We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very calm and relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodge on Gorham's Bluff

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pisgah
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lodge on Gorham's Bluff
Ranked #1 of 1 Pisgah B&B and Inns
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very calm and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

My wife and I spent the weekend at Gorham's Bluff and really enjoyed it. At first we worried there wasn't much to do, and then we were thrilled there wasn't much to do. We sat on the bluff and looked at the river, we rode bikes along the bluff, we had a picnic on the bluff and we walked along the bluff. The breakfast, boxed lunch, and dinners were outstanding. The other guests were very friendly. There were tons of books to read, and we went swimming twice. It is a 2.5 hour easy drive from Atlanta, and we highly recommend it for a get-away-from-it-all trip.

Room Tip: The two rooms on the third floor are hugh, but don't have porches. The four on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verdun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    18
    10
    3
    6
See reviews for
11
75
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

My husband and I have been to Gorham's Bluff many times, and I can't wait until the next time we can get back there. Ever since our first awe-inspiring glimpse of the view of the Tennessee River valley off the bluff, we have been in love with this magical place where time seems to stand still as your worries fade away. We have stayed in the lodge and rented cottages. Both alternatives are charming. We have come to prefer the cottages where we can spread out and sit outside on our own private porch and relax, read, soak up the sun, or just watch the world go by at a lazy pace.
Meals at Gorham's Bluff are an event. It is not an overstatement to say that the food is easily the best food I have ever had. Breakfast and dinner are served in a small dining room by attentive staff in a comfortable atmosphere. The boxed lunches are fabulous.
At Gorham's Bluff you set your own pace. If you want to be active, hiking, biking, and swimming are just outside your door. If you want to sit and relax, you have a fabulous view in every direction.
Finally, we love the staff at Gorham's Bluff. They are attentive and cordial and very attuned to their guests' needs and preferences. On one of our visits they overheard me mention that I preferred a certain table in the dining room. Now every time we go, that table is reserved for us! They always do their best to make each visit unforgettable. The combination of unmatched natural beauty, well-appointed accommodations, and friendly staff make Gorham's Bluff our go to destination for long weekends. It's the best kept secret in Alabama!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddiecat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Alabama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We enjoyed a night and day. They had a mid-week special for $94 if you also take the American Plan meal package (4 course dinner, breakfast and box lunch). We really like the rooms, for a bed and breakfast it was not decorated in foo-foo Victorian. They have antiques but clean and simple. The building was built as a bed and breakfast so it is not cobbled together, squeezing a bath out of a closet, etc.
The building is on a huge cliff with a nice view of the Tennessee river far below. Most rooms have a big outdoor balcony to sit and drink your coffee.
The really outstanding part of the visit is the food. You must come famished. For dinner, I had rainbow trout. I seldom order trout because most chefs do a lousy job of de-boning them. This trout had nary a bone and was wonderfully seasoned. My wife had a huge piece of pork that she said was wonderful.
Breakfast and the box lunch were also fantastic and more than we could finish. We took half the box lunch home to eat tomorrow.
There are also cabins available but we didn't look at them. They would be nice for families. They discourage children in the lodge.

Room Tip: Since there is no elevator, think about getting a second floor room if you are not a little athletic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SkyGrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

My wife and I have been to Gorham's Bluff 3 times. Twice for the two of us to get away and once during the summer with the kids. If you want to detox, this is the perfect place. During the summer as a family trip, the kids can ride bikes, play in the pool and run around the large grounds in a very safe comfortable environment. We rented one of the houses for this trip. The other two getaways were during the winter. We stayed at the lodge. A very friendly wait staff. Luxurious but hometown comfortable. Dove ice cream bars in the fridge, roaring fires, rooms nicely appointed with antiques and large porches to read and relax. The food at the lodge is incredible. Homemade granola, fresh fruit dish, smoked trout and homemade muffins. First class food. This is a dry county so bring your own wine, no corking fee. If you want excitement don't come here. If you want to relax in a friendly comfortable Alabama setting, I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: If it is the two of you, stay at the lodge, all the rooms are nice. If you are coming with kids o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was the first time my wife and I went to Gorham's Bluff, having heard of it through some friends that had visited. While you may not be sure exactly where you are headed on the route there, when you get to Gorham's Bluff it is an awesome site. Breathtaking views, warm hospitality, and absolutely delicious gourmet food. We wanted a quite, relaxing weekend to recharge and that is exactly what we got. We stayed in the small, but cozy, Blue Spring Cottage, which is right next to the Lodge. We enjoyed having even more of a private experience in terms of our lodging. We would walk to the Lodge for our meals and they were hearty, and always delicious. We will definitely make a trip back and would recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet, secluded weekend to reflect and enjoy the company of loved ones.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yankeefu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookwood, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Fifteen years ago, I received a brochure and reservation confirmation for the Lodge at Gorham's Bluff from my husband. I still consider it my favorite present. Yesterday, we made our annual trip to the Lodge at Gorham's Bluff, once again. I can understand why the readers of "Southern Living" magazine previously voted The Lodge at Gorham's Bluff as the "Most Romantic Spot" in Alabama. The setting is breathtaking--seclusion along a precarious bluff overlooking the Tennessee River in North Alabama.
The six guest suites are each tastefully deoorated. The King Room is our favorite with amenities which include gas logs, a whirlpool bathtub and a private balcony complete with rocking chairs. Many of our friends enjoy the lofty third floor where the Owens or Roden rooms are located--complete with two-sided fireplaces. When we check-in, the innkeeper always loans us a collection of romantic CDs to be used in the Bose Music System. Chef Keith wowed us with a four course dinner as we dined near the dancing flames of a real wood-burning fire place by candlelight. The hearty breakfast was amazing as always. We enjoyed hiking along the bluff, and when we have visited in the summer months, the swimming pool is a great place to relax. We enjoy exploring the bluff, the lake and spending time star gazing from the pavilion. Leaving the bluff is always sad, but we are already planning another trip to our favorite spot on the planet, the Lodge at Gorham's Bluff.

Room Tip: The corner "King Room" has the best view of the bluff, pavilion and sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingjoy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

This was our first trip to Gorham's Bluff. It came highly recommended by friends. We loved it. The room was very romantic with a 2 sided remote control fireplace and a large jacuzzi tub.
Chef's Keith's food was fantastic! We ate every bite! The views are jaw-dropping. The staff were very helpful. I loved the guest pantry and access to treats, including delicious ice cream bars. Mother nature did not cooperate and there were very strong winds that prevented us from going outside and riding bikes like we wanted to. We will definitely go back again and highly recommend it as a place to get away and relax!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pisgah
9.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 10 in Scottsboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
11.0 mi away
Quality Inn Scottsboro
Quality Inn Scottsboro
#4 of 10 in Scottsboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Scottsboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge on Gorham's Bluff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge on Gorham's Bluff

Property: Lodge on Gorham's Bluff
Address: 101 Gorham Dr, Pisgah, AL 35765-6891
Region: United States > Alabama > Pisgah
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pisgah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Lodge On Gorham`s Bluff Hotel Pisgah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing