We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Opelika
Certificate of Excellence
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great weekend getaway”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed at this property recently and I'd have to say they have put a nice touch to this hotel. The pool area has been expanded and they have added a water slide and some other things for the kids. This was a pretty quiet weekend and found the pool area, even with kids to be pretty relaxing. They do have an adults-only pool, but being only steps away from the other pool it doesn't make much difference in the atmosphrere. The food in the restaurants was very good, not great, but the poolside bar was a nice area to relax and unwind and dine on bar food type choices..

Room Tip: Request a pool view room and I'd suggest that you request a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, Manager at Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for being our guest at the Marriott. Guests are really loving that pool. Thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    73
    32
    10
    8
See reviews for
77
60
8
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Great staff, great facilities, lots to do. We just had a one night getaway with our 4 kids, and it was perfect. The pools are great, the pickleball courts were fun, staff is friendly without pestering. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, Manager at Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for the great comments. Our pool is great for summertime fun, but don't forget that we have lots to do in the winter as well. The tennis center is open, great golf, and miles of hiking trails also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne, AL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This was our first visit to this property in Opelika. We wanted to go to the Marriott in Point Clear, but it was not avaialable for the dates we wanted, so we decided to go here due to the reputation of the golf courses. My wife is a teacher, and she gets a nice discount at properties owned bt the Retirement System of Alabama, so we paid $99 per night for our 3 night stay. The property is a fairly remote area, a nice drive up through the forest to the hotel. The hotel itself is fairly ordinary, clean, but nothing special. People who go here are there for golf, or a meeting of some sort. We had a first floor room with 2 queen beds for my wife, 13 year old son, and myself. The room was typical Marriott quality; clean and comfortable. Oddly, there was no fridge or microwave in the room, which would have been helpful.
The staff is courteous, and well-trained. Paul, the shuttle driver, was particularly nice, friendly, and helpful. We took the ride into Auburn one evening, and ate at Hamilton's, which was quite pricey, and of average quality. The big problem was the drinking water! We sat down to dinner our first night there, and the waiter brought 3 glasses of ice water. All three of took a drink, and about spit across the table! The water smelled foul and tasted like it had soap or something in it. We complained to the young man waiting on us, and he told us that something was wrong with the water supply to the hotel property, and someone from the Opelika Water System was coming out to check it out the following week! Okay, but when we requested bottled water, we were charged $2.00 each for it! The ice in all the machines was also nasty, and would ruin a drink of any kind.
Our meals were okay, about on par with what you might expect from say Applebee's, but almost twice as much. The Fairways Sports bar was closed, and the game room with a pool table and poker table was locked up, but you could use it for $18 per hour. There are bicycles available for free however.
The pool is okay, but really designed for small and young children. The "adult pool area" is okay, but people have to walk through there to get to the indoor pool and hot tub.
The golf courses are worth the trip. The Lakes course is beautiful, and very challenging. Bring plenty of balls. The "short course" is a great bargain, and also very challenging, and can be played in 2-3 hours.
Overall, I'd give this resort a B-, but if you are a serious golfer, this place is for you.

Room Tip: our ground floor room was very convenient by being able to park in front of it, and was quiet as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, Manager at Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for writing a review of the property. The water problem that you mention was an unfortunate problem that existed throughout the city for a couple of weeks. Thankfully, the city was able to correct the problem. We should have provided you with complimentary bottled water and we have addressed that with our staff. By the way, we have added refrigerators to our rooms since your visit. I hope you have the opportunity to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis tn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Checked in at 8pm the room was about 15 degrees warmer than hallway. We left the room made sure air was on 65 with balcony door closed and came back an hour and fifteen minutes later and the air was off and the interior of room was 83. It was 77 outside. Called the desk and got the VIP override so the motion detector thermostat would not turn off as soon as we went to bed. It is now 4 am and the room is down to 74. Just a warning before you book....

Room Tip: Room 422 is not a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFR1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, Manager at Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Our thermostats are designed to only cool the rooms when the room is occupied. There are sensors throughout the room that detect when someone is in the room. This helps to prevent energy waste and is good for the enviroment. This is just one of many "green" initiatives that the hotel is proud to participate in. The thermostat should have cooled the room faster than you report though, once you were in the room. We will definitley have our staff check your particular thermostat. I apologize for any inconvenience and appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prattville, Alabama
Level Contributor
195 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

We decided to take our kids and a friend each to this hotel just for the fun of the pool. We only live an hour away but the kids think it is a true vacation. The front desk staff was very warm and welcoming as was the pool and bar staff. Our room was very clean and typical of a Marriot. The only problem I had was the smell in our room at arrival. In an effort to be "green" and save energy, the air conditioning will not turn on until the room is occupied. Therefore, it had a musty smell. Since we spent all day at the pool, the air never came on and the musty smell remained. I think they should leave the air on in order to keep it fresh. Our kids thoroughly enjoyed the pool. At night, the pool is even better. I would highly recommend this hotel even with the musty smell. Just take febreeze. Just so you will know, this is a resort and outside food and drink as well as coolers are not allowed at the pool. They will provide ice water for free but the Auburn water tastes a little weird. Be prepared.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wtpoohb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, Manager at Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for the review. The pool has been a big hit and it's great to see you utilize our hotel as a "staycation" for your family. As you mentioned, the thermostats do wait to come on until someone is in the room. On your next visit, please let us know if you would like for us to override this for you and we will be glad to do so. The water taste issue has been resolved by the city and you should notice a big improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
231 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My wife and I stayed again in this hotel. The staff here are very helpful and friendly and are eager to please you. The rooms are clean, quiet and comfortable and the new water park is very nice. Breakfast buffet is plentiful and good. This is a great place to stay and it is our third time to do so. We will be back

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jthomas1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, Manager at Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelham, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

It was very enjoyable to stay here. I will do it again when I am visiting my family. The road that leads to the hotel is breath taking. It was extremely quiet for a good night sleep. The coffee in the main lobby was available 24/7. The dining had a pleasant atmosphere and the service was extremely good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlessokowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay P, Manager at Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are blessed with a beautiful location. I hope that you are able to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opelika
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Opelika
6.6 mi away
The Hotel at Auburn University
10.1 mi away
Courtyard Auburn
Courtyard Auburn
#3 of 17 in Auburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn/Opelika
4.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Auburn Opelika
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Opelika Auburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National

Property: Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National
Address: 3700 Robert Trent Jones Trl, Opelika, AL 36801-1118
Region: United States > Alabama > Opelika
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Opelika
#3 Romantic Hotel in Opelika
#4 Family Hotel in Opelika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the award-winning Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail, Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National is on par with the nation's most distinctive facilities and accommodations. Nestled on 2,000 acres of lakefront countryside, our Auburn hotel's exceptional golf and business retreat is located in the quaint, historic town of Opelika. Our property is situated on the shores of Lake Saugahatchee, offering a peaceful and serene atmosphere and featuring access to 54 holes of championship golf. Escape from ordinary hotels in Auburn, AL and indulge in our spacious guest rooms with complimentary high-speed Internet access and stunning views from your own private balcony. Guests love our swimming pools, fitness center, and on-site dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auburn Marriott Opelika Hotel & Conference Center at Grand National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Auburn Opelika At Grand National Hotel Opelika
Marriott Opelika
Opelika Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing