We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sugar Beach #321”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sugar Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sugar Beach
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Orange Beach
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sugar Beach #321”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

3 bedroom/2 level unit. Tile throughout which was nice. Simple but nice decor. A couple doors (i.e. bathroom) were broken and wouldn't latch. This was our first time to the Alabama gulf coast and we quite liked it. We look forward to a return. The beach was nice but there was a fair amount of trash; not sure if that was normal or a consequence of tropical storm Lee which paid us a visit. The complex requires all cars to purchase a parking pass.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank craigbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    24
    18
    10
    18
See reviews for
50
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed in a studio condo towards the front of the complex.
This complex is gulf front, but our condo was a side view. We loved the location in Orange Beach--have fallen in love with this area, as it is not as crowded and developed as many places along the gulf coast. There was a storm during our stay--so the water was not as clear as we would like, waves were big, and it rained a lot--but we also know that everyday is a new day on the beach. Certainly, every week is new.
Our room could use a remodel and a very good cleaning. It was adaquate and we would stay there again but it had several small issues. The bottom line was--bed was comfortable and air was cold. I dont require a lot. In comparison, this unit was very inexpesive--so we tend to over look a lot when we feel we have a bargain.
Nothing is provided--no towels, no kitchen towels,cleaners, etc. The kitchen was stock at a bare minimum. Several things in kitchen needed repaired--dishwasher was not bolted in, ice maker didnt work, cabinets were warped and not very clean inside. While on the balcony, you had to turn off ac to avoid heat and noise put out by unit. Carpet seemed dirty.
The complex has a neat set up--with 4 pools (one being a kiddy pool) and a nice snack bar that serves food, snacks, drinks.
To the west, there is one condo complex and a group of houses/duplexes and then a state park begins and about 2 miles down is the pier. We walked to the pier and back one night.
I scored this an average b/c I feel there is room for improvement with the particular condo we stayed in--however, I would stay there again. We have stayed in much nicer condos, but we have also paid a lot more.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank arkiegirl3773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

My husband and i just returned from a 4day stay at Sugar Beach 243! The condo itself if very nice. A previous reviewer stated that it was very dim lit, i think they must have reviewed the wrong unit as the lighting was fine!! The unit has a gulf view; however, it is right above the pool so it can be noisy! It was high season so this was expected! The AC Unit is on the balcony so in order to enjoy the view without the noise and heat from the AC we had to shut off the unit when we were outside.
The room has a king bed that is really comfy but could use a new comfortor as it is showing it's age. The sheets and the comfortable were both clean though..
The kitchen is very nice and has plenty of dishes and utensils to use if you like to cook while you are at the beach. The kitchen really was a hit for us as it was stocked with anything we need to cook with as well as granite countertops and new cabinetry that made it even more pleasant.
The Sugar Beach condos are very old in comparison to many of the places in Orange Beach and i can see how one unit could possible be way better than others if they had not been renovated like 243 clearly has been.
The interior of the building is very dimly lit with no air conditioning. It reminded me of a college dormitory! It was fine considering we had a great little studio overlooking the ocean.
I was not as impressed with the beach!! Everyone said to expect blue water but that is just not the case in Orange Beach. The water was the same color as the lakes we have here in TN! It was not bad just not what folks led us to believe we would be experiencing! The beach is not well maintained and folks leave their beach gear overnight in piles!! Really weird and simply a mess! Lots of cigarette butts and trash on the beach as well. Even though our condo interior was very nice I will likely chose a different beach than Orange beach in the future!!! There are nicer and cleaner beaches with nicer accomodations than Orange Beach!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tjaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

I think the key to booking at this property is to make sure you are in a recently renovated condo. I was a little worried that a trip to the beach over the 4th of July weekend would result in crowded pools and noise, but I was pleasantly surprised.

There are 3 large pools and a kiddie pool here so there was plenty of room to spread out and plenty of chairs available. The Sugar Shack by the pool makes excellent frozen drinks and you are right on the beach, so no driving.

As for the condo, we rented a 1 bedroom. The bedroom was upstairs, which allowed for a little privacy when you also have someone sleeping on the fold out sofa.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank atlfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

The complex is nice with 3 pools, excellent location, and good parking. However, we viewed several pictures online of the condos here and selected the option for the cheapest 4-night stay. To say the least, we got what we paid for! Our room, #157, wreaked of an old must. It still had the original blue carpet and blue/white tile that was sticky. The refrigerator was very outdated with a dent in the door and rust covering the handles. The bathroom had a "sanitized for your protection" sign on it, right beside a previous guest's hair still adorning the tub. The barstools had ivory cushions with yellow/brown stains covering them. The walls were banged up with scratches and part of the ceiling was peeling off. We could hardly relax to lie in the bed at night and ended up covering the pillow cases with our beach towels to hide the smell. Other units we saw looked normal and nice. Seems that we got the worst unit in the complex!

Room Tip: Many units here looked great! Ask to see pictures!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank T_N_Lane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Orange Beach hotels

Evansville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

Everything was _nice and clean_ and kitchen was _well_ furnished! Nice view of the beach (on the side of the condo). Would definitely go back to Sugar Beach Condos. Not as busy a location as I would imagine further east or west. Rented chairs and umbrella on beach. Very pleasant stay. Thank you to the condo owners for a nice place to stay when not on the beach! Slept better there than at home!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keetersmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Pitiful. The unit we rented was pitiful. Nasty upholstery on barstools, molded shower curtain, nasty mat in shower, hairs on bathroom floor, mold on bathroom floor, remote that didn't work, needed to be renovated. It didn't stink and the ac worked well. SO not worth $250 a night! Wish I could post pictures.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joybr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
#10 of 20 in Orange Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
2.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach

Property: Sugar Beach
Address: 23044 Perdido Beach Blvd., Orange Beach, AL 36561
Region: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Sugar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Orange Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing