We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Condo that needs less confusing parking”
Review of Caribe Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Caribe Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed here the 2nd week of July. The Condo was BEAUTIFUL! We were on the 7th floor with a bay view. Having different pools was nice. We did not go to the beach by the resort and instead went eat at the hangout and went to that beach. I suggest bringing a soft ice chest to the pools because it is a bit far to go get a drink. Only down side was the kids swimming in the lazy river. Frustrating. Wish they had a life guard. Parking lot was confusing but was great because we were in a covered area. No problems with loud teens at all. They were very stern with security for this in the evenings.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

This was our first time to stay at Caribe, but did so based on the recommendations of friends. We were not disappointed.
We knew upfront of the one big minus of this resort...it is not beachfront, nor beachside. It is close to the beach and it's pretty effortless to get there. The hotel runs a shuttle to the closest beach which is along the inlet to the bay, or you can drive (or take a long walk) across the highway to the Gulf front beach. The Gulf front beaches are patrolled by lifeguards, very clean, and offer chair/umbrella service for about $25 a day.
Now to the resort. Absolutely no complaints.
-Condo: Impeccably clean and well-maintained. All the furniture and furnishings were modern and well-appointed. The people before us evidently cracked the stovetop so we couldn't cook except in the microwave or oven. But, things happen and the replacement was installed our last day there. As the family cook, I didn't shed any tears LOL. The view was ocean front and beautiful. We had two couples and two children of different ages. The 4 BR condo was so spacious that everyone had plenty of privacy at any time.
-Elevators: Yep, you'll wait a little depending on what time you're riding. It's a tall building. Be patient, you're on vacation...and so are they.
-Pool area: One of the best for all age groups. Our 3 year old enjoyed the wade-in pools and the waterfalls. We all enjoyed the deeper pools...very large and spacious enough that no one is bothered too much by the teens. The slides are great for all the kids and the indoor pools are nice for the cooler times of the day. The Lazy River is a nice treat...very relaxing and plenty of tubes. It's just a little bit of an inconvenient elevator trip or step climb to get from the upper pools to the lower pools, but I'm not an architect so I won't criticize.
-We didn't use the putting green or tennis courts, but they looked very nice and never crowded. Will bring a putter and a ball next time.
-Cobalt, the restaurant next door. It's not part of the Caribe property, but just a nice stroll next door. It is really, really good. It's about a $$ to $$$ in price range, but good quality food well-prepared.
-Location: I mentioned the beach proximity. It's also somewhat centrally located to anywhere you'd go east (Flor-Bama Club) or west (Orange Beach, Gulf Shores, Foley, etc.). It's very easy access to the highway from the resort.
-Price: We looked at everything along OB and GF and for a non-beachfront resort with super pool amenities, we thought it was very reasonable.

Room Tip: "C" Building is the middle building of the resort (B, C, D). C is centrally located to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TNTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Just checked out a day early and felt compelled to write a review immediately to warn others looking to book a vacation to stay away from this place! My husband and I booked a vacation for ourselves and our 18 month-old twins. We typically stay at Martinique on the gulf or Phoenix properties but decided to try caribe now that we have kids.

This "resort" is VERY poorly maintained. Stains on the sofa and chair cushions, towels, bed linens, curtains, etc. The whole place needs a good cleaning- it's filthy.

The indoor pools were freezing and smelled the chlorine so strongly I hated to bring my toddlers in there.

There is absolutely NO service whatsoever... Don't let the name "resort" fool you.

After walking around the condo for just a few minutes when we first arrived, our feet were BLACK.

Washer, dryer, and tv's were in very shotty working condition.

Lazy river was way too shallow, dirty, and unsupervised. There were young kids acting like maniacs and being very unsafe in the lazy river and on the slides.

The location and proximity to the beach is HORRIBLE! The beach "trolley" was a van with soaking wet seats that drops you at a parking lot. THEN you have to walk about a half a mile down a boardwalk then across the sand only to get to a unpretty beach.

I will list the positives for fairness: the rooms are spacious, the zero-entry pool was great for our toddlers, and we liked the ice machine in the room.

Overall, this place is simply not nice whatsoever and we will not recommend to our friends. We are actually checking out a day early as a result.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank crobichaux7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I would like to start by saying that our condo itself was very nice and well furnished. It was comfortable, and had a nice view of the bay. I am SO thankful that we were on the 1st floor. Otherwise, you have to wait on elevators, which seemed to be periodically out of order. We knew before going that it was not on the beach. The reviews seemed to differ regarding just how convenient it was to get to the beach. I can tell you, it is a huge hassle and NOT worth it! You either take the shuttle or drive to the lot. Then you go down a walkway that is maybe 400 yards or so. Then, you have to walk another 50-75 yards to get to a comfortable beach spot. If you have small children, a cooler, bags etc. this is miserable. We went once and never returned. There are pools in every building (or between two buildings) both indoor and outdoor. They also have a convenient cabana snack bar, and on most days a drink counter set up by the lazy river. It is difficult to get a table or good chairs unless you claim your stake early in the morning. To get to your condo from the parking deck is also somewhat of a hassle, especially if you have luggage, groceries etc. The carts were often all taken, and even if you are on the first floor as we were, you have to either go up stairs or wait (LONG WAIT) on an elevator. The last night we were there, an alarm went off at 11:30 pm announcing that everyone must evacuate the building. We went to the lobby, and there was one security person announcing that it was not a drill, and everyone must evacuate the building. It was terrible. Liitle kids were crying, people were searching for family members etc. Two fire trucks approached, turned around in the parking area, and suddenly all was well to return. I have read at least three other reviews on here that talk about going through this same evacuation mess. There never seems to be an explanation. This is solely my opinion, but I believe it was a drill. Otherwise, why would there only be one security person present in the lobby to direct guests to "safety", and how was the "fire" cleared within a minute or two of the firemen arriving, without even seeing any crew entering the building for inspection. It seems odd to me, and also odd that this seems to be a regular occurrence at this resort. I suppose someone may have pulled an alarm, but I'm doubting it. I personally would rather stay at a smaller resort with less pools and on the beach, and WITHOUT the horror of this late night evacuation.

Room Tip: If you choose to go here, stay on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ljlantrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This visit is our third Caribe unit. They have been consistently high end, well decorated and beautifully appointed. The resort has everything you need...incredible pools with slides, lazy river, real grass putting green with 18 holes, tennis, on and on. Our kids love this place and we may be back again for the fourth time.

Room Tip: Building B is quieter and away from the very busy, noisy pool between Building C & D
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JT0ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We took at vacation here last week with my parents and 2 small children. The room was VERY nice....nicest condo I've ever seen. And the kids loved the large pools. Not too crowded either, for July. However, I hated that it is not ON the beach...and it is really a hassle to get to the beach, so we wound up not even going, which was very disappointing. We also had a fire in the building on the last night and all had to evacuate at 11:30 with sleeping kids. Big pain in the rear. We could have at least been offered a later check out for the next day. Oh, and the Cobalt restaurant is soooo not worth the wait. If you think this is good food, you've never been to Louisiana. Probably won't be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank venessa55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Wonderful vacation. We did not have to deal with the staff at all. We were pre checked in and went directly to our room, great! Had a bay/marina view that was OK. We had a lovely 3 bedroom condo that was perfect for the 6 of us. Weather was great and always a breeze on the balcony. The trolley to the beach was quick, but we drove most of the time. Granddaughters really enjoyed the freedom to use all the pools, beach and exercise facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Glenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Resort

Address: 28103 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561-3225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Orange Beach
Price Range: £135 - £563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caribe Resort vacation rentals in Orange Beach, Alabama are truly unlike any other. Located on over 30 pristine acres of a peninsula, Caribe Resort features the most amenities of any lodging on the island. Among Caribe Resort's luxury accommodations you will find an incredible array of pool space, along with stunning vistas of beach front sunsets. Our comforts are designed with fun in mind: over 40,000 sq. feet of pools, lazy river, tennis courts, saunas and steam rooms, game room, private beach cart service, five star restaurant, and much more. If you are looking for a unique vacation idea, our condo rentals provide a ticket to the most relaxing, picturesque, amenities-packed resort Gulf Shores and Orange Beach have to offer. Serving as both a family friendly hotel and honeymoon spot, Caribe Resort will provide an unforgettable vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Caribe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Resort Orange Beach
Caribe Hotel Orange Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing