We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Wash House Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Wash House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
D'Iberville
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We went for our anniversary and it was amazing-beautiful setting inside and out -food and service the best! -especially our wonderful waiter !!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    52
    23
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good but over-rated”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We had heard great things about The Wash House and were excited about dining there. The atmosphere is nice--very relaxing. The food was good but was not quite as fabulous as we had expected. It would be a nice place to observe a special occasion.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank goodwaterbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We had a very good experience :-)”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Our group dinner was a good experience. I had read reviews about the restaurant that were not exactly favorable, so there was some concern about taking my group of 20+ conference attendees there. I even talked with the restaurant about those reviews to express my hesitation in choosing them, and of course I was reassured that everything would be fine. And it was...and then some. The restaurant worked with us on a set menu for the group, they stayed within our budget, the food was excellent (in particular, those that chose the steak raved and raved about it), and the service was outstanding. We were very pleased with our food, service, and event. I can't speak for individual dining there, but for a group outing, I would recommend the Wash House. As always, communication is key when planning a group outing, and the Wash House came through in awesome fashion for our group.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LT_from_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Special and romantic”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Get the table by the fireplace on a chilly evening. Love the food

Helpful?
4 Thank Lauriebydasea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montgomery alabama
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Superb in every way”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Had dinner on Thursday night, January 26,2012.
The exterior is somewhat rustic, but it is an 1800s wash house. We were promptly greeted and seated at a quiet table, which is what I had requested. Our waiter, wread, was prompt,, friendly, and informative. My wife is a vegetarian, and he informed her to decide what dish she wanted and the chef would make it vegetarian, which was very accommodating. I had possibly the best gumbo of my life, full of andoille, shrimp, and even alligator. The roasted beet salad was very good as well. The blackened amberjack was one of their signature dishes, and the lemon gastrique is apparently very slowly reduced. Overall superb. Dessert consisted of bananas foster, which was pretty good, but the key lime bread pudding was to die for. My two favorite desserts rolled into one.
The wine list was satisfactory, and the pricing was very reasonable.
Would highly recommend for taste, presentation and value. No negatives.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lakemartindoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wash House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wash House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing