We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graduate School Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Opelika
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Opelika
Huntington Beach
1 review
“Graduate School Trip”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Staff was wonderful and helpful. Location made getting around easy. The amenities in the room were really nice to have. Hotel is older and could use a face lift. Bring your own pillows - theirs are fairly flat.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukhpreetKaurPreet, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Opelika, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
We at the Travelodge Opelika City care about your satisfaction before and during your stay.
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to post a review on this site. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. We continuously working on improving our motel's amenities. I put this pillows on our priority list. • We hope see you soon in future.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis.
Please note that potential guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the addresses/number listed above the photo of Travelodge Opelika City above.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    13
    21
    9
    21
See reviews for
27
14
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PHENIX CITY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Bedding stained w/ burned cigarette holes, thnk goodness I brought my own comforter
Bugs crawling on wall (a big no no)
Maid knocking on window 2hrs before checkout
No wake-up call as requested

No lightbulbs in any light fixture

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank KELLIE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukhpreetKaurPreet, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Opelika, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
We at the Travelodge Opelika City care about your satisfaction before and during your stay.
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to post a review on this site. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition,please know that your comments and issues will be addressed - with the front desk as well as the maintenance department. We have Pest Control company comes and sprays against Bugs every week. We believe we do everything in our power, but sometimes luggage that has come through previous hotels may carry them.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

Guests can now call/e-mail/visit us at the address/number listed under the Travelodge photo above.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We were tired and desperate for a place to sleep, and needed someplace pet friendly. I was hesitant to stop here and expected the worst, but it wasn't as bad as I thought. There were a couple of shady people hanging around the courtyard smoking cigarettes late at night when I took my dog out to walk, but I didn't have any problems. The bathroom was much better than expected and looked to have been recently remodeled. The beds were so-so, but weren't the worst I've ever slept on. The location was pretty quiet, despite being right beside the interstate. The night desk clerk was polite. The room seemed pretty clean. Overall, I wasn't too disappointed considering what I paid for the room. If you just need a place to lay your head and take a shower, this should fit the bill.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strngelitlgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukhpreetKaurPreet, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Opelika, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
We at the Travelodge Opelika City care about your satisfaction before and during your stay.

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to post a review on this site. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that we continuously renovating our motel. We did renovate our Bathrooms recently, which you mentioned. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay.

Please note that potential guests can now call/e-mail/visit us directly at the addresses/number listed above the photo of Travelodge Opelika City above.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Opelika hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Opelika
Quality Inn Opelika
#8 of 17 in Opelika
147 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Opelika
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 17 in Opelika
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Best Western Auburn/Opelika Inn
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Plus & Suites Opelika
3.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Auburn Opelika
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Opelika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Opelika

Property: Magnuson Hotel Opelika
Address: 1002 Columbus Pkwy, I-85 & US 280, Opelika, AL 36801-5942 (Formerly Travelodge Opelika)
Region: United States > Alabama > Opelika
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Opelika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Opelika 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Opelika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing