We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The General Manager”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Orange Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Island House Hotel for a convention. I have never seen a manger act the way this lady did towards the guest and her employees. The white hair lady who acts like she owns the place was so disrespectful to the black girl and tall guy at the front desk that I was about to say something to her for them. It showed that they knew what to do and she did not. Maybe she needs to help guest instead of order people around. The hotel was great other then the manager and little dated rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Tide P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island House Ho... M, General Manager at Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

This review is a surprise to me. I think we were discussing a problem the staff and I were trying to solve quickly and I had no intention of offending anyone, especially a guest. Please do accept my apology. This is definitely not my personality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is our third visit to Orange Beach and we enjoyed our 6 night stay at The Island House. The hotel is close to restaurants and shopping and the beach was well maintained and clean. We were treated very well by the staff we encountered and would consider staying here again. We had an inner penthouse and I would recommend the extra expense. With an extended stay having a full size refrigerator and small kitchenette was beneficial as well as the separate bedroom from the living area.

The reason for 4 and not 5 stars was that we expected access to a beach bar for cocktails. The bar was seldom open and when open closed quite early.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sksloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island House Ho... M, Front Office Manager at Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us at The Island House Hotel. We take pride in providing our Guest with Great Customer Service. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

When we first checked in,the staff were friendly and very professional. Keith was outstanding! We were given the choice of which floor we wanted. When we arrived in the room we found it to be clean with the exception of a few hairs in the bathroom.The air conditioner was running cold. ( which was nice). The beach views from the balcony were awesome! The room was quiet and we all slept pretty well. The outdoor pool is huge and actually warm.
Okay ,here come the negatives. The carpet in front of the bathroom door was sopping wet. However, this could've been due to the fact that the people before us were hanging swimsuits in the closet to dry.I'm not really sure. The smell of beer and vomit in the hallway from the elevator to the room was absolutely nauseating. we did notice a lot of drunks at the hotel.of course it was memorial weekend. I did call the front desk and complain on two different occasions and was told that the smell was coming from one of the guest rooms and they were working on it. The only remedy that they offered to fix it was to spray air fresheners up and down the hall.which then smelled like potpourri,beer and vomit. We smelled it for three days , it was pretty bad. We also noticed that although smoking is not permitted on the balconies, some people were still smoking on the balconies .which it didn't really bother me but I could see how it could bother some guests. Also we found that the manager who checked us out on our last day seemed to be a little rude. He also billed my credit card without asking me if I wanted to pay with some other form of payment . I guess it didn't really matter, but he should have asked. Despite the negatives we all still had a blast! the beach there is beautiful. it's just some things could've been handled a little bit better.

Stayed: May 2014
3  Thank Disneydad37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island House Ho... M, Front Office Manager at Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

We are so sorry to hear of your recent experience here at the hotel. We promise you that this is not a typical experience for our guests as we strive to ensure that all of our guests receive nothing but the best hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Checked in on a Monday in mid-May 2014. Furniture has been upgraded, however building has major cracks and inferior repairs. Kitchen sink dripped entire time. Most upsetting was paying the same price on a weekday, but some amenities were "not available until Thursday" according to the front desk staff, such as lounge/bar closed, no towels at pool, but 'drop bins' to return towels. Um, ya gotta give me a towel in order to ask for it back. Just thought in Mid May it would be wide open, especially since the price was the same weekday and weekends. Building is old and does need to be inspected for safety in my opinion, and a team brought in to do proper repairs on electrical, plumbing and settling issues. Best asset the Island House Hotel has is Pat in the café...she is the best - always going the extra mile for her guests which is more than I can say about the front desk staff and management, since I emailed them regarding my concerns and have not received a reply. Please keep this place up, as it has been one of our favs for staying in Orange Beach (penthouse is worth the extra $ for the larger, more private balcony), but after seeing how it looked this time, I was afraid it would fall while we were sleeping

Room Tip: Any corner penthouse, although still small, it is much nicer than standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank joanna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island House Ho... M, Front Office Manager at Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

We are so sorry to hear of your recent experience here at the hotel. We are always trying to improve our guest experience and the building year round and sorry it did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We were completely disappointed in many areas. The balconies were all closed off due to a 'historical storm' from a week before. It wasn't even raining when we arrived. We were told that they 'may' open them the next day. When asked the next morning when they would be opened, we were told "I don't know when it will stop raining!" VERY RUDE and INSENSITIVE employees. So much for the 'great oceanfront view'. Food was terrible and hugely over priced. The bar in the hotel closed at 9:00pm. We were threatened with a $250.00 charge if caught smoking on the balcony. There was no mini fridge or microwave. We even checked out a day early, we were so disappointed. I wish I had read the reviews beforehand. We have traveled extensively and this is not close to being a 5 star hotel. I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't expect too much here as far as hospitality goes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island House Ho... M, Front Office Manager at Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

So sorry to hear of your recent experience here at the hotel. We promise you that this is not a typical experience for our guests as we strive to ensure that all of our guests receive nothing but the best hospitality. During your recent event we had a lot of rain coming in from the Gulf and felt that it was best to protect the hotel and Guest from the rain in wind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel is an older hotel but has been well maintained. Our room was large and very comfortable. The carpet needs to be stretched again in the rooms as our room (and others based on comments in the bar) have ripples in the carpet. The carpet is in good condition and does not need to be replaced. The hotel employees are very, very pleasant to deal with and very knowledgeable about stores and restaurants in the area. Their on sight restaurant was handy for breakfast, but it would be nicer if they had service for an outdoor seating area. The bar was nice, but wasn't opened the hours advertised. The sign said 11, but didn't actually open until 5. If it was opened earlier they could actually have outdoor service. Will return to this hotel as it was very nice and employees were very friendly. The best part of the hotel is the location. It is on the beach and all rooms overlook the gulf. It was in the restful area and it was very relaxing.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and have balconies overlooking the gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavenportPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island House Ho... M, Front Office Manager at Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Hello and thank you for your kind review of our property! It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us! I am glad that you found our staff warm and welcoming and that you enjoyed our hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Friendly staff, very welcoming lobby, spacious, clean, comfy room with a great view of the Gulf!! This was our first stay and we loved the peaceful, tranquil atmosphere. We will definitely be back again to stay at the Island House when in Orange Beach.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kcneyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier, The Tides Hotel
4.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 26650 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561-3160
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range: £78 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton is well-known for providing an atmosphere that is both distinctive and uncommon; your family vacation, a relaxing getaway, your special event, reunion, or corporate event will feel exceptional. Every room in our hotel is Gulf Front and offers views of our beautiful emerald waters and our famous sugar-white sands. Each of our beachfront rooms provides personal balconies and newly-renovated amenities that will make your stay feel perfect. The Hotel is nestled directly on 336 feet of beachfront. Cushioned loungers with umbrellas are offered in front of the property, and a boardwalk from the pool takes you a few feet from the water. Located near Alabama Point and Perdido Pass, Island House rests at the main bay where the Intracoastal Waterway meets the Gulf of Mexico. The Gulf’s largest charter boat fishing fleet, many sailboats, yachts and recreational watercraft set sail right before our eyes each day. Most importantly, our culture of customer service, attention to detail, location and amenities make a great combination for the perfect stay for work or play. Come see why Island House Hotel is a favorite beach spot in Gulf Shores and Orange Beach and is considered one of the jewels of the Gulf Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island House Hotel Orange Beach
Island Hotel Orange Beach
The Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing