We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Come for a drink or tea at 4 p.m.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Point Clear
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
719 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
“Come for a drink or tea at 4 p.m.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

The grounds are spectacular. You don't have to be staying to enjoy the hammocks and wonderful views of Mobile Bay. Just tell the attendant at the front that you are meeting friends for drinks and hopefully there will be free parking, otherwise you'll need to spend $7 + tip on valet service, but it's worth it for the opportunity to see the artwork in the hotel and stroll the grounds. Very relaxing around 4 p.m. when tea is served.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank flaneur40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, Resort Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent visit to The Grand Hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed the grounds, Bucky's Lounge and the artwork displayed throughout the Main building. The Resort offers many amenities and activities for our overnight guests, including our afternoon tea. On behalf of the Grand Team thank you, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    242
    92
    41
    25
See reviews for
314
365
21
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We reserved a bayfront room and received a "suite" with a view of the bay overlooking a large expanse of lawn. We entered through a small sitting area into the bedroom large enough only for the bed and two nightstands. Shelves in the one closet had to serve as drawer space. The bathroom was so small that the bathmat could not be completely unfolded. That night, exhausted from a stressful day we wanted only to sleep after dinner. We undressed thinking someone with a boom box was standing outside our bedroom and would move on quickly. Later from bed we finally called the desk to complain and were told the "music" was from an outdoor wedding and that it should end by ten (eleven our body clock time.) They called back and offered to move us, but as we were unpacked and undressed that was not an option. Nor was napping late the next morning an option as our room was adjacent to an outside door that slammed so hard each time it closed that our room shook.
The second night was uneventful.
At checkout we found that with all taxes and a $49 per night additional resort fee to "cover amenities" our bill was approximately $400 per night although the only one of the list of amenities we had used was one cup of coffe each from the lobby.
Grounds are beautiful and staff are very nice. We would return for lunch but would not stay there again.

Green Features: Our towels were replaced although we hung them. Granted there was little hanging space in the tiny bath.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerIG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, Resort Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
We thank you for your recent trip and sharing your experience to The Grand Hotel Marriott. I apologize for your room not meeting your expectations. The Grand offers many varieties of rooms with a variety of views, from our more modern design of the Spa building to our historic setting in our Main and Bay view buildings. I am happy to hear the staff left an impression on your visit, we enjoyed being of service. Again, thank you for your feedback we would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Our last visit was in the summer, and we found it crowded and not as relaxing. However, this time, we visited in the spring, and it was wonderful! The weather was surprisingly cool for this time of year in the south, but it made it our trip all the more pleasant. The staff was very accommodating, friendly, and helpful, and the grounds were beautiful. We had a pleasant time relaxing by the pool, riding bikes, and playing table tennis. The pools were a bit cold, but the kids didn't care! I recommend coming in the spring to avoid large crowds and get better service!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the bay offer gorgeous sunset views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, Resort Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your Springtime visit to The Grand Hotel. We appreciate you sharing your experience and recognizing the Grand associates as friendly and helpful. We certainly hope you return in the future to enjoy the many activities we have to offer. On behalf of the team, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jena, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our family has been visiting Grand Hotel since I was a small boy (I am 61 years old now.). My wife, son, and I celebrated Easter at the Grand, something we have done for the last several years. Our stay was spectacular in every way. Special thanks go to Susan Margaretha, who took care of us in the Grand Dining room on two of our four nights, and who is specially attentive and friendly; she made us feel especially welcome and was even so thoughtful as to give my wife some herbs and seasonings to improve our food at home. It seems almost unfair to single out one particular person, as every person with whom we interacted at Grand Hotel went out of his/her way to be as friendly and helpful as one could possibly imagine. Daniel, Vladimir, George, Vadim, all were wonderful; I hate to keep naming names for fear of leaving someone out. Our room was comfortable and clean as a pin; the weather was great; the bell staff was very friendly and helpful; the grounds were beautiful and manicured to perfection. In short, Grand Hotel is a traveler's dream come true. We look forward to our trips there with great anticipation, and we have not been disappointed in any way in our 50-year plus history with this marvelous property.

Room Tip: The South Bay House is a little older, having been built in the late 1960's or early 1970's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, Resort Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for recently visiting The Grand Hotel and sharing your wonderful experience. We are very fortunate to have been your family destination for so many years and hope to see you for many more. Thank you for recognizing the work of so many of our team members, I don't think you left anyone out. On behalf of the Grand team thank you, we also look forward to your return with great anticipation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Not the easiest place to get to, stayed there due to a trade show meeting thing. Nice location that isn't super easy to get to. Staff is very friendly and helpful, property is right on the bay with a few man made beaches, nice walk path around the property, nice workout room, nice meeting facilities, place is very old school, traditional...built in 1847, room service was prompt but pricey, shower drained SLOWLY, no microwave or fridge in room...downtown Fairhope is very close with cool restaurants and shops. Property is very relaxed and peaceful and remote. Not that far from outlets in Foley either.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank bamabbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, Resort Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for recently visiting The Grand Hotel and sharing your experience. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the many amenities of the Resort, even while here on business. We certainly hope you find an opportunity for a leisure visit in the future, perhaps to spend more time at the outlets. On behalf of the Grand family thank you, hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayland, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

There was no parking, room requested was not s available, no micro or refrigerator. Felt the guy at front dest was short with us like he had had a long day. Everything and everyone expected a tips. Person having to take us to over flow parking expected tip. When I make reservation I asked are you on the beach was told yes we have a beach. Well no they are not on the beach but the have a small beach. Some may like the romance of the old place but I was not impressed. I just stayed at a Marriott last night n Memphis at half the cost and was treated like a king. Maybe because they are at 100% occupancy is why we did not get the royal treatment I see spoke of from others not sure. If you looking for Golf or paying way to much for eats so you can watch people playing croquet don't bother with The Grand in clear point Al. FYI forty min drive to gulf shores beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mo4049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, Resort Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your recent visit to Point Clear and The Grand Hotel. I am very sorry to learn of your overall dissatisfaction with your visit and in particular your observations relating to staff. Please be assured all staff members work very hard to provide an experience our guests deserve and if we came across as unappreciative, we apologize. We know there is always room for improvement and new methods of conducting our business and we appreciate you providing your feedback and perceptions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We just spent two nights at the Grand Hotel and had a wonderful time….as some of the reviews mention it is "old school grace and beauty". So rare anymore to see children and parents playing croquet on the lawn or riding bikes as you eat dinner and enjoy an amazing sunset. Every single employee who we walked by anywhere was so friendly and upbeat, such a novelty in this day and age. We both just loved the entire experience and hope to come back again and again. Our room was large and wonderful (Spa building 4th floor-room #3442 I think); housekeeping did a terrific job each day, helping to make everything more comfortable. The indoor pool is older but for the most part in great shape--we managed to exercise there both mornings. Then we took advantage of the beautiful outdoor pool in the afternoon. There are many things we did not have time to utilize but hopefully next time. Thank you entire staff for a wonderful relaxing visit. (I already reviewed the food at the Saltwater Grille--everything there was absolutely delicious). Hope to see you all again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, Resort Hotel Manager at Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for recently visiting and celebrating your birthday with us here at The Grand Hotel. We sincerely appreciate the recognition of the staff of the Grand and the wonderful job they do every day. We are thrilled to hear that you hope to return again and again, we'll be ready for you. On behalf of the entire Grand Team thank you and happy belated birthday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Clear
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairhope
Hampton Inn Fairhope
#1 of 4 in Fairhope
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Fairhope
22.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
#3 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
The Battle House Renaissance Mobile Hotel & Spa
24.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Orange Beach
20.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa

Property: Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa
Address: One Grand Boulevard, P.O. Box 639, Point Clear, AL 36564
Region: United States > Alabama > Point Clear
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Point Clear
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a stunning AAA Four Diamond beach resort in Point Clear, Alabama, the exquisite Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa, one of the most stunning hotels the Gulf Coast has to offer. This resort boasts two challenging golf courses as part of the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail, a luxurious 20,000-square-foot European-style spa, 10 tennis courts, a fabulous array of exceptional dining options, and a sizeable marina for sailboats, yachts and fishing boats. Overlooking scenic Mobile Bay, we are a proud member of Historic Hotels of America and boast 37,000 square feet of elegant meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club And Spa
Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club Point Clear
Marriott Point Clear
Point Clear Marriott
Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa Point Clear, Alabama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing