We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Pelham
Loxley, Alabama
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Check-in was smooth and the hotel room was great. It had two queen-size beds, a separate seating area with a love seat and a nice bathroom. Everything was set an angles which was rather different. The only drawbacks to our room was that the refrigerator did not work, something we did not discover until the next morning when we went to get a drink and it was not cold.
To make this property better, the staff should really beef up its breakfast. We have stayed at many Choice Hotel properties and breakfast varies from hardly edible to great. This was very mediocre. The waffles were not good, and there was only one waffle iron. The breakfast area was small and the tables were not wiped down after each guest. The entree was biscuits with sausage gravy. There were boiled eggs and cereal and danish, but the buffet left something to be desired. They really should offer ham and eggs like other hotels. There was too much starch and hardly any protein.
The breakfast was really the weakest link in this hotel experience. The staff seemed nice and the hotel had some good amenities. I would recommend staying there, just go elsewhere for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherrikw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C0mf0rtSuites, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
I am sorry you were not pleased with the breakfast but unfortunately there is nothing we can do about the limited space I have said so time and time again that I wish i had more space. Maybe with the changes we have done you will find that it is a better selection of things so come give us another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    27
    25
    22
    16
See reviews for
48
22
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2012

No real complaints about the hotel. Couldn't find it on the first pass, but a call to the desk provided good directions. Had a little trouble with a toilet flush, but blame that on the Federal Government's geniuses in Congress and their many bureaucracies who decided they were better at toilet fixture design than anybody else in the world (they are not). Not the fault of the hotel company. Nice stone countertop and shower surround in the bathroom. Plenty of room in there and clean, too. Comfy bed, nice big flat screen TV, plenty of channels. WiFi OK, not super fast, but as good as my DSL at home. Quiet heater, most welcome. Lighting was OK, but not really bright. Again the Federal Government's new light bulb designs (not good light fixture designers, either), so the hotel is doing the best they can. Just as good as that wonderful ethanol that gums up all my motorcycles, my lawnmower and all my engine powered tools. Ethanol blended fuel is an abomination, a curse, visited on us, also by the geniuses in the Federal Government (not good fuel designers, either). The desk staff were reasonably efficient and friendly. Breakfast was OK, hot food was better some mornings than others. Sausage patties one morning, pre-cooked eggs and link sausages in a steamer tray one morning, biscuits (maybe a little too crunchy) and gravy one morning, nice array of cereal, muffins, bagels, fruit, juice. I stayed four days and I'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atwowheelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C0mf0rtSuites, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Thanks for the compliments hope to see you soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

This hotel is satisfactory. Room was appeared to be clean. Shower needed a good detailed cleaning. Light bulb was out in one of the lamps and room seemed to dim. Needed more or stronger lighting. Bed was comfortable. Room had a very strong cigarette smoke smell and it was a non-smoking room. Even the shower water had the smoke ordor.
Check in counter was not sufficiently staffed. One person waiting to check in was at the counter for 10 minutes before an employee showed up to help her out.

Convenient to many restaurants and the freeway.
Was not impressed with the complimentary breakfast. Not alot of variety and never saw anyone there to replenish food.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demorest, GA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

First class property. First class room, clean, well-lit, up to date, flat-screen TV, had needed shaving supplies i forgot. Breakfast was both hot and cold items, sausage/eggs, bagels, muffins, waffles, coffee, juices, and yogurt. Newspaper provided in lobby, business center with printer available. Good choice of restaurants, Pelham convention center close by. Better price than other less appealing Choice properties in Birmingham area; staff was courteous, friendly and helpful. my 3rd stay here in two years, well worth it!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noah1656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, MS
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Hotel is decent location, close to several places to eat, shopping and very close to Oak Mountain State Park. Hotel staff was not attentive to needs, never looked up when you walk in the door, just keep head down listening to music. Breakfast was worth what you paid for it, which is nothing. We ate there the first day and choose McDonalds the second. Hotel lobby and hallways were nice, rooms average. Stayed two nights on a weekend, was pretty empty. Hotel is kinda hidden behind a auto parts place, no big deal if you don,t mind looking. Place is much better than Sleep Inn down the street, where I use to have to stay for business.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Not hard to find, close to lots of restaurants and shopping. Looks very nice unless you inspect closely, then can see some wear and tear but nothing so bad that we wouldn't stay. The price was fantastic with TN Farm Bureau discount!! Beds were very comfy, room had mini-fridge and microwave, pull-out loveseat bed was separated from main room via half wall. Mattress on pull-out was very thin but worked fine for a child. The indoor pool as COLD, altho front desk staff said it was 78 degrees. Didnt' feel like it! Pool was also in need of repair and quite small, with no hot tub available. Still, we would stay here again. Oh, and free breakfast was decent with the usual fare.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel one night. It is very convenient to shopping as the Galleria is only about a 6 minute drive away.
The room was satisfactory. Beds were comfortable, but the comforter was stained. The shower had only a squirt of water viand even by twisting the shower head nozzle no spray was present. Nice indoor pool and each floor had a drink machine. Decent breakfast also. There was a constant clicking sound in the room and I believe it was coming from the wall that enclosed the bathroom pipes. Great room darkening curtains to keep the early morning sun out of room.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pelham hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham/Pelham
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Mountain Inn
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Pelham/I-65
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 10 in Pelham
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pelham - Oak Mtn Pk Area
0.6 mi away
Ramada Pelham
Ramada Pelham
#6 of 10 in Pelham
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 2235 Pelham Pkwy, Pelham, AL 35124-1313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Pelham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Pelham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing