romantic Hotel in Opelika
#4 Family Hotel in Opelika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the award-winning Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail, Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National is on par with the nation's most distinctive facilities and accommodations. Nestled on 2,000 acres of lakefront countryside, our Auburn hotel's exceptional golf and business retreat is located in the quaint, historic town of Opelika. Our property is situated on the shores of Lake Saugahatchee, offering a peaceful and serene atmosphere and featuring access to 54 holes of championship golf. Escape from ordinary hotels in Auburn, AL and indulge in our spacious guest rooms with complimentary high-speed Internet access and stunning views from your own private balcony. Guests love our swimming pools, fitness center, and on-site dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Auburn Opelika At Grand National Hotel Opelika
Marriott Opelika
Opelika Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing