We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second stay this year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Island House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Orange Beach
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Second stay this year”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We love this hotel. My husband and I stayed in February and I'm currently here with our son and my parents. The staff are super nice. Rooms are clean with great views and comfortable beds. Beautiful beach to look at on your own private balcony.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    149
    58
    32
    19
See reviews for
135
139
4
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atmore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Just went for the 2nd time...July 25-29 and we love it here. I love the fact that all rooms are gulf front. Ice machine worked well and we were always able to fill our large ice chest at any time of day. front desk staff is excellent and polite. I had asked for a high floor before we got there, i like to dolphin watch in the early mornings...got the 9th floor, amazing view. Lobby is always neat and clean with plenty of seating and books/puzzles for you to read or kids to do. Pool area was always clean and was quiet..never heard much noise, especially at night. We went to the beach every day and it was never crowded in the area right behind the hotel. Rooms are always neat, clean and tidy...bed was a little uncomfortable in our particular room, but we made it. Plenty of pillows if you like lots of pillows to prop on. Tv was nice, love the 2 sinks...while hubby was steaming up the bathroom with his shower, i was at the other sink getting ready. Never ran out of hot water, plenty of towels etc....love the room safe and love the fact that you get a real key for your door. We just returned from Vegas in March and we had the card...took us up to 60 tries to get that door open...even after reporting it to the front desk and they said maintenance came and fixed it. We will be coming back here for all of our stays, LOVE IT! Thanks for another great stay Island House!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if you like the water view from above
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My family of four will definitely stay here again. It was clean and the staff was very nice & helpful. We talked to some other people who were staying there and they all liked it. Even though it rained almost the whole weekend, we still had a fun and relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simschapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylacauga, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We went down on Friday 7/26 and left this morning. This was a weekend fun getaway for two couples who needed a break at the beach with lots of good laughs and good times. We stayed in a standard room and actually shared a room just to save money. I was kinda worried about that but the room was soooo nice, clean, and spacious. Since we stayed at the beach or was out for lunch or supper, we really didn't need a room with all the bells and whistles. However if we had to to have stayed in the room due to the weather or whatever, it would have been fine. The staff was very friendly and helpful too. The rooms had great bedding, cold AC, good coffee maker and coffee. No mini fridge but we had three coolers so I think we did just fine. There is a safe in the room which was nice to have. The man who helped us to the room with our belongings was soo nice and didnt wxpect a tip or fee like some reviews have said. He was very helpful and it was much appreciated since we had alot of stuff. Bless him! there is also two sinks in the bathroom area which was real handy. The beach was so nice and the pool area was clean. We actually didn't use the pool but I checked it out and it was clean and good condition. The pool has i think has a 3ft kiddie pool and then the large pool. No hot tub though but we didnt mind since we were so sleepy after sun and eating dinner. Our plan was to relax on the beach and that's what we did. :) there is a Shrimp Basket across the street and another shrimp place that steams fresh for you there. And a donut place too. Also, to rent the lounge chairs at the beach it is $25.00 a day or $5.00 an hour. And well worth it too! Loved the place and highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesboro
Level Contributor
309 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Great views of the Gulf. The beach is the highlight here. Great white sand and plenty of beach here. There is a park to one side, so you are not squeezes in by other properties. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel does show a little wear and tear, but still very nice. Plenty of large stores close by for your needs and plenty of small ones too. Deep sea fishing place right across the street. Donuts and seafood also across the street. Restaurant in hotel is very reasonable and the food that I had was good. It is only open for breakfast and lunch. Breakfast buffet was only $8.95. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: All rooms have a gulf front view and you get a bay view from all hallways. Upper floors give better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LPAMIKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Me and my wife Melissa just got back from vacationing in Orange Beach this past July 4th . This hotel is nothing short of what it advertises on their site and what they say they will do for their guests . Cathleen was very nice to us as soon as we came to checkin at the desk with smiles on her face in welcoming us and Justin was cool in how he was and the porter was very quick and prompt to get our bags to our room. Peggy was the lady that booked our room for us and we got a breath taking view of the gulf from the 7 th floor upon request . Our experience was great , housekeeping was so nice as well and plenty of towels and any other amenities u needed ,you got as requested. We will most definitely be staying here again and very soon too.. Labor Day is just around the corner and another 3 night stay will just be great here at the island house again. If you read all these other negative reviews and believe them over what Im telling about our experience , then I can say u will be disappointed for choosing somewhere else for the value you get by staying at the Island House. Friendly Staff and Smiling Faces and also lower rates than u will find most anywhere else for the amenities you get here.. Can't wait to stay again and maybe the weather will be better with less rain and more sunshine
Thank You to the staff of Island House Hotel in Orange Beach for everything .
Sincerely ,
Adam and Melissa C.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woodyracn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This is our third year in a row staying at the Island House Hotel. We have stayed in both the standard and the executive rooms. Both are great. The only down side to the standard room is the lack of refrigerator, so we brought a cooler. The rooms are clean, beautiful views and the hotel is usually quiet. We love the pool, private beach chairs and the beach! It's also a great location. The ONLY problem we ever have is there is a baseball tournament in the area and some of the teams and the families stay here. They are so loud and disrespectful!!! They can't seem to drink responsibly or control their children. Other than that, the HOTEL is perfect!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MusicNews2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
#10 of 20 in Orange Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
4.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
3.9 mi away
Sugar Beach
Sugar Beach
#15 of 20 in Orange Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Island House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island House Hotel

Property: The Island House Hotel
Address: 26650 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561-3160
Region: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Orange Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Island House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton is well-known for providing an atmosphere that is both distinctive and uncommon; your family vacation, a relaxing getaway, your special event, reunion, or corporate event will feel exceptional. Every room in our hotel is Gulf Front and offers views of our beautiful emerald waters and our famous sugar-white sands. Each of our beachfront rooms provides personal balconies and newly-renovated amenities that will make your stay feel perfect. The Hotel is nestled directly on 336 feet of beachfront. Cushioned loungers with umbrellas are offered in front of the property, and a boardwalk from the pool takes you a few feet from the water. Located near Alabama Point and Perdido Pass, Island House rests at the main bay where the Intracoastal Waterway meets the Gulf of Mexico. The Gulf’s largest charter boat fishing fleet, many sailboats, yachts and recreational watercraft set sail right before our eyes each day. Most importantly, our culture of customer service, attention to detail, location and amenities make a great combination for the perfect stay for work or play. Come see why Island House Hotel is a favorite beach spot in Gulf Shores and Orange Beach and is considered one of the jewels of the Gulf Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Island House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island House Hotel Orange Beach
Island Hotel Orange Beach
The Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing