We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Rip Off”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kadavu Island
Certificate of Excellence
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“What a Rip Off”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This place is the most misrepresented destination I've ever had the misfortune to visit. The Eco part of their claim to fame is just a way of saying we're too cheap to spend money on our facilities. there's nothing Eco about it. But boy do they know how to charge. For everything! The quaint little village you pay to see is a dump. The diving sucks compared to the north of Fiji. there's no useable dock so you trudge a hundred meeters over the mud flats to get to the boats most days. they constantly move your gear around resulting in a game of hide and go see each day. The boat captains never once dropped us off at the site without a 50 yard swim to get there. The boat doesn't stop to allow you entry so you're group always spends the first 5 minutes getting together. That is if you find them. Poor tank fills. Every tank o-ring leaked. The food was awful and over cooked when it wasn't. Battery charging was a pain because of solar power. They have a gen set but don't run it for the guests. The Bures were extremely hot and humid due to no A/C or even a simple fan sosleeping is misery. No reading light so when the sun goes down there's nothing to do. There's spiders the size of baseballs that roam around in your Bure. Cockroaches in your clothes and anything else you leave out. We were there 2 days before we met the owner who had been walking around without introducing himself and this place is very small. Once you meet him you understand how a place could be this bad. He could care less about the guests. Its all about the money and once you're there you're a captive. Instead of travelling 2/3rds the way around the world to be totally disappointed save the travel time and go stand under a cold shower and tear up a couple dozen $100 bills. you'll have a better experience. Fiji itself is beatiful and so are the Fijians.

Room Tip: They don't have any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    30
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
18
117
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novi, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Amazing. We felt more like honored guests in a village than paying customers at a resort. You are treated like family and you felt the same genuine fondness. Bure’s were very nice; comfortable bed, effective mosquito netting. Nicely furnished; feeling modern and updated. Bathroom and shower were great with lots of hot water. Felt closer to a stay at the Hilton than camping (minus the air conditioning). Fresh flowers decorating everything daily.
The food was fabulous; exceeding expectations for such a remote place; a great balance of western cuisine with local ingredients and flair; much of it picked from the garden moments before the meal.
The reefs are unbelievably healthy, and untouched. We dove on reefs that were teaming with fish. The coral is intact and perfect; table coral the size of a king sized bed, fields of stag horn coral, more colors and textures than we thought possible. We dove with Mantas, 4-5 at a time, doing backward barrel rolls, and flying low over the top of the reef to be cleaned, curious and coming to check us out. Schools of fusiliers and slack-jaw mackerel swimming in their artistic magical way, turning as one. How do they do it? This coral is the most pristine we’ve seen, compared to the Philippines, Tahiti and all over the Caribbean.
The dive staff assessed each diver’s level of skill and supported you at the level you needed. They worked to maximize bottom time, and matched dive sites to our requests. There were lots of walls. We brought our own gear, and had some trouble with a couple regs and a wetsuit. Joe fixed our equipment, no charge. Matava is the only operator diving that side of the island. The trip to the Manta dive was a 45 minute boat ride along miles of unspoiled coastline, an occasional small boat from a village the only other boat in the water. Nice dive boats, giant stride and two ladders to come up. Hot tea and snacks between dives.
We had a guide take us to the nearby village and waterfall. The waterfall was beautiful and pristine. The village kids came out so that we could watch them scamper up the steep cliffs and make daring dives from the heights. The guides and locals helped us safely up the cliffs so that we could make jumps from less daring heights.
Some of the other magical moments included the visit from the local school children and villagers to dance and sing, sharing their traditions. They shared Kava and ended the evening playing their idyllic island music for hours. The epitome of the south Pacific.
Maggie, their flamboyant, entertaining and very funny manager took super care of us from the moment we arrived to Kadava on the puddle jumper until he saw us safely off the Island. Pacific Air was having trouble with their aircraft, and did not have a plane to get us to Nadi in time to make our International connections. Maggie very effectively negotiated to have Pacific Air charter a private 8 seat plane which delivered us safely to Nadi in plenty of time to make our connection and to enjoy the day room at Raffles in preparation for the long flight. No other resort has made the effort to intervene regarding transportation over which they have no control. And it was greatly appreciated.
A couple travel notes; be prepared to walk in knee high water to get on and off the boat, including the boat that takes you to the resort from the airport. The visit from the local school is a fundraiser, as the government does not support the school. While financial contributions are greatly appreciated, actual school supplies (pens, paper) and supplies suggested on the “pack for a purpose” link on Matava’s website are key so that they don’t have to pay for the shipping costs. It was very gratifying to give something tangible. A pen that costs us 10 cents costs them $2.50.
Plan your trip! The staff are super helpful via email and will insure an amazing time in paradise.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt-Joyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alliance, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Last month I spent 10 day at Matava;the staff was a lot of fun,the food was great,diving was the best,hugh mantas,lots of sharks,I didnt want to leave,hope I can go back again.Fred A

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We stayed 5nights at Matava, going home on Nov. 17. I have nothing but praise. Matava was perfect for us, but do your homework to see if it's for you. If you want blowdryers, boutiques, pools and fancy, skip this. Kadavu is gorgeous, and Matava provided us with everything we needed. The setting is stunning, and our bure felt very private. The showers were nice and warm, good pressure and I had enough water. Food was absolutely amazing. Bed was comfy and a mosquito net was provided. There was no a/c, but we didn't miss it. The breezes were more than fine to cool us off. We had an oceanview bure (bulubulu) and it was perfect. I didn't see the inside of a honeymoon bure, but was glad I didn't have to trek up all those steps every time I wanted something, though the views are spectacular from there. If you're on the fence over which bure to get, please be assured that the oceanview is very nice. The wonderful folks at Matava take excellent care of you. My brother called them and told them I was celebrating my 50th birthday, and they surprised me with a beautifully decorated birthday cake and singing. If you've read any other reviews, you know Maggie is an absolute hoot. George is too. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Loved, loved the meke!! (fyi a spa is in the works)
We don't dive, but love to snorkle and kayak. There was tons for us to do, and we had the place to ourselves in the day. We signed up for the adventure package incldg 1 day kayak. Loved all of it! Waya Island is a very short kayak away, with gorgeous beaches, some of the best snorkeling I have ever done, and privacy. I could go there every day of my life and be an extremely happy woman! If this is your style, for God's sakes go! Do not miss it!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelMom002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I have just returned from a 10 day trip to Matava. It was WONDERFUL. The best diving that I have experienced. The 45 minute dive that I had with the Manta rays is one that I will never forget - It was truly a dream come true. The staff was superb - The food was excellent - The ambiance was beautiful. I highly recommend this wonderful resort for anyone who loves to dive and relax away "from the rat race."
Kay K
South Dakota, USA

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

My wife I have just returned from Matava. What a great bunch of people. They have such a huge amount of knowledge of the land and marine environment around them lends for a great experience on anything you decide to do whilst at Matava. The accomodation is well laid out and each bure is far enough apart that you can have as much privacy as you need. We went primarily to dive and we weren't disappointing. They have great set up, two main dive boats supported by smaller craft. Very professionally run and able to accomodate divers of any experience level. There planning is impeccable and allows them to offer morning dives, afternoon dive and night dives. We dived extesively inside and outside the Astrolobe Reef. This highlight were the Manta Rays.

The resort keeps things as simple as possible but that doesn't mean you miss out on anything. The quality of food and accomodation was very good. Health and wellbeing is very importatnt to the people there and they are very keen to support any special dietary requirements.

They are great supporters of the local community thorugh the purchase of produce and services. A very large percentage of the resort team are local people which takes the knowledge of the area to an incredible level. People who know what impact weather will have on diving and when you can and cannot dive in certain areas. We achieved a dive with the Mantas twice because of local knowledge of the weather, the conditions weren't placid but we dived and retrieved divers safely and comfortably.

Overall its the best wind downs I've had for a long time and travelling that bit further to Kadavu was worth every minute of travel.

Room Tip: Ask for one of Honeymoon bures. They are on the edge of the resort but that gives fantastic privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2011

My brother and I just returned from a week-long stay at Matava--we had a fantastic time. It's a wonderful, off-the-beaten-track location, which means lots of peace and relaxation if you want it. We're not divers but there was plenty to keep us busy and happy--we did lots of kayaking and snorkeling, and it was fun to meet other guests from around the world. The staff there is great, and the food was also wonderful. The only thing I'd do differently is stay longer next time!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kadavu Island
12.5 mi away
Mai Dive - Astrolabe Reef Resort
0.0 mi away
Gecko Lodge Fiji
Gecko Lodge Fiji
#7 of 12 in Savusavu
69 reviews
13.2 mi away
Oneta Resort
Oneta Resort
#2 of 3 in Ono Island
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Matana Beach Resort - Dive Kadavu
6.6 mi away
Tiliva Resort
Tiliva Resort
#3 of 4 in Kadavu Island
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wayalailai Ecohaven Resort
Wayalailai Ecohaven Resort
#2 of 2 in Waya Lailai
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort

Property: Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort
Address: Vunisea | PO Box 63, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Kadavu Archipelago > Kadavu Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kadavu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find your adventure as you experience the magnificent beauty of a remote unspoiled tropical Fijian Island. Plunging volcanic rain forest slopes meet azure coral lagoons and the Great Astrolabe Barrier Reef, a rare untouched slice of nature unfolds before your eyes. No roads, no noise, no stress and no carbon footprint. Traditional thatched Fijian Bures hug the jungle fringes. Private sun decks gaze over the turquoise lagoon. Dive the reef from the multiple award winning PADI 5 Star Dive Centre, snorkel the marine reserves, explore the jungle trails, or just pamper yourself in the Spa. Relax in the splendor of your private en-suit bure as you contemplate the stunning sunset and anticipate the evening's dinner of fresh fish, fruits and organic vegetables, grown right before your very eyes and served by lantern light on the ocean deck. Far from the maddening crowd, unplug and recharge at Matava, Fiji's premier Eco-Adventure Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matava - Fiji`s Premier Eco Adventure Hotel Kadavu Island
Matava - Fiji's Premier Eco Adventure Resort Kadavu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing