We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected Gem in a Desolate Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phenix City-Fort Benning Area
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Phenix City
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Unexpected Gem in a Desolate Area”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel is an unexpected gem in an area that is pretty tired looking about 11 miles from Fort Benning. The nice thing was that the clerk placed me in a room overlooking the pool and the pool area is surrounded by tall native plants that obscure a pretty ugly surrounding area. Ugly is an understatement for the surrounding area but this hotel is an oasis in the middle of ugliness. The interior seems brand new and fortunately the hotel's hot breakfast is another bright spot because there are no nearby restaurants serving breakfast. The negative is that the hotel doesn't provide any newspapers however its internet connection is free, fast, and reliable. The front lobby is satisfactory to greet but definitely not meet or hold a conversation. The business center is directly up front in the hotel and well appointed. The pool area is small and satisfactorily set up. The exercise room is just a room with three aerobic exercise machines and a television, ok for basic physical maintenance but not even enough room to do push-ups. The excellent point again is that handicapped parking is directly to the front of the hotel and it was not a hassle to get in and out of the hotel. The heating and air conditioning unit in the room is extremely noisy and it would have bothered someone else, but I take pain killers before bed along with sedatives thus a comfortable bed overcomes the noise . . . the noise was a definite downer for those not sedated. It would definitely get a two and a half star rating for the hot breakfast in a decent dining room; the business center; the pool; and the exercise room. The proximity to Fort Benning is actually the dominant plus to the location of this hotel because you simply go directly up the road and get off at the Sand Hill exit if you are seeing someone graduate basic training or advanced infantry training. Anything near Fort Benning is overpriced and the area is a dump but that is what you get near Fort Benning.

Room Tip: You should definitely ask for a room facing the pool because you don't want to see the depressin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princeton101st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renee B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phenix City-Fort Benning Area, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Princeton101st,

We appreciate your 5 star review! I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay minus the desolate area. Phenix City is an up and coming town and we are happy that they are building more shopping and restaurants in the area.
I hope you choose to stay with us again if you find yourself in the area!
Again, we appreciate your feedback and I will share this survey with the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    36
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
108
27
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I stayed here and at first the LG tv in my room didn't work with my PS3. You can imagine the frustration. Well that's when the maintenance guy John came to the rescue. He gave me a magnavox tv,and it worked perfectly. He was very helpful and took the extra time to help me figure out the problem.

Room Tip: Avoid the sofa bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thayvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renee B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phenix City-Fort Benning Area, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review!
I am so pleased that John was able to assist you and I will pass your kind words along to him.
We hope that you choose us again when you find your self in the area.
Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The lobby and breakfast area are beautifully decorated. The beds were comfortable and warm on a chilly evening. We choose to stay with the Holiday Inn Corporation because each experience has been a positive one and this was as well. Toni at the front desk is absolutely terrific, very pleasant, informative, and helpful! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damen C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phenix City-Fort Benning Area, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay in Phenix City. We always appreciate any feedback and to see that you had a pleasant stay with us is very rewarding. We thank you for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to your next stay with us. Take Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We visited the area for a graduation ceremony and naturally settled on a Holiday Inn Express due to its familiarity. The hotel was as expected: clean, comfortable, and uniquely designed. Our time at this hotel was definitely an enjoyable experience. If we are in the area again, we'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanPauEli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damen C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phenix City-Fort Benning Area, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you so much for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Phenix City. We really appreciate the review and the nice comments that you have shared. Is there anything we could do at the property that would turn your four star experience into a five star experience? I would love to hear any feedback that could better your next stay at the property and stays of all our guests. If possible and if you wouldn't mind, please reach out to the property direct and let's discuss how to make an even better experience for you in the future. Thank you again for your recent stay and I look forward to hearing from you about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Our stay was very nice at this hotel. We had good service, great breakfasts both days we stayed, and we even got to get in the awesome pool during warmer weather days! It was a relaxing hotel stay - the property is much nicer than most other hotels we have been to and the staff was always friendly and accommodating! We would recommend this hotel to any of our family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scates2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damen C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phenix City-Fort Benning Area, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
We are so glad to hear that you had a relaxing stay during your recent trip to Phenix City. We strive to bring the best in customer service in all areas of the property. Please do not hesitate to call us directly to book your next reservation and we would love to serve you again as our guest. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the property and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Holly is the best! She works at the front desk, when you go ask for her! I got lost coming to the hotel and she gave me great directions and even stayed on the phone with me til I got there. Once I got there I have several questions and she gladly answered them. She was so friendly and nice, it made me feel right at home. The hotel is nice, peaceful and clean. I had no problems. I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damen C, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phenix City-Fort Benning Area, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
It is a delight to hear that we were able to accomodate your lodging needs on your last trip to Phenix City. We always love to hear that we were able to help the trip go better, and we are looking forward to your next stay. Don't hesitate to give us a call for directions if needed, we always love to help. Thank you for staying with us and for the positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbeville, Georgia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here after AU opening game. After a late night we asked for late check out time and was given a 1300 as requested. Next morning housekeeping was knocking on our door at 10a, then again about 15 minutes later which was followed by two phone calls from front desk before 12 noon. Needless to say I was not happy. We checked out at 1215. Bed linens were dingy. As loyal HIExpress customers, This is not what we are accustomed too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phenix City-Fort Benning Area, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear DebGReeves,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We regret the inconvenience you had with the service you received. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phenix City
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phenix City - Columbus Area
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Phenix City/Riverfront
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus - Fort Benning
1.4 mi away
Columbus Marriott
Columbus Marriott
#15 of 46 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Phenix City
Super 8 Phenix City
#4 of 9 in Phenix City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phenix City-Fort Benning Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phenix City-Fort Benning Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phenix City-Fort Benning Area
Address: 1702 Highway 280 Byp, Phenix City, AL 36867-5445 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phenix City - Columbus)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Phenix City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Phenix City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phenix City-Fort Benning Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phenix City, AL Holiday Inn Express near Columbus, GA welcomes you. Our hotel in Phenix City, AL provides an ideal location near many area points of interest, such as Chattahoochee Valley Community College, the River Center for Performing Arts and Forts Benning & Mitchell. Your family can enjoy a relaxing stay at our hotel in Phenix City, right across the river from beautiful Columbus, GA & near many attractions including the Civil War Naval Museum, Idle Hour Park, the Phenix City Amphitheater & the National Infantry Museum at Fort Benning. If shopping is your preference, check out Peachtree Mall in Columbus, just 5 miles from our hotel in Phenix City, AL, or try the Columbus Park Crossing for some great bargains. Business travelers can enjoy a stay at our Phenix City accommodations near Columbus, GA because of our convenient location near area businesses such as Mead Coated Board, Aflac, Continental Carbon, Phenix Industrial Park, Synovus and Jack Hughston Memorial Hospital. Our Phenix City, AL hotel offers a 24 hr business center, a meeting room and convenient business services. We also provide free high-speed Internet access. During your stay at our Phenix City hotel, you can enjoy our outdoor pool, a 24 hr fitness center & the free hot breakfast bar featuring our signature cinnamon rolls. Check out our excellent Phenix City hotel room deals and book your hotel reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phenix City-Fort Benning Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Phenix City - Columbus
Holiday Inn Phenix City
Phenix City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing