We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The lodge has seen better days”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pisgah
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lodge at Gorham's Bluff
Ranked #1 of 1 Pisgah B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Lodge on Gorham's Bluff has been on my bucket list for many years, after having read about it in Southern Living many years ago. My husband and I finally went for a weekend to celebrate our anniversary. It wasn't a bad weekend, just not what I expected.

Gorham's Bluff (the development)
The development of Gorham's Bluff began in the mid to late 90's. It was meant to be a planned community, much like Seaside, Florida. Unfortunately, development slowed (or basically stopped) during the economic downslide in the 2000's.

I knew something wasn't quite right when we got to the entrance of Gorham's Bluff. The landscaping was unkept and the signs for the property were in disrepair (rotting wood, peeling paint). We turned in and you could see where they had planned for this massive development that never occurred. There were maybe 20-25 houses built. It is just empty lot after empty lot.

They started to build a downtown area, much like Seaside, but the shops never materialized. There is a church for weddings in the Main Street area but it is suffering from neglect. The landscaping is overgrown and the building looks really shabby (rotting wood and peeling paint).

The community art center is in an old school that was built in 1938. It is a beautiful old building that was supposed to be refurbished. They only got as far as a new roof. The inside is still gutted and the renovation was never completed. The door is wide open so we poked our head in but did not go inside because it did not appear safe all.

There is a wooden outdoor amphitheatre overlooking the bluff. It has a beautiful view but it has not been maintained either.

The community left me feeling sad. You can tell that someone had a great vision for a thriving arts community but it never materialized. And now it is like they don't have the money to maintain it.

Gorham's Bluff is also out in the middle of nowhere. Take what you need, because it is not easy to get to a store to pick things up.

The Lodge

The lodge has a gorgeous design. Like the rest of the community, it is falling into disrepair too. There is a lovely fountain in front of the lodge. The landscaping is overgrown though. You can't even use the benches around the fountain because they are covered in ivy and weeds. The lodge itself is in desperate need of a paint job and some basic repairs (broken slats, broken railings). The observation deck at the top of the lodge is currently closed. You can see from the ground that the railings around it are unstable.

The interior of the lodge was still very nice. Our room was clean and nicely decorated. It had a huge balcony with rocking chairs overlooking the Tennessee River. There was also a stacked stone fireplace.

We ate dinner and breakfast at the lodge. The food was very good. There are only two menu options at dinner (a filet or fish). They do not serve alcohol so people were bringing their own wine. Breakfast was cooked to order with three different menu options.

The one thing that would have improved our stay would have just been more communication. There was no information about check in or out times. There was no description of property amenities anywhere in the room. We weren't sure if we could use the pool across the street or the rental bikes. When we made a dinner reservation, we weren't told that we could bring our own wine.

There also isn't really anything to do there. You have to be prepared to sit on the porch and admire the view because that is all that is really going on. I feel like the website is a little misleading when it talks about a vibrant art community. Maybe ten years ago but definitely not now.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Overall the stay was pretty fun! The view is outstanding and there's lots to do! The only problem was that the breakfast and dinner service was pretty slow but the food was great. It was a very fun and relaxing trip and I'll definetely be coming here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayleigh w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I took my wife to Gorham Bluff over the Memorial Day weekend. I had heard great reviews but the place exceeded my expectations. This is probably not the place to take the kids who want a Disney World adventure since the Pisgah-Scottsboro area are pretty remote, but if you want a quiet retreat with outstanding service and food, and breathtaking views - then this is it. The lodge is very beautiful, with rooms overlooking the bluff. We chose to stay in one of the rental cottages which included TV and Wi-Fi internet (I understand the Lodge rooms don't include TV). Our cottage was stocked with a wonderful library of classic books and up-to-date DVDs. The rooms have a fireplace and are beautifully appointed. If you're unable to climb stairs, you might want to check about handicapped access - all the rooms we saw needed stairway access at some point. The gazebo view is remarkable. And there is a path that provides scenic overlooks that are also beautiful. The sunsets are remarkable. On top of this, if you don't mind adding to the price, register for the four-course meal provided for guests in the evening. Chef Rene prepared an unbelievable meal with filet mignon as the main course. Breakfast is amazing also. It is truly the ultimate romantic getaway in a quiet beautiful place.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view of the bluff, choose the Lodge. If you want more privacy yet - plus T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarvinB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

If you ever want a place to go where it's beautiful, your served great meals and you feel you've gotten away from the rest of the world....Gorhams Bluff is it. I've been here 4 times and look forward to coming back, bringing friends and sending others.
Even before the trees bud out its beautiful. Great rooms, always clean and well appointed. Chef Boyzo prepared great meals. Always uses the best of everything. I had a great 2" high Petite Mignon from Painted Hills Farm which could be cut with a fork.
Stormy weather only made for a more cozy and restful stay. Took a good book, sat back an enjoyed the spectacular view over the cliffs and down across the basin of the Tennessee River, with a fire in the fireplace. No TV, except in in the great room downstairs.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Gorham's Bluff lodge to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Time seems to magically slows down at the bluff. Our room was lovely, with a king size bed and cozy fireplace. The view from our balcony was beyond breathtaking. We had breakfast delivered to our room each morning and enjoyed two romantic, candlelight dinners in the dining room. The food was fantastic. I'm a vegetarian and the chef accommodated my special diet. We took a walk and discovered hidden caves and a waterfall. We enjoyed every second of our stay. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STEPHANIE J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This trip was really about down time. We accomplished that because it was winter and there was little to do except bundle up and go out for a walk. The Lodge for us would be considered "stiff or uptight". The setting itself is lovely. The restaurant in The Lodge takes reservations for dinner from those who are not actually staying in the inn or in one of the cabins. At dinner time it was uncomfortable as folks who came to the restaurant made themselves at home in the lodge common area as much as 1 hour before reservation time, leaving little room for actual Lodge quests to enjoy the fireplace. If you want a lavish dinner, served with the glistening full table setting this place is for you. If you are looking for a Lodge with a steaming bowl hearty stew and cornbread, this place will not be for you. Also note if you are in a room underneath other guests, you will and can hear everything going on in the room above you.

Room Tip: We stayed in The King. Great views and quiet until upstairs guests arrived.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We celebrated our anniversary with the wonderful folks at Gorhams's Bluff. The room was lovely and had a wonderful view. The chef made a special dinner for us and the very special chocolate dessert was over the top. Breakfast was a southern delight and included the option of smoked trout. They packed our lunch for a bike ride which was a tasty treat. There are a number of bike trails that were shared with us by a neighbor in the village. The pool was lovely and we enjoyed a quiet afternoon by the pool. The staff is attentive and looks to fill your every need. We have celebrated other anniversary's here and have come with friends on other occasions. The homes that are located around the lodge can be rented for a family or group. They are lovely and well equiped. You could not go wrong chosing the lodge or a cottage. We will return again and enjoy the hospitality of this gracious place.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms have balconies that look over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Lodge at Gorham's Bluff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Gorham's Bluff

Address: 101 Gorham Dr, Pisgah, AL 35765-6891
Region: United States > Alabama > Pisgah
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pisgah
Price Range: £64 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Lodge On Gorham`s Bluff Hotel Pisgah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing