We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in Orange Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Orange Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I am a little late writing this review. I have stayed twice at the Island House, in Oct 2012 and in Sept 2013. Rooms/beds/bathrooms are good. All of their rooms have balconies facing the ocean. A restaurant in the ground floor serves good quality breakfast (not free - but if I remember correctly it wasn't too costly for the quality). We will probably go back again this fall.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank SECON2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Hotel is about 21 years old but for a beachfront hotel it is in great condition. The front desk is A-One always helpful. The location is where the action is and only 15 minutes from the Wharf a main attraction for Orange Beach. The rooms are spacious and clean with a full service in room kitchen.....We did not eat in the Restaurant in this hotel but there is one if you do not want to go out. I would definitely stay again if in the area

Room Tip: If you can get the Penthouse Corner 10th floor worth the money. The room has a double full bath and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marine2064217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We recently stayed here when there was a large storm forecast for the area. The staff went out of their way to make sure everyone was safe and had a great stay. Storm never showed up, but the staff did. Thanks for a great stay. This was our second visit to this hotel and it will not be our last.

Room Tip: All rooms are gulf front. No smoking inside, you must be 10 ft away from building. There are covered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LPAMIKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This place has a very rude and nasty management staff. Heaven forbid you should lose or leave behind an item at this hotel. I had to continuously call this hotel nearly every day for over a week just to find out if they had found my friend's missing cell phone charger. One excuse after another as to why noone ever could call me back to tell me if it was there or not. When I finally got ahold of their "Lost and Found Manager", he was extremely rude and nasty to me and implied that I was an idiot for expecting someone to call me back. I had been told by the front desk staff repeatedly that someone would call me back regardless. This "manager" said to me, "Obviously, we don't have the charger since I was not called back." I told him that they should not promise to call someone back if they have no intention to do so to begin with and that it should not take over a week of my calling just to find out if they had found my friend's missing phone charger. I had him on speakerphone and commented to my boyfriend how I would never return to this hotel and that this whole situation was just unprofessional and ridiculous and was told by this "manager" that since I did not have anything nice to say about their company that he was going to hang up now. This further infuriated me and I ended up cussing him out and hanging up. Though I don't recommend cussing out management and hanging up, and this is not ordinarily something that I would have done, this man was so absurd and ignorant that I just could not help myself at the time. When you are staying at this hotel, the place looks clean and nice and the front desk staff is very pleasant and friendly and helpful. The cleaning staff leave alot to desire though. We did not appreciate being woken up between 9-9:30 am on a Saturday morning after driving in the night before from a 6+ hour drive. We had wanted to sleep-in but were rudely awakened by the housekeeping staff. Then we were also questioned by them as to when exactly we would be leaving our room that day so that they could return to clean. I realize that they have a job to do, but in all of my years of travel, I have never had this happen. It is rude and just so uncool and unappreciated. You have to pay $25.00 a day for use of the beach umbrellas/chairs which I find outrageous as well. The hotel may not have any control over this charge since I believe it is a local beach service company of some sort that charges for this, but the hotel should either inform you beforehand of this, or include this charge with your hotel stay. If you are staying here for several days, this charge can really add up. Despite all of this, my friend and I did enjoy our stay here and were planning to stay here again next year, but after the fiasco of the missing cell phone charger, and the nasty and very rude way that I was treated over the phone by that "manager" while simply trying to find out if it had been found there or not, I will NEVER EVER stay at this hotel again. As I said to begin with, if you do stay here, you will probably have a nice time here if you don't mind being rudely woken up early on a weekend morning and questioned by housekeeping as to when you will be vacating the room; and if you don't mind paying $25.00 a day for use of a beach umbrella and chair; the fact that the on-site restaurant doesn't stay open very long; that the management people are rude and nasty; and that if you lose or leave behind an item you are basically screwed and out of luck and will receive no sympathy or help by management; that when you book a room here and expect a beachfront/oceanview you have to be very specific that you don't want a room overlooking the swimming pool (we were very lucky that someone cancelled their reservation that weekend and were switched to their room) or you will be very disappointed; there are no microwaves or mini-fridges in the rooms unless you pay $25. or more a day extra. The bathtubs are abit smaller than I normally am used to . You turn around in the shower and your arms touch the walls, not cool. Makes me feel dirty. If all of these things don't bother you, then by all means, book a room here and take your chances. It could go either way. Good Luck to you.

I will also add that I was unable to catch this "manager's" name so when I called back later to obtain it, not only was I questioned as to who I was, but they refused to give me any information or the name of this manager. I find that very curious, that seems a very odd thing to keep secret. It is quite obvious to me that this "manager" alerted the front desk that should I call back, to not give out any information about him or the hotel. Why else would they not give out a "manager's" name? Any company that conducts their business in such a rude and unprofessional manner, makes me wonder about them and it certainly makes me not want to deal with them ever again, which of course, I won't. Food for thought.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank goddessbrandy416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island House Ho... M, General Manager at Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

The Island House Hotel takes pride in the quality of a stay for our guest and the conduct of our employees they share with our guests. When a guest is missing a treasured item when they get home an calls the hotel for our lost and found department, calls are returned in a very timely fashion. This guest was not a registered paying guest: she was here with friends. Her phone was not receiving calls the two times we tried to communicate with her to explain that we did not have her charger. She checked out on 10/14 and called on 10/20 to report her concern. Our lost and found employee called her number 4 times on 10/24: got mailbox on 10/25- line full-no answer. We keep records of our communications. We have also trained our employees not to tolerate rude and foul language at any time, which unfortunately they received from this caller and which was totally uncalled for. We do apologize for housekeeping knocking on their door at 9:30am and disturbing their rest. We do have "No Service Signs" in each room that had it been placed on the outside door knob this would not have occurred. The guest complained that our cafe does not keep good hours- it is open from 7am until 3pm. Our bar opens at 1pm til for guest enjoyment. We do offer room service as well, so arrangements could have beeen handled accordingly. Our only other comment from the hotel is that our employees are enititled to dignity as well as anyone and should not have to tolerate rude language.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Perfect stay. Room was clean, comfy, and spacious. Great and pleasant service. My only complaint would be thin towels , and no microwave .& fridge. However it wS conveniently located near publix and Walmart, and many restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reedfam05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here at The island House during and after a conference that was held here. We actually upgraded our room from a standard to an executive, and it was well worth it. The room was large, the bed comfortable, and the service was very good. The conference facilities were excellent and large, but was not so large as to lose that intimate, family atmosphere. All of the rooms are gulf-front, including the restaurant. The only disappointment was that the restaurant was only available for breakfast and lunch, but not for dinner, although with all of the great choices in Orange Beach, it was not much of a loss. This hotel is very well priced, the amenities nicely appointed, and the beach is spectacular. We almost had the beach all to ourselves! Many thanks to Pat, the waitress in the restaurant who took care of us at breakfast and poolside lunch! You just don't get that style of quality service much anymore.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Garry and Miche... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel was convenient for our overnight stay.. There was no fridge or microwave in the room. Buffet breakfast was rather pricey. Bedding was very clean and bed comfortable. Bathroom clean as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PlainjaneAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier, The Tides Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
1.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
Sleep Inn Gulf Front Resort
#12 of 19 in Orange Beach
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 26650 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561-3160
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range: £82 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton is well-known for providing an atmosphere that is both distinctive and uncommon; your family vacation, a relaxing getaway, your special event, reunion, or corporate event will feel exceptional. Every room in our hotel is Gulf Front and offers views of our beautiful emerald waters and our famous sugar-white sands. Each of our beachfront rooms provides personal balconies and newly-renovated amenities that will make your stay feel perfect. The Hotel is nestled directly on 336 feet of beachfront. Cushioned loungers with umbrellas are offered in front of the property, and a boardwalk from the pool takes you a few feet from the water. Located near Alabama Point and Perdido Pass, Island House rests at the main bay where the Intracoastal Waterway meets the Gulf of Mexico. The Gulf’s largest charter boat fishing fleet, many sailboats, yachts and recreational watercraft set sail right before our eyes each day. Most importantly, our culture of customer service, attention to detail, location and amenities make a great combination for the perfect stay for work or play. Come see why Island House Hotel is a favorite beach spot in Gulf Shores and Orange Beach and is considered one of the jewels of the Gulf Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island House Hotel Orange Beach
Island Hotel Orange Beach
The Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing