We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Resort-Like Premium Accommodations.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Orange Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Location drives the pricing to what seems like astronomical levels, yet when compared to the amenities offered by other hotels in this resort community, the Island House Hotel comes out on top by a wide margin.

We stayed in a penthouse suite for 2 nights. The room was fabulous, including premium quality furniture that looked brand new. The design and layout of the rooms exuded the wealth and opulence expected from a suite costing over $300 a night.

The property is not new, it was built in 1992 and has been extremely well maintained. In many ways, the era it was opened in seems like such a distant memory. That said, the Island House Hotel has the look and feel of the early 1990s that immediately reminds the visitor of how much better 1992 was than today. The large conventional door key instead of an electronic card to enter the room is a perfect example. As soon as it lands in your hand, you intuitively know it will open the door of the room without a return to the front desk to have it "re-programmed". Everything else about the hotel has the same rock solid constitution about it.

Overall, there are just too many good things to say about this hotel in a short review. Many of the other guests we met while at the hotel are return visitors. No mystery why, the people running this property really know what they are doing.

Room Tip: Every room in the hotel has a gulf view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank princeofwaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island House Ho... M, Front Office Manager at Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you so much for writing and letting us know how your stay went.We look forward to see you very soon!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

436 - 442 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Island House Hotel is one of many options in the Orange Beach area and the staff are some of the most diligent I have encountered for a hotel at this price point. Desk staff are attentive and ready to serve. Pricing for the season was about what I expected. The rooms are nice, large and all are ocean view with nice little balconies so you can sit outside. Down side to this hotel is that it is old school, meaning the common areas have not been updated in a long time. The elevators have Formica on the walls, they still give out manual keys instead of the more secure swipe cards. plate mirrors in the bathrooms, and plain tub/shower combinations. The beds are comfortable, lots of pillows and do appear to have been updated. Bar area is small and closes early. No outside dining or bar area.

Room Tip: Breakfast in the hotel is the best deal on the island. $5 for eggs, bacon and toast that were all de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crawford H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island House Ho... M, Front Office Manager at Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write and let us know how your stay was! We take great pride in providing our guests with top notch service and clean rooms. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that everything exceeded your expectations. We can’t wait to see you again and hope that you will allow us to serve you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Island House Hotel for a convention. I have never seen a manger act the way this lady did towards the guest and her employees. The white hair lady who acts like she owns the place was so disrespectful to the black girl and tall guy at the front desk that I was about to say something to her for them. It showed that they knew what to do and she did not. Maybe she needs to help guest instead of order people around. The hotel was great other then the manager and little dated rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Tide P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island House Ho... M, General Manager at Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

This review is a surprise to me. I think we were discussing a problem the staff and I were trying to solve quickly and I had no intention of offending anyone, especially a guest. Please do accept my apology. This is definitely not my personality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is our third visit to Orange Beach and we enjoyed our 6 night stay at The Island House. The hotel is close to restaurants and shopping and the beach was well maintained and clean. We were treated very well by the staff we encountered and would consider staying here again. We had an inner penthouse and I would recommend the extra expense. With an extended stay having a full size refrigerator and small kitchenette was beneficial as well as the separate bedroom from the living area.

The reason for 4 and not 5 stars was that we expected access to a beach bar for cocktails. The bar was seldom open and when open closed quite early.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sksloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island House Ho... M, Front Office Manager at Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us at The Island House Hotel. We take pride in providing our Guest with Great Customer Service. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

When we first checked in,the staff were friendly and very professional. Keith was outstanding! We were given the choice of which floor we wanted. When we arrived in the room we found it to be clean with the exception of a few hairs in the bathroom.The air conditioner was running cold. ( which was nice). The beach views from the balcony were awesome! The room was quiet and we all slept pretty well. The outdoor pool is huge and actually warm.
Okay ,here come the negatives. The carpet in front of the bathroom door was sopping wet. However, this could've been due to the fact that the people before us were hanging swimsuits in the closet to dry.I'm not really sure. The smell of beer and vomit in the hallway from the elevator to the room was absolutely nauseating. we did notice a lot of drunks at the hotel.of course it was memorial weekend. I did call the front desk and complain on two different occasions and was told that the smell was coming from one of the guest rooms and they were working on it. The only remedy that they offered to fix it was to spray air fresheners up and down the hall.which then smelled like potpourri,beer and vomit. We smelled it for three days , it was pretty bad. We also noticed that although smoking is not permitted on the balconies, some people were still smoking on the balconies .which it didn't really bother me but I could see how it could bother some guests. Also we found that the manager who checked us out on our last day seemed to be a little rude. He also billed my credit card without asking me if I wanted to pay with some other form of payment . I guess it didn't really matter, but he should have asked. Despite the negatives we all still had a blast! the beach there is beautiful. it's just some things could've been handled a little bit better.

Stayed: May 2014
3  Thank Disneydad37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island House Ho... M, Front Office Manager at Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

We are so sorry to hear of your recent experience here at the hotel. We promise you that this is not a typical experience for our guests as we strive to ensure that all of our guests receive nothing but the best hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Checked in on a Monday in mid-May 2014. Furniture has been upgraded, however building has major cracks and inferior repairs. Kitchen sink dripped entire time. Most upsetting was paying the same price on a weekday, but some amenities were "not available until Thursday" according to the front desk staff, such as lounge/bar closed, no towels at pool, but 'drop bins' to return towels. Um, ya gotta give me a towel in order to ask for it back. Just thought in Mid May it would be wide open, especially since the price was the same weekday and weekends. Building is old and does need to be inspected for safety in my opinion, and a team brought in to do proper repairs on electrical, plumbing and settling issues. Best asset the Island House Hotel has is Pat in the café...she is the best - always going the extra mile for her guests which is more than I can say about the front desk staff and management, since I emailed them regarding my concerns and have not received a reply. Please keep this place up, as it has been one of our favs for staying in Orange Beach (penthouse is worth the extra $ for the larger, more private balcony), but after seeing how it looked this time, I was afraid it would fall while we were sleeping

Room Tip: Any corner penthouse, although still small, it is much nicer than standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank joanna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island House Ho... M, Front Office Manager at Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

We are so sorry to hear of your recent experience here at the hotel. We are always trying to improve our guest experience and the building year round and sorry it did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We were completely disappointed in many areas. The balconies were all closed off due to a 'historical storm' from a week before. It wasn't even raining when we arrived. We were told that they 'may' open them the next day. When asked the next morning when they would be opened, we were told "I don't know when it will stop raining!" VERY RUDE and INSENSITIVE employees. So much for the 'great oceanfront view'. Food was terrible and hugely over priced. The bar in the hotel closed at 9:00pm. We were threatened with a $250.00 charge if caught smoking on the balcony. There was no mini fridge or microwave. We even checked out a day early, we were so disappointed. I wish I had read the reviews beforehand. We have traveled extensively and this is not close to being a 5 star hotel. I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't expect too much here as far as hospitality goes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island House Ho... M, Front Office Manager at Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

So sorry to hear of your recent experience here at the hotel. We promise you that this is not a typical experience for our guests as we strive to ensure that all of our guests receive nothing but the best hospitality. During your recent event we had a lot of rain coming in from the Gulf and felt that it was best to protect the hotel and Guest from the rain in wind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orange Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier, The Tides Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Orange Beach at The Wharf
4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Orange Beach - Gulf Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 26650 Perdido Beach Blvd, Orange Beach, AL 36561-3160
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Orange Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Orange Beach
Price Range: £79 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton is well-known for providing an atmosphere that is both distinctive and uncommon; your family vacation, a relaxing getaway, your special event, reunion, or corporate event will feel exceptional. Every room in our hotel is Gulf Front and offers views of our beautiful emerald waters and our famous sugar-white sands. Each of our beachfront rooms provides personal balconies and newly-renovated amenities that will make your stay feel perfect. The Hotel is nestled directly on 336 feet of beachfront. Cushioned loungers with umbrellas are offered in front of the property, and a boardwalk from the pool takes you a few feet from the water. Located near Alabama Point and Perdido Pass, Island House rests at the main bay where the Intracoastal Waterway meets the Gulf of Mexico. The Gulf’s largest charter boat fishing fleet, many sailboats, yachts and recreational watercraft set sail right before our eyes each day. Most importantly, our culture of customer service, attention to detail, location and amenities make a great combination for the perfect stay for work or play. Come see why Island House Hotel is a favorite beach spot in Gulf Shores and Orange Beach and is considered one of the jewels of the Gulf Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Island House Hotel Orange Beach - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island House Hotel Orange Beach
Island Hotel Orange Beach
The Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing