We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
42
30
21
10
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
30
21
10
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kiddie pool older place the kitchen the security guard washer dryer stayed nights great amenities enjoyed our stay bedroom beach elevator court tennis vrbo
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

First, this is not a hotel- it is a condo complex, so know that each unit is individually owned. This is important to know when reading reviews, because not every condo is kept up to the same standards due to having individual owners.
The complex itself is good. It sits on the beach, so very convenient. There are 4 pools, a tennis court, and a snack shop. Overall, the complex was clean, as were the pools. There is a security guard on site all the time, and we felt safe our entire stay. We rented unit 304, a small 1 bedroom. It was not a beach view- it overlooked the tennis court. The unit itself was nicely updated and clean. It had a washer/dryer in the unit, which was so convenient. We were also near the street, but our condo had fairly new sliding doors to the balcony that did a very good job of buffering noise.
As for the building itself, it's kind of dark and 'institutional' feeling. However, this is one of the buildings that survived Ivan, so I guess it was built for strength, not aesthetics. Also, we went to the beach to be on the beach, not in a condo ;)
We will definitely be back to sugar beach!! It's very family friendly, close to everything, and well priced. Check it out!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

Condo smells and has no working ice maker. Beds are lumpy and make loud noises when you sit on them. Refrigerator light does not work so have to use the stove light to see inside. The hallways seem like a prison with exposed pipes. Several light fixtures do not work. The smell inside my unit is very bad. With as much money as they charge you would they would spend 100 bucks and fix it up. Ridiculous....no ice and the beds are horrible

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Not sure where to begin. The place was ghetto. Our unit had a window unit in the window and the washing machine would not work without something heavy sitting on top of it (my purse). The dishes and floor were dirty. The remote to the TV was broken. The water pressure is horrible and the drain in the bath takes forever to drain. For the amount of money we paid to stay there I couldn't believe how crappy it was. We left early.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Danielle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Sugar Beach is a Condominium Complex and is perfect place to bring your family for a nice beach vacation. There is a guard at the entrance, with parking being shaded under the building. There are two elevators, with carts provided for your unloading/loading of all your belongings. There are 4 swimming pools, a tennis court, 4 gazebos, a bbq area with picnic tables, lounge chairs, and a small food establishment .. the Sugar Shack. They serve hot dogs, hamburgers, nachos, candy, drinks, and also adult beverages! It is an extremely clean condo complex with so many amenities, including the beautiful white sandy beaches of Orange Beach, Alabama!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LilMis02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

Great little studio condo. Beautiful beach, pools, and sun deck. Great place to stay at orange beach. The condo and overall was super clean and well maintained. The sugar shack was a added bonus with delicious drinks. Recommend this for a economy vacation

Stayed: June 2016
2  Thank H9749QVjohnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews