We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sugar Beach - excellent location!”
Review of Sugar Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sugar Beach
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Orange Beach
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We just returned from four days at Sugar Beach condos.

First the good: Location, Location and Location! The condo complex is next to the State Park so it's not on the crowded high-rise end of the beach. The beach, pools and beach bar were all terrific. The management provides nice cushioned lounge chairs and umbrellas on the beach and the pools have plenty of chairs and coverage as well. The pools were very clean. The beach is suffering from the effects of the oil spill but the local clean up crews were really going above and beyond to keep the beach in shape for sunbathing. The entire time we were there, the double red flags were flying and the water was technically closed. The beach was practically deserted the first two days but on Friday the sun was out and people were in the water (not more than knee deep though) - the 'sheen' from the oil seen on Wed and Thurs was not present on Friday. Tarballs are on the beach at the high water mark, but paths have been cleared and if you are careful, you won't step on any of them. Going back from the beach on the boardwalk to the condos, the management has put out buckets of cleaning solution for you to scrub your feet if you have oil on them. A word of warning, don't take any sandals that you want to keep onto the beach with you. I ruined a nice pair the first day as the oil just doesn't come off. I'd suggest you stop at Walgreen's and buy some $1 flip flops to get you to/from your condo to/from the beach. We tossed ours out at the end of the visit.

Now, the cautionary part - each unit is independently owned so ask for photos in advance of your actual unit. Our unit was only adequate in terms of comfort and amenities provided. Poor quality sheets and towels as well as a washing machine that did not drain. There were pistachio shells under the bed and the blinds were broken. Also the mattresses were pretty hard. I usually cook when we go on vacation as I like to get local produce/fish and make something fun, however, the kitchen was poorly appointed so we just ate out the entire time. I think the unit was overpriced - $250 per night. In this economy with vacancy rates of nearly 50%, it was just out of line. The Gulf Coast is begging visitors to come and bring their tourist dollars. We did that and it would have been nice to feel we weren't been overcharged in the process.

We still had a great time and the location made up for any issues that might have come up. Our experience with the rental agency staff was great - Cassandra and Amber really went out of their way to make our stay pleasant.

I would recommend Sugar Beach but as I said, just be cautious and ask for details on your specific unit.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OffWeGo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2010

This place was right on the Gulf and three pools within walking distance. The only bad thing was the bed, It was extremely hard and myself and my partner both had back pains from the hard bed. Great place and hope to go back next year. Great places to eat.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klighthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

The building seems a tad outdated but the room we rented was accomdating and sufficient as well as well furnished. The facility is accomodating with carts readily available to help get your things to and from your room. There are 3 swimming pools and 1 baby pool to choose from which helps keep them from being overcrowded. There is also a snack bar on hand for those in need also. Not a bad place over all and would suggest it to others with a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loukycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

We decided to stay once again at Orange Beach and picked Sugar Beach condos. We have stayed there many times. The condo we stayed in was an efficiency which is perfect for just the two of us and it was just 'remodeled'. Well much to MY disappointment:
1. Low lightening you couldn't even see in the bathroom. Loud, very loud fan in the bathroom. Dirty floor mats in the bathroom.
2. Kitchen, LOW lighting. No decent cookware. 1 Hand towel and 1 dish colth to do dishes.
3. Dishwasher was a piece of crap.
4. Only condo without a 'TABLE' on baloncy.
5. No backs on chairs on counter whichtakes up 1/2 of kitchen.
6. No decent lounge chair in room.
7. Again POOR lighting thoughtout....horrible lighting

I had to cook and use my imiagination to figure out what I could use to cook with.

Hope this helps someone, because I thought it would be great.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 123456ollk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

After booking Sugar Beach through travelocity (prepaid in full, nonrefundable at time of booking), I came to tripadvisor and read the two general reviews about the hotel (as I did not know which unit we would be getting, only that I had booked a Gulf Front Studio Condo). Much to my chagrin, one review was positive but cautioned about remodeling differences in units, and the other review was quite negative. I am happy to say that our stay at Sugar Beach was a pleasant, clean, convenient, inexpensive, and overall positive experience!

We stayed for 3 nights in unit #242 in over the last days of July and first days of August '09. Having booked over the internet and prepaid in full by credit card, upon check-in the only fee we were asked to pay was a $30 check-in fee. We were not even required to provide a credit card at the realty office for incidentals. I specifically asked about the parking fees and cleaning fees I had read about on this site, and the friendly girl at check-in said that since we'd booked through a third-party (over the internet), the prepaid amount was indeed the full amount to be charged, and other than the check-in fee there would be no other fees assessed.

The parking situation at Sugar Beach was ideal. They had a guard at the gate who was very friendly, and parking was ample (and most spots were covered and protected from the elements). We never had to park in a spot more than about 20 steps from the elevator nearest our room. They also had carts you could use to transport bags through the parking garage and to and from your room if needed.

Our room was small but clean and had all the amenities one could need (full kitchen including microwave and full size refrigerator/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, iron). There was a TV w/ DVD/VCR, and small balcony overlooking the pools and the beach and ocean. Just as advertised and exactly what we'd pictured when booking. The room had a double bed as well as a full size sleeper sofa. I suppose you could sleep 4 in there, but it would be a tight squeeze to say the least. I'd recommend no more than 2 adults to such a room. The AC unit also worked amazingly well (in spite of its aged appearance).

Wireless internet access was available in the room, but it required purchasing a connection package from a third-party provider. It was very reasonable, and if you go for a short stay I would recommend the Targeted Broadband option at $7.95 for 3 days, as it seemed to be the best bargain, and the signal, while appearing weaker than some, was actually by far the most reliable.

Check-out was just as simple a process as check-in. We checked out on Sunday morning around 9AM and all we had to do was turn in our key.

A few more thoughts. There were lots of families with children there, so if children or a little bit of noise bother you too much, this might not be the place for you (though the AC and glass doors to the balcony blocked any noise below our window and we never noticed the crowds except when walking by the pools and to the beach). You may also note that the location of Sugar Beach (and the sister property Palm Beach) is near the west end of the "built-up" area of Orange Beach. One property west of Sugar Beach is Palm Beach, and immediately west of Palm Beach are several privately owned one or two-family condos, then west of that the state park begins. As a result, the beaches in this area have plenty of space and are not overly crowded.

All in all, I would definitely recommend Sugar Beach to anyone looking to stay in Orange Beach for a relatively inexpensive but quality vacation. It's nothing fancy, but it's not bare bones either. Overall, it's a great bargain in a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aoms731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2009

We booked unit 243 at Sugar Beach. It is newly remodeled with granite counters and a beautiful bathroom. The view is out of the world. We booked it through Sugar Sands Realty, www.sugsands.com. Many units have not been remodeled so be careful.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikieHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2008

We thought Orange Beach would be wonderful for our reunion that occurs every two years where folks come from all over the world. We contacted Sugar Sands Realty for our accommodations. Mistake.

Sugar Beach, Romar House, and Romar Beach condos are represented by Sugar Sands Realty. Upon arrival, we find that the most important attendees had been moved - without warning - about 2 miles down the beach to another property. The patriarch couldn't even be in the same area with his grown children who had traveled from Greece, Saudi Arabia, and Austria to see him! The realty company offered no apologies or compensation. Upon arrival, mice poop was everywhere.

Stay with me here. Now....back at the ranch (the real property that was booked for EVERYONE) two of the married couples at the reunion and on vacation with their spouses were moved without warning from the original reservations made with the realty company - a 2 queen bed room condo - to a one king bed and four bunk beds condo! So much for the planned holiday for one couple, huh? Again, no apologies, no compensation, just an uncaring attitude (and plenty of it!)

Oh...and watch out for the number of cars you want to park at Romar Beach. Yes, you do have "parking space rights" guaranteed by Sugar Sands Realty. Spaces available to you are based on the number of rooms in the condo you rent. But get this - the realty company wants $12.00 for every space you take!!!! Can you believe this? It's off-season! There were all kinds of open spaces!!!!

Okay, sorry to rant. The beach WAS beautiful. The weather WAS wonderful. The reunion folks bonded immediately all over again as we always do. Great fun was had by all.

Until check-out.

Remember the two couples that were trying to figure out who would end up in the bunk bed room? Guess what was on the check-out bill. EXTRA charges! The realty company charges you 4% credit card fee on the required credit card deposit. If you want to pay the remainder on your bill with a credit card at check-out, another 4% fee will be on your bill. Also, they don't tell you that you will be charged a housekeeping fee ($79.00), a processing fee ($30.00), and a damage waiver fee ($39.00, what is THIS?).

So, the agreed upon $250 off-season rental now adds up with all taxes and fees to (drumroll, please) - $451.50!

I know we should have gone back to talk with them about it, but after the attitudes the young women staffing the realty office gave us about the one parking pass we requested at arrival, we opted just to leave and chalk it up to experience. Hope you'll learn from ours. Buyer beware.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank scout4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
2.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
3.9 mi away
Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach

Address: 23044 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561-3003
Region: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range: £93 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sugar Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Orange Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing