We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but Many Minor Problems”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Pelham
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This room was booked though Hotwire, and the price was good. The room was very large with much unused space. Strangely, with all of the space, all bathroom components, tub/shower, toilet, and lavatory were in one room. The room appeared clean and was comfortable. Breakfast was average with little sitting room. The problems: There was no ice machine on my floor. It appeared to have been removed. Maintenance was called to secure the connecting door which I had discovered was unlocked from my side. A bedside lamp and clock radio were unplugged, and I had to grope around in the near dark to connect them. At check-in, the desk clerk said she could not enter my Mileage Plus number. Later, another desk clerk stated that they had discontinued this program and only accept their Choice program. This is contrary to their web site, however. The web site states that they will accept either.
All in all, this was not a bad stay, just many minor "demerits" were earned.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floridatraveler32055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C0mf0rtSuites, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time out to fill out our online survey. I would like to apologize for the minor issues that you had with us at the Comfort Suites. If there is anything that you need please don't hesitate to give us call.


Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

I've always thought that Comfort Suites was at the high end of the Choice spectrum, but this hotel is at the low end. It's time for an upgrade. Walls are scuffed throughout, single elevator is slow, and breakfast area is small. Water has to be run a few minutes to get hot enough to shave. Luggage buggies are scarce. View from the room is almost comical - mobile home sales lot and metal buildings. On the positive side - rooms are quiet, pillows are good, and beds are great. My suggestion: stay a few miles away in Hoover for better quality and surroundings.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSUGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C0mf0rtSuites, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

We would like to thank you for taking the time out to fill out our survey. We also would like to thank you for visiting our property and we hope to have you back on your next visit. We do apologize for the noise we are working really hard to maintain noise.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Oh my not what I expected from a Comfort Suites. Check in was pleasant got to elevator and the elevator control buttons looked like a 5 year old had put it in not a good feeling. Best part of room was the bed it was comfortable. The owner must be cutting back on expenses one bulb in lamp, blow-dryer did not work, sink did not drain properly. The next morning breakfast by stated time was not put out but one person trying to handle desk and handle putting out and setting up breakfast. How much can one person multi-task? Upon checking out person at desk told someone calling on the phone for something and they stated that housekeeping did not come in untill 9:00 they would have to come get the needed item. The employees I feel are not at fault you have to have enough staff to operate and if continues on this course no customers will stay at this location. Skip the breakfast not worth wasting your time for weak coffee and poor selection. These conditions are not acceptable and not what I expect from a Comfort Inn Suites.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C0mf0rtSuites, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Mr. H

Thank you for taking the time out to fill out our online survey. We as a team staff would like to apologize on the behalf of the experience you had here at our hotel. Please let us know if there is anything that we can do to make your stay better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Didn't check in until late. So a lot unseen things until daylight!
Went to the elevator to go to our room, hall looks like it hasn't seen maintenance for awhile. Housekeeping carts have the walls a mess! Got in to the elevator inspection way out of day, get off walk the steps!! Get to room, at first all looks good, then you turn on the lights. Lamp shades are melted to bulbs, furniture very rough looking. But pretty clean overall.

Morning breaks, go to window to check the weather, WHAT!!!!!!!!!!! Window has been left open and it has rained during the night!!!! (Curtains were already closed when we entered). Then to see how sketchy it looks out the window takes you back some. (I realize it is not going to be waterfront!)

Down to breakfast, the usual out of a lot of items.

Had to catch a flight didn't have time to mess with window issue.

Reminds me of when you bake a two layer cake and it goes very bad, so you just slather icing all over it too cover up the flaws! They have tries to do some cosmetic renovations but definitely has a long way to go!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fritzy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C0mf0rtSuites, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

We would like to thank you for taking the time out to fill out our online survey, and we also like to apologize with the experience that you had with our hotel. If there is anything that we can do to make your stay better please don't hesitate to give us a call.. Again we really do apologize!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We were in town for only one night, but we have stayed at this motel for at least 5 different times as usual, everything was Great! People at the front desk are always helpful, & the breakfast menu was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C0mf0rtSuites, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey, and we would like to have you back as a valued customer. If there is anything that you need please don't hesitate to give us a call

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I have friends in the Birmingham area, and this location is a perfect base for visits. It's surrounded by lots of restaurants, and there's a Walmart less than a mile up the street if you forgot anything. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the hotel was clean and quiet. My first night there, I discovered a problem with the sink in the bathroom soon after arriving, and rather than making me wait for a repair, I was moved to the room next door, which I really appreciated.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MDGirl666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C0mf0rtSuites, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

The Comfort Suites Hotel would like to thank you for feeling out the survey and would love to have you back as a guest....


Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

When we arrived at the Hotel & unloaded our luggage, we headed to the Front Desk to check-in only to find out all the rooms were taken. We had just received a Confirmation email a few days before confirming our arrival date & the two available rooms. We traveled 10 hours to get there, 7 people in a small Van, tired & just wanting to get to our rooms. What a disappointment to find out we had no rooms. They had no explanation on why the rooms were not available & relocated us to a different Hotel. So we packed up all our luggage, reloaded the Van & headed to the other Hotel. When we checked into the Hotel & inquired about the cost they stated that we would not be charged since the other Hotel had overbooked us. So after hearing that, things started to look better & at least they were compensating us since they turned us away in the first place. Well when we returned home from vacation we found out we were billed for the stay at the Hotel we never even stayed at. We travel through that area often but will never book rooms at that Hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Dan807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C0mf0rtSuites, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

I am glad that you took the time out to feel out a survey, and we apologize for the experience that you had here with us.. We would like to make things better for you and your family on your visit...

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pelham hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pelham - Oak Mtn Pk Area
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham/Pelham
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Birmingham Pelham/I-65
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Oak Mountain Inn
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 10 in Pelham
161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Pelham
Ramada Pelham
#6 of 10 in Pelham
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 2235 Pelham Pkwy, Pelham, AL 35124-1313
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Pelham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Pelham
Price Range: £66 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing