We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Orange Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The Island House is a great hotel for the price. Located directly on the beach, it has the lowest price of any surrounding hotels. All of the rooms have an ocean view. We stayed on an upper view and had a beautiful unobstructed view. The rooms are clean and tastefully decorated. The bed could have been a bit more comfortable, but I have slept on much worse. The hotel employees are very friendly and very helpful. I would happily stay here again. My only wish is that the on-site restaurant would stay open longer. It closes at 4pm and it would be very nice if it was open for dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindyintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

The Island House. Where do I begin? The Island House is a nice hotel. There's nothing wrong with it. It's on the beach, which is nice, but a lot of rooms have their views blocked by palm trees. I stayed on the second floor, causing this to happen to me. The Island House has a pool, which is nice, but they have a weird rope thing blocking the middle. I don't understand this. The beach is nice. They have chairs available for 25 dollars a day, which have umbrellas. I liked this. The elevators need to be a little faster, but they work fine. The front desk was nice and helpful, checkin was fast, and the porter helped us with our luggage and didn't expect a tip, though I have him one. I do think it would be nice for both the guests and the management if the hotel room doors had key cards instead of actual keys. If someone lost their key, it would cost management or the guest anything to replace the key except a few cents for the card. The vending machines are nice, though the ice makers were broken. There aren't refrigerators or microwaves in the room, which was a downside. They have a restraunt, but its overpriced. I liked the Island House, but its nothing special.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank genecrunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We love this hotel. My husband and I stayed in February and I'm currently here with our son and my parents. The staff are super nice. Rooms are clean with great views and comfortable beds. Beautiful beach to look at on your own private balcony.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Just went for the 2nd time...July 25-29 and we love it here. I love the fact that all rooms are gulf front. Ice machine worked well and we were always able to fill our large ice chest at any time of day. front desk staff is excellent and polite. I had asked for a high floor before we got there, i like to dolphin watch in the early mornings...got the 9th floor, amazing view. Lobby is always neat and clean with plenty of seating and books/puzzles for you to read or kids to do. Pool area was always clean and was quiet..never heard much noise, especially at night. We went to the beach every day and it was never crowded in the area right behind the hotel. Rooms are always neat, clean and tidy...bed was a little uncomfortable in our particular room, but we made it. Plenty of pillows if you like lots of pillows to prop on. Tv was nice, love the 2 sinks...while hubby was steaming up the bathroom with his shower, i was at the other sink getting ready. Never ran out of hot water, plenty of towels etc....love the room safe and love the fact that you get a real key for your door. We just returned from Vegas in March and we had the card...took us up to 60 tries to get that door open...even after reporting it to the front desk and they said maintenance came and fixed it. We will be coming back here for all of our stays, LOVE IT! Thanks for another great stay Island House!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if you like the water view from above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My family of four will definitely stay here again. It was clean and the staff was very nice & helpful. We talked to some other people who were staying there and they all liked it. Even though it rained almost the whole weekend, we still had a fun and relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simschapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We went down on Friday 7/26 and left this morning. This was a weekend fun getaway for two couples who needed a break at the beach with lots of good laughs and good times. We stayed in a standard room and actually shared a room just to save money. I was kinda worried about that but the room was soooo nice, clean, and spacious. Since we stayed at the beach or was out for lunch or supper, we really didn't need a room with all the bells and whistles. However if we had to to have stayed in the room due to the weather or whatever, it would have been fine. The staff was very friendly and helpful too. The rooms had great bedding, cold AC, good coffee maker and coffee. No mini fridge but we had three coolers so I think we did just fine. There is a safe in the room which was nice to have. The man who helped us to the room with our belongings was soo nice and didnt wxpect a tip or fee like some reviews have said. He was very helpful and it was much appreciated since we had alot of stuff. Bless him! there is also two sinks in the bathroom area which was real handy. The beach was so nice and the pool area was clean. We actually didn't use the pool but I checked it out and it was clean and good condition. The pool has i think has a 3ft kiddie pool and then the large pool. No hot tub though but we didnt mind since we were so sleepy after sun and eating dinner. Our plan was to relax on the beach and that's what we did. :) there is a Shrimp Basket across the street and another shrimp place that steams fresh for you there. And a donut place too. Also, to rent the lounge chairs at the beach it is $25.00 a day or $5.00 an hour. And well worth it too! Loved the place and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Great views of the Gulf. The beach is the highlight here. Great white sand and plenty of beach here. There is a park to one side, so you are not squeezes in by other properties. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel does show a little wear and tear, but still very nice. Plenty of large stores close by for your needs and plenty of small ones too. Deep sea fishing place right across the street. Donuts and seafood also across the street. Restaurant in hotel is very reasonable and the food that I had was good. It is only open for breakfast and lunch. Breakfast buffet was only $8.95. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: All rooms have a gulf front view and you get a bay view from all hallways. Upper floors give better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LPAMIKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier, The Tides Hotel
4.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
#12 of 19 in Orange Beach
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 26650 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561-3160
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range: £79 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton is well-known for providing an atmosphere that is both distinctive and uncommon; your family vacation, a relaxing getaway, your special event, reunion, or corporate event will feel exceptional. Every room in our hotel is Gulf Front and offers views of our beautiful emerald waters and our famous sugar-white sands. Each of our beachfront rooms provides personal balconies and newly-renovated amenities that will make your stay feel perfect. The Hotel is nestled directly on 336 feet of beachfront. Cushioned loungers with umbrellas are offered in front of the property, and a boardwalk from the pool takes you a few feet from the water. Located near Alabama Point and Perdido Pass, Island House rests at the main bay where the Intracoastal Waterway meets the Gulf of Mexico. The Gulf’s largest charter boat fishing fleet, many sailboats, yachts and recreational watercraft set sail right before our eyes each day. Most importantly, our culture of customer service, attention to detail, location and amenities make a great combination for the perfect stay for work or play. Come see why Island House Hotel is a favorite beach spot in Gulf Shores and Orange Beach and is considered one of the jewels of the Gulf Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island House Hotel Orange Beach
Island Hotel Orange Beach
The Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing