We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Condo and Weekend Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Escapes! to the Shores
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Wonderful Condo and Weekend Experience”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We just returned from a long weekend in Orange Beach, Al, where we stayed at Escapes. We had a 2 bedroom 2 bath with balcony facing the beach, and we loved it. It was a corner unit (#1501) and it was very large. Each bedroom has a king bed with its own bathroom, and there was a washer and dryer in the unit. The living room was very large and spacious looking out the sliding glass doors and windows to the balcony and gulf. When we were not on the balcony, we were sitting on the sofa with doors open listening to the waves. The bedrooms did not have views or doors opening to a balcony, but they were very nice rooms. The kitchen was well equipped for preparing meals even tho we only ate breakfast and lunch in the room.

The location was very convenient to grocery stores, shopping, and restaurants. In fact, it is directly across the street from Wintzell's Oyster House which has good food. There was an indoor and outdoor pool, hot tub, children's wading pool, gazebo, grills around pool, steam and saunas, and very nice workout room. Great beach access with boardwalk from the pool area.

We were impressed with the level of housekeeping done at Escapes. When we arrived a little early for check-in, we were told which unit we would have but that the final inspection had not been done after the unit was clean. We were in no hurry, so we waited for the inspection to be done. In fact, we walked up to the unit to just peek in and they were making the inspection and final touches. The housekeeping ladies were so friendly and told us to let them know if anything at all was amiss and they would return to rectify. Really smooth check-in, great customer service, parking garage had enough spaces so you did not have to fight for a spot. They also provide luggage dollies from parking garage area to your room.

Cleanliness and quiet are high on my list of priorities, and this location was a 10 (scale of 1-10)
Earlier this year I stayed at an Escapes in Galveston, TX, and was equally pleased with my experience. I would definitely recommend Escapes! to the Shores at Orange Beach and other Escapes locations.

Room Tip: Corner rooms seem to be a larger than the other rooms. The higher you are the better view you have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CajunCountryBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    16
    5
    6
    9
See reviews for
34
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houma, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This last trip in February was our third stay! We love the two bedrooms that give our son his own space and TV. The full kitchen is very nice for making delicious meals if you choose. Then you can enjoy them on the balcony listening to the waves come in. The master bath has a jetted tub and a jetted shower! We didn't want to come out. Second bath has a jetted tub as well.
This is a great place to stay on the beach!!
Only draw back..... the front bedroom needs black out shades!!

Room Tip: Only two and three bedrooms have balconys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank latink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We recently vacationed here in August 2011 and loved it! We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo and were surprised at how big it was! The kitchen could use more equipment such as pots and pans but it saved me from doing much cooking while on vacation! Our unit had a jacuzzi tub in the master suite, luxury shower that could fit 2 people comfortable with 2 shower heads, and a stand up washer and dryer with detergent provided! The bathrooms were well stocked with toilet paper and towels and the king beds had too many pillows! I would love to comment on the service but honestly we never had to contact the front desk for anything! The room was clean and well maintained and had lots of channels to enjoy on flat screen TVs. Our view was amazing and the pool areas were perfect! Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AshibugRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We rented a studio room, which had one king bedroom, a kitchenette, one bath, and a living room area which had a comfortable bed that folded down from the wall. It was an awesome experience! Every two units shared a washer/dryer. The living area boasted a large, flat screen TV with surround sound. It also had a 16-CD player/changer with DVD. The kitchenette was fully supplied with dishes, flatware, and some cookware. No dishwasher in this unit, and only a compact refrigerator. There was a microwave, stove-top cooking surface, and a coffee maker. Extras that were included were trash bags, coffee pouches, dishwashing detergent, 3-in1 laundry sheets, dish towels, and paper towels. Our trash shoot was conveniently located in our hallway. The king bedroom was also equipped with a large flat screen TV, large closet and large built-in chest of drawers. The units are beautifully decorated in seaside decor. There was also a vacuum cleaner and broom stored in the closet, as well as an ironing board and iron. Even though there was only one bathroom, it was large enough to dry our swimsuits on our wooden rack. No wi-fi, but we were given ethernet cords and had no trouble getting on the internet. We didn't have an ocean view or a balcony, but we really didn't need it. All we had to do was go down to the ground level, walk out the back doors as we passed their indoor pool, fitness center, and sauna, and outside to a beautiful outdoor pool with a view to the ocean. Access to the white sand beach was easy. There were even grills on their large patio, a kids' pool and many tables for outdoor grilling and picnicking.

Room Tip: For the best rates, stay at least four days. You can get by without the ocean views and balconies to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Apprentice54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Escapes at The Shores in Orange Beach, Alabama, is a wonderful property. Beautiful furnishings, wonderful linens, very spacious. Jacuzzi tubs in both bathrooms. Extra large shower with several shower heads. Nice pool and kiddie pool areas. Great gazebo to "escape" the sun. Indoor pool. Spa. Nice workout facility. And the World's Most Beautiful Beaches are just a few steps away. One thing I'd recommend: Get a unit on one of the corners so your balcony will have wonderful Gulf breezes. We have vacationed at this property with friends and family since it was built and wouldn't think of going anywhere else in the area.

Room Tip: Get a unit on one of the corners so your balcony will have wonderful gulf breezes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank MaconMemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

I booked our trip in April and was pleased by the pricing and prompt assistance by the corporate office.
We stayed in a two bedroom premiere on the tenth floor in July 2011. Two master rooms with king sized beds. TV's in both, huge bathrooms with jacuzzi tubs, nice sized kitchen with basics, dining area and large living space.
Pools were nice on days the jelly fish moved in.
We grilled as well, but the grills need work. They were filthy, hard to light, and need new racks.
Parking is tight, but at least they had a garage.
You have to ask for things like Internet cable and games, but they are available. Had a few limited social activities, but for a fee.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ahagler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Loved Escapes on our first 2010 Best Friends Forever beach trip! This was our first trip together since graduation in 1972 and it could not have been any better. So in January of 2011, once again there was no other place but Escapes for BFF Beach Trip II, I had called Escapes the first of January and was told that they did not have the new rates at that time for 2011, I was told for several days each time I called to keep calling back, finally they told me I would need to call one of their rental companies which I did. I booked arriving on May 14 for one week, 2 bedroom 2 bath unit, just like the one we had rented the previous year, right? Well NO, we were given a handicapped unit, which there is not a thing wrong with if you are handicapped, but it was THE NOT BEING TOLD that it was handicapped. The unit is nice, but there are huge metallic silver car ramps, inside & out to the balcony, there is wheelchair access roll-in shower, not the one with all the spa-type shower heads like the other units have and roll up vanities, with no cabinetry.. The point of this is: I was never told that this was a handicapped unit and that it is VERY different from Escapes regular units. Upon inspection of our home away from home we were in such disbelief, mouths opened. I returned to the front desk, key cards in hand and told them this WOULD NOT work. They told me to go ahead and stay there for the night and come back to the desk at 11:00 am and they would see then IF they could possibly do something for us. This tactic was just a put off, knowing once you get settled in, more than likely you will not go to the trouble to pack up and move again. Once again, a big waste of our "precious" time together!!! To make a long story shorter, it took another of my BFF's, that was a tad firmer than me, to get this problem fixed. After 3 trips to the front desk, the property manager from over the phone told the office personnel to give us a regular unit, which is what we had paid for, They immediately did and we were very happy from that point on. Recapping...the early arrival so that we could have beach time was blown out of the water...everybody's blood pressure was out the roof! My question is why was this not done on my first trip to the front desk? Anyway, this has ended our yearly stays at Escapes to the Shores in Orange Beach, Al. It ain't worth the headache!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
10 Thank JanetGarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Palm Beach
Palm Beach
#12 of 20 in Orange Beach
62 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
1.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
#10 of 20 in Orange Beach
461 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escapes! to the Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escapes! to the Shores

Property: Escapes! to the Shores
Address: 24060 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561-3011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Escapes! to the Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Escapes! to the Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escapes! To The Shores Hotel Orange Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing